We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in Country Inn & Suites Capitol Heights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Suites

Save Saved
You added Capitol Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capitol Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8850 Hampton Mall Drive North, Capitol Heights, MD 20743 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Capitol Heights)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Capitol Heights
Windsor, Canada
1 review
“Our stay in Country Inn & Suites Capitol Heights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I spent eight days in this hotel and couldn't be more pleased with our experience. After reading various reviews I conclude that people use different criteria when evaluating their experience.

We found the staff to be most friendly, helpful and thoughtful. My kind of people! Large, expensive hotels are often somwhat cold and impersonal. By the time we left we felt we were leaving family! Hot coffee and warm cookies were always available near the front counter. Since we drove to the D.C. area I found the location almost ideal in many ways. There is an IHOP close by in the mall area. The staff highly recommended Sardi's across the street. If you like chicken you'll love this place.

There is easy access to the Beltway and the Metro station was relatively close by. A little advice on the last point. Parking is free and readily available on the weekends (except when the Redskins are playing). Parking is impossible before 9:00 a.m. but parking spots become available after 9:30 a.m. as the D.C. night shift goes home. One more point. Try and buy a 'Smartrip' card for the Metro if you are staying for more then a day or two. Cheaper and more convenient.

All in all, we'd highly recommend Country Inn & Suites Capital Heights.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top (3rd) floor if staying on the weekend. Those football fans are party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    7
    4
    10
See reviews for
22
13
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here when we were visiting the Washington, DC area on vacation. I was looking for an affordable and conveniently located hotel. Me, my husband, our 3 adults kids and our 12 year old stayed here for 4 days. We had 2 rooms each with 2 king size beds. Th rooms were big and clean. The location was perfect. The front desk clerk Joseph was so helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I read several reviews about this particular hotel being a little outdated and "worn", and they're true. It's a smaller hotel, with worn carpets, a very small breakfast area and parking lot. But it's a great place to stay for a Redskins game. Out of the parking lot, a quick right, a quick left, right at the next light, and that road runs right into FedEx Field. VERY easy to get to. The location around the hotel is a little sketchy, so don't wander around after dark. And don't plan on a large breakfast in the morning. Too many people, and too little food. But we would stay there again for a football game. The convenience to the stadium is just too good, and the staff at Country Inn was very good and very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at hotel while attending football game at Fed Ex Field. Thought everything went great. It was close to field and room was clean. The parking lot not that big, but safe. Had security guard on patrol all night long. Breakfast was just ok, but it was free. If you don't like it there is a IHOP within a 100 yards. Overall nothing bad to complain about.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and his company were staying here they got a call when they were at work said their room was booked the rest of the week after nthey had been their over a week in a half said their were no more rooms aviable that they would half to have three men to a room and they were not going to do that so needless to say when they got off work all of their stuff was threw in a cart for them to go to another hotel they lost half off their things i thought they were not allowed to touch your thing in your room but this hotel sure did i would never recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Agree with most other reviewers, this hotel is a little worn and crowded but for the price paid and location close to the capitol, you can't expect much. The hotel is located in a shopping area and parking is free but the lot is very crowded. Since there were many people, the hotel tend to be a little noisy at times. The room is old with broken or missing furniture - the chair at the desk was nowhere to be found. Internet service is a little spotty and slow at times. The bathroom wasn't as clean as we would like but it is comparable to other older hotels. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast is only so-so. There weren't much selection, more like a continental breakfast. Definitely a lower class hotel in the CI & S category. Not recommended unless you had to stay close to the capitol and book at the last minute like we did. Guess you get what you pay for in this case.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Morris
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here on a DC trip with a group of students. The hotel itself is not in the best condition, starting to look worn. It is located next to some fast food restaruants and a home building supply store and 7-11. The cleanliness of the rooms was not so great, hairs in the shower- someones socks under the chair??

However, the staff was incredibly helpful and accomodating to our group and the needs of many students. That made it worth the stay. And it was very close to most of the DC places we visited.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capitol Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Suites

Address: 8850 Hampton Mall Drive North, Capitol Heights, MD 20743 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Capitol Heights)
Location: United States > Maryland > Capitol Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Capