We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never suggest staying here, especially families” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Hampton Park Boulevard, Capitol Heights, MD 20743   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Would never suggest staying here, especially families”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a block of 8 rooms in October 2012 for a cheerleading exhibition at a Redskins game. I had my high school cheerleaders and their families stay here. It took me calling 6 times to confirm my reservation (I should have known then not to book here) and get the information sent to me. Upon arrival, we had speedy check-in and all the rooms were next to one another and one had the rollaway we requested in advance. But that is where the positive stops: In broad daylight, after only being there 2 hours, one of our cars was broken into and over $1,500 worth of items stolen. When we spoke with the security guard he said he hated working that hotel because things like that happened all the time in their parking lot because of the location. (He then only patrolled the lot once an hour, and the rest of the time stood out front where numerous guests were smoking POT or he remained in the lobby) I would have expected, even though they're in it for the money, that the group person would have maybe suggested a different location for a group of high school cheerleaders. We had planned to check-out that morning and leave our cars there since it was so close to FedEx field, but chose to all leave and have to pay to park at the stadium because we didn't trust our cars there.
The breakfast was good, and the service was ok. They did allow us to use the conference room to practice as a group "after hours."
The hotel claims to be going through upgrades - so if you still choose to stay here, ask for one that has already been renovated. The ones that have not smell like mold, and the mattresses are sunken in. We also had to get our sheets switched upon arrival because they had big black dust/dirt marks on them.
This is the first review of a hotel I've felt compelled to write because it was such a negative experience and I would like to keep it from happening to others.
If you are a tough person with thick skin who doesn't appreciate your personal items, go for it. It is convienient to FedEx for Redskins games, but the area wasn't worth it and if we go again next year we will certainly stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela E, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing with us the good, and the bad during
your stay at the Comfort Inn Capitol Heights. It is always our goal to
keep groups together, insure a speedy check in, and accommodate all
the group requests. Thank you for acknowledging this service.
Please accept my deepest apologizes, for the negative experience
during your stay.I would like to assure you, that the safety and the
personal property of our guest, staff, and visitors is our number one
priority. The entire management team at the Comfort Inn was very
disturbed about the car break in. Please believe that this was an
isolated incident. We immediately invested in more security measures
on our premises; to reinforce safety for our guest and staff.
I would appreciate if you would give me the opportunity to discuss
this matter in more detail, please contact me per e-mail or phone.
Again, thank you so much for your time. gabriellae@bmhg.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    24
    11
    17
See reviews for
39
18
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Townsend, DE
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I were very disappointed with our stay here. We picked this hotel online because it was close to the theme park that we were spending the day at. Comnfort Inn usually has a great reputation so I figured we wouldn't go wronge. The shower took 5 minutes to get hot water, there was a long black hair stuck to the back of the bathroom door, the vents in the bathroom were dusty/dirty, the duvet on the bed was stained/dirty, the hallway smelt like urine, and to top it off the coffee in our room for the coffee pot tasted just like water with a hint of coffee. We know to never stay here again! At check out, we weren't even ask how our stay was or anything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela E, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Ruth,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience
with us. We at the Comfort Inn Capitol Heights appreciate an honest
review, which ultimately helps us to improve in the troubled areas. We
recently underwent a new change in management and we are currently
undergoing a process of renovations i.e, updating the bedding,
including comforters and also the carpets in our rooms and hallways.
Again thank you so much for your comment, and I would like to extend
my sincerest apologizes. If you would like to contact me to discuss
this matter in debt I would be very happy to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We always look for Comfort Inns to stay at. We picked this one because it was part way to ocean city and we were tired! I guess if the bed had not been so awful it would have been fine. The check in desk was so polite and friendly; especially the lady with the pink hair. The beds both had a large dip in the middle. We certainly did not sleep well. We should asked for another room but we were undressed and so tired we decided to make it work. It didn't. We had hoped for a good night sleep before hitting the beach for Labor Day weekend. We did mention the beddin issue at checkout. We were told they were renovating. Until they complete the renovations, be sure to ask for the most updated rooms! Breakfast was hot and nice. Waffles, eggs, sausage patties, donuts, bagels, hard boiled eggs, cereal and yogurt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveC55, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
TamalePittsburgh,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us! I'm pleased you took the time to mention the service levels and especially Gabriela (Our Pink Haired lady) whom we have just recently promoted to Assistant Manager -I will relay the compliments!

Apologies on the bed issues - this has come up a couple times recently and we are correcting this immediately - Literally visited the property and were going to inspect rooms soon as we finish this response. While were excited over the new bedding program and the flat screens etc. etc. and glad the staff mentioned it, until its complete we need to identify and remove these rooms for a bit.

Finally Thank you for the breakfast comments - our hostess puts a lot of effort in there and we fully believe that a great breakfast on the way out with a smile is always the best way to end a stay.

Thank you again and hopefully see you soon!

