We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER EVER STAY HERE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of FairBridge Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added FairBridge Inn & Suites to your Saves list
FairBridge Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8850 Hampton Mall Drive North, Capitol Heights, MD 20743 (Formerly Capitol Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call Us For Best Price
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Capitol Heights
Clifton Springs, New York
1 review
“NEVER EVER STAY HERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

NEVER EVER STAY HERE!!!! Looks can be very deceiving. The hotel looks nice from the outside but the inside is a different story. The carpets were old and worn in the lobby and throughout the hotel. When checking into the hotel they require $100 deposit upfront plus the rate for the room. When I asked why the deposit I was told this was for security of the hotel and any damages that may have been caused in our room. 99.9% of hotels ask for a credit card for the file in case of this not $100 deposit. The front desk had employees working it that barely spoke English. The pool never worked and was extremely small. Our room smelled very musty but was clean. The walls in the room seemed paper thin because you could hear people in the other rooms around you. The weekend we stayed there, parties were going on at both ends of the hall with heavy marijuana smoking and drinking and the staff never said thing about this when there were complaints. The hotel itself was not in a very nice area at all. Every store had bulletproof glass in it. I would not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    9
    8
    15
See reviews for
28
16
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let's start with the ONLY good things about this hotel: the king sized beds were amazingly comfortable, the water pressure was amazing and even though the location is really BAD - it was close to many restaurants and attractions. Now the MANY TERRIBLE details. The pool was NEVER open during out stay, the workers didn't speak English very well, our room wasn't cleaned during our stay, we had to ask for room supplies - towels, toilet paper, coffee. The hotel takes $100 deposit when you check in AFTER charging your card BEFORE arrival and check in. The hotel smells HORRIBLE. Many of our group that stayed there had smoking of marijuana and cigarettes near their rooms; and lots of parties going on; management did nothing about this after numerous complaints. The continental breakfast = liquid/powdered eggs, waffle machine, sausage, juice/coffee (GROSS COFFEE), and old bread products. VERY GROSS!!! When I asked about a credit for non room cleaning - no one knew what I was talking about and I was asked to call back. There was NEVER any WiFi as advertised and we were told "the internet is broken we will fix it soon." That NEVER happened either. The bottom line: DO NOT EVER STAY HERE - EVER!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The entire reason I booked this hotel was because of the pool. When we checked in we were told that the pool hours were posted on the door. it says they closed at 9pm, but at 8pm the pool was already closed. The front desk said it would be normal hours the day after. After returning from the cheer competition we were in town for the next day we found the pool closed again. Only to learn something was broken and the pool was closed until further notice. My children were SOOOO upset.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel takes a $100 deposit at check in, plus charges your full stay the day you are scheduled to check in (not even upon arrival). The pool and Jacuzzi were closed for the two days we were there. We where there with about 50 people. Some rooms were checked into and still had the beds un maid and not cleaned. Some were clean. Most of hotel smelled of smoke and marijuana. Drag racing occurred from 11pm-1am outside the hotel in the parking lot as this hotel is located in a shopping plaza. We were repeatedly told the pool would be operational by 5pm on the first day we arrived. That never happened. Then we were told the pool would be open the next day and if not something would be done for everyone. That never happened for everyone. They did credit us back $15 for the inconvenience. A few people in our group were directed to another hotel to swim 15 minutes away. When myself and another guest asked about this, we were told - they had no idea what we were talking about. The front desk staff had an older women sitting in the corner our entire stay. She didn't speak or do anything. The man working the desk could barely speak English (I'm sorry, but if you work at the front desk you should speak English). We were traveling to Six flags the next day, which was on the same road we were staying on. I asked him if he an idea with traffic about how long it would take to get there. He had no idea where Six Flags was. The only reason they are getting a 2 is because my room was clean. This hotel is not located in a good area. Bullet proof glass in/on stores, police officers stationed in Restaurants. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We complained all night long due to noise above. U.S. didn't get any sleep. I would never recommend that hotel to anyone. We asked to move. The pool wasn't availabe. They weren't very accommodating I was very dissatisfied Would never come back

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friends and I booked a room through expedia and we traveled 5 hours to get here. The reviews looked okay. When we got here, there were only a couple cars in the front, the outside was dirty and old looking. We checked in and went to the room. As we walked to the room, we walked past piles of trash sitting outside the room doors. We walk in our room and it was kind of smelly. I was feeling ill and so i was excited that there was a jacuzzi and pool. However, the jacuzzi and pool was closed. I inquired about when the trash will be removed and why the pool was locked and that we came a long way. The man did not care. By this time, my friends and I decided we wanted to leave. One friend had taken a shower by the time We came to tell her we were going to exit the hotel. The desk person was unhelpful and would not refund our money or negotiate "because he had received money from expedia yet" and that is bogus. Since we booked two nights, hotel policy allowed us to cancel the second night stay only. I would never recommend this hotel. Ive stayed at some cleaner Motel 6 and super 8...

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a property that is heading in a positive direction. I stayed last night and had an internet glitch and a small issue with the entry door lock / key. The staff was friendly and attentive. Special kudos to the GM Tyrone Lewis who was very helpful in every way.

The hotel is average quality at present but fair value for the money, and you can be sure the ratings and quality are on the increase given the positive management and staff.

Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to FairBridge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FairBridge Inn & Suites

Address: 8850 Hampton Mall Drive North, Capitol Heights, MD 20743 (Formerly Capitol Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Capitol Heights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Capitol Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — FairBridge Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel features an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. Free breakfast, free WiFi in public areas, and free self parking are also provided. Other amenities include a sauna, a 24-hour business center, and coffee/tea in the lobby. Room Amenities All 69 rooms provide free WiFi and free wired Internet, flat-screen TVs with digital channels, and conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves. Other amenities available to guests include coffee makers, free weekday newspapers, and free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your FairBridge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Capitol Heights
Country Inn & Suites Capitol Heights Hotel Capitol Heights
Country Inn Capitol Heights
Capitol Heights Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FairBridge Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.