We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catonsville Gourmet

Catonsville Gourmet
829 Frederick Road, Catonsville, MD 21228
410-788-0005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 98 Restaurants in Catonsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

A nice place to relax and have a leisurely dining experience in downtown Catonsville followed by a stroll through the many quaint shops on Frederick Avenue. Service and food were spot on.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    48
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Voorhees, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Thank you Jay Martin!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stopped by for dinner on our travels from NJ to DC based on another recommendation. We pulled in at 6:45 on a Friday night expected to go in, find an hour wait and have to hunt for an Applebee's or Chili's (UGH!) Walked in the front door of a busy restaurant, greeted by a lovely girl who seated my party of 5 immediately. Food was fresh and delicious ~ we brought our own wine so it obviously was also to our liking! The Crab avocado BLT appetizer was to die for!! even my daughter who doesn't like fish enjoyed some of my halibut ~ nothing but good things to say ~ next time we are in the area will most certainly stop by.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top-notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wonderful seafood dining in Baltimore County. Appetizers and entrees are very, very good and prices are reasonable. Only drawback is no liquor license but you're welcome to bring your own.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what Catonsville needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A nicer seafood restaurant with great chefs and great service. You can select whatever type of fish, your choice of cooking method (the pistachio crumble is a favorite) and type of sauce. They cater to special diet needs (low salt, low fat, etc)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place to eat, can be pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I went to this restaurant a week ago with a friend and was not disappointed. I was very happy with the service and food but I don't discount other people's bad experiences.

As an appetizer we had the "Proscuitto Wrapped Diver Scallops" and the "Crispy Crab Cigars". While the proscuitto seemed a little hard (not like bacon) perhaps that's normal. Both were very tasty. I had a "Shrimp Salad Sandwich" which was enjoyable but not memorable.

Here is a quick summary:

PROS
Chic interior
No loud kids, just us adults ;-)
Everything including the menu is online at http://www.catonsvillegourmet.com


CONS
Can be loud when busy
Parking lot in back fills up quickly when busy. There is parking by the library.
We arrived on a weekey at 6pm and it was empty. By 7pm it was packed.
BYOB ($5).
Priciness is subjective but when I look at the menu it feels like it costs more than usual.
No reservations

Would I recommend it? Yes, but for the more exotic fare. The regular items don't seem that special a daily lunch there could eat into your budget.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catonsville Gourmet also viewed

 
 

Been to Catonsville Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catonsville Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.