Sincerely,
Dave Crance,
VP. Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Warm welcome upon arrival, booked three rooms and was give three next to each other. Room was, for the most part, clean. The coffee pot burner had not been cleaned ever, there were some dirt spots on one of the bath towels and what's with those half pillows? One bed seemed to roll to the middle, the other was better, but so close to the wall it was impossible to get in from both sides. Had what appeared to be a nice balcony, however the sliding doors were welded closed so no one could get outside - was the same in all the rooms. Neighnorhood was not so inviting after dark. Only bright spot was the breakfast spread - make your own waffles, with sausage and eggs. There was a very large assortment of stale donuts and breads, which weren't too bad after being toasted. All in all, it was not the best hotel I have ever stayed in, but considering the nearness to FEDEX field, we will probably stay here again - one night only.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveC55, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Jack,
Thank you for taking the time to share and the very frank and honest review of what went well and what was disappointing. Most Importantly thank you and your friends for staying with us!
We are in the process of upgrading the bedding in conjunction with other furniture and fixtures, In addition I've asked the property to take a day and check beds as we've seen this trend and would rather not rent the room than disappoint guests. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and my apologies.
Thank you for the Breakfast Comment's - after a review of competitors Breakfast in the area it became obvious that the days of continentals are long past. We have spent a considerable amount of time in choosing and selecting our breakfast package and the addition of eggs, meats, waffles, etc has been enthusiastically received.

Again we appreciate your taking the time to share and stay with us - Please reach out if time permits and contact me through the site, I'd enjoy an opportunity to discuss your stay more in detail especially with having had several guests here at the same time. We have a new Management team and are upgrading, it would be great to receive the direct feedback and suggestions from you in detail.


Sincerely,
Dave Crance
VP. Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This iad is the one and only bad exspearence I've had using the choice hotel site to pick hotels on my trips. the first night the phone was broke and the microave was missing, the second day they fixed the phone but never got the microwave, when I came back from site seeing my door was propped open with a coat hanger all my belongings were throw on one bed and contracts where working down the hall they said they were told the room was empty! Yet all my things including colthes were picked up out of draws and throwen on a bed. The hotel then moved me to another room where I would be more comfortable but the cable did not work and the air conditioner was broken. This Hotel should be removed from the Choice Hotel Site do not stay Here.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveC55, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Richard,
My apologies Sir, I always see generic answers and apologies on review sites, I want to insure you that I have investigated the issues mentioned with the Management team at the location. I believe they had already contacted you from what I've learned but invite you to please contact me through this site to follow up!

I've learned that in changing out the furniture for the New Flat screens that there was an error in communication with our staff and the contractors. Unforgivable moving a guests belongings if they are with in their stay dates and an error that we will insure is not repeated.

Again while a poor post is disappointing, it does allow us to review and correct. We have a very sincere team in that building and were all appreciative of any feedback. Please as I said contact me I'd like to further discuss this.

Sincerely,
Dave Crance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is close to a Metro Rail Station, and Brian is ready to shuttle you back and forth at a moment's notice! The staff, in general , is FANTASTIC. They are all very nice folks! Like the title of this review, they helped me to have a great weekend in our Nation's Capital! Thanks again!!!

Room Tip: Enjoy the FREE warm breakfast from 7-10 AM!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveC55, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Randy,
Thank you for the kind words and especially taking the time to share! Apologies for late recognition as we had just brought on a New Management Team in JULY and have had a busy time catching up.
Very Very pleased to see your review and know they immediately got off on the right foot at that location! I will relay the comments to the new team and again thank you for taking the time to share and especially for choosing us from so many options in the DC area!

Sincerely,
Dave C.
V.P. Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

There was a severe storm in the DMV area and my electricity was out for 2 days. The temperature was 90+ degrees so I decided to take my children to stay at this hotel because they offered breakfast and had a pool. The room was standard and clean, the pool was maintained and the small gym was cool. Actually everything was okay until we checked out and noticed that the my daughter had left 3 gift cards, her Metro Smart Trip pass and $10 in a night stand drawer. We called the hotel the same evening that we checked out and were told that housekeeping was gone for the day, call back in the morning. The following day, we called 3 times and had to leave several messages with housekeeping, to no avail. Finally in the early afternoon, I went back to the hotel only to be told by the front desk receptionist that there was nothing left in the room. I saw a housekeeper and asked her if she had received our messages and she said no but there was nothing in the room. I then asked her to check again while I was there. When she returned, she handed me the 3 gift cards and said that was all that was left in the room. I was appalled. I asked for the manager and was told that the housekeeper was the supervisor of the housekeepers. Needless to say, I departed pissed!!! I then called back to the hotel and was immediately transferred to the hotel manager who told me that he would check with the actual housekeeper who cleaned the room. He asked for my contact information and assured me that he would investigate this matter and get back to me immediately. Over a week has passed and still no call back from anyone. Needless to say, I will never stay there again. Integrity means everything to me and I cannot tolerate theives and deception!! If there is another power outage, my family will stay in another location without a pool and complimentary breakfast instead of staying with criminals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel Capitol Heights
Fedex Field Comfort Inn
Capitol Heights Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Capitol Heights
Address: 55 Hampton Park Boulevard, Capitol Heights, MD 20743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Capitol Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Capitol Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.