We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a safe neighborhood” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Capitol Suites to your Saves list
Capitol Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8850 Hampton Mall Drive North, Capitol Heights, MD 20743 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Capitol Heights)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Capitol Heights
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a safe neighborhood”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We requested a cot on the phone before we came. When we arrived, they said they were no cots available. We asked for extra blankets and were told that they had one more left. There was a large spider in the bathroom. There was one woman at the front desk every evening who was consistently rude. To top off our weekend, our car was broken into. We discovered it at 7:30 AM. When we reported it to the front desk, they became defensive and said it must've been after the security guard left at 7:00AM. They did not offer to call the police. We did it ourselves from the room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Specialist, Online Customer Support at Capitol Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I am sorry for what you had experienced during your time at our hotel. Your comments are something we take seriously!

Your comments will be forwarded to management to make them aware of the situation, so that we can increase guest satisfaction, and hopefully in the future, meet your expectations
.
Please feel free to contact us at CCare@CarlsonRezidor.com if you would like to tell us more about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    8
    4
    10
See reviews for
23
13
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I spent eight days in this hotel and couldn't be more pleased with our experience. After reading various reviews I conclude that people use different criteria when evaluating their experience.

We found the staff to be most friendly, helpful and thoughtful. My kind of people! Large, expensive hotels are often somwhat cold and impersonal. By the time we left we felt we were leaving family! Hot coffee and warm cookies were always available near the front counter. Since we drove to the D.C. area I found the location almost ideal in many ways. There is an IHOP close by in the mall area. The staff highly recommended Sardi's across the street. If you like chicken you'll love this place.

There is easy access to the Beltway and the Metro station was relatively close by. A little advice on the last point. Parking is free and readily available on the weekends (except when the Redskins are playing). Parking is impossible before 9:00 a.m. but parking spots become available after 9:30 a.m. as the D.C. night shift goes home. One more point. Try and buy a 'Smartrip' card for the Metro if you are staying for more then a day or two. Cheaper and more convenient.

All in all, we'd highly recommend Country Inn & Suites Capital Heights.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top (3rd) floor if staying on the weekend. Those football fans are party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here when we were visiting the Washington, DC area on vacation. I was looking for an affordable and conveniently located hotel. Me, my husband, our 3 adults kids and our 12 year old stayed here for 4 days. We had 2 rooms each with 2 king size beds. Th rooms were big and clean. The location was perfect. The front desk clerk Joseph was so helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I read several reviews about this particular hotel being a little outdated and "worn", and they're true. It's a smaller hotel, with worn carpets, a very small breakfast area and parking lot. But it's a great place to stay for a Redskins game. Out of the parking lot, a quick right, a quick left, right at the next light, and that road runs right into FedEx Field. VERY easy to get to. The location around the hotel is a little sketchy, so don't wander around after dark. And don't plan on a large breakfast in the morning. Too many people, and too little food. But we would stay there again for a football game. The convenience to the stadium is just too good, and the staff at Country Inn was very good and very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at hotel while attending football game at Fed Ex Field. Thought everything went great. It was close to field and room was clean. The parking lot not that big, but safe. Had security guard on patrol all night long. Breakfast was just ok, but it was free. If you don't like it there is a IHOP within a 100 yards. Overall nothing bad to complain about.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and his company were staying here they got a call when they were at work said their room was booked the rest of the week after nthey had been their over a week in a half said their were no more rooms aviable that they would half to have three men to a room and they were not going to do that so needless to say when they got off work all of their stuff was threw in a cart for them to go to another hotel they lost half off their things i thought they were not allowed to touch your thing in your room but this hotel sure did i would never recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Agree with most other reviewers, this hotel is a little worn and crowded but for the price paid and location close to the capitol, you can't expect much. The hotel is located in a shopping area and parking is free but the lot is very crowded. Since there were many people, the hotel tend to be a little noisy at times. The room is old with broken or missing furniture - the chair at the desk was nowhere to be found. Internet service is a little spotty and slow at times. The bathroom wasn't as clean as we would like but it is comparable to other older hotels. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast is only so-so. There weren't much selection, more like a continental breakfast. Definitely a lower class hotel in the CI & S category. Not recommended unless you had to stay close to the capitol and book at the last minute like we did. Guess you get what you pay for in this case.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capitol Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Suites

Address: 8850 Hampton Mall Drive North, Capitol Heights, MD 20743 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Capitol Heights)
Location: United States > Maryland > Capitol Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Capitol Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capitol Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Capitol Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Capitol Heights Hotel Capitol Heights
Country Inn And Suites Capitol Heights
Country Inn Capitol Heights
Capitol Heights Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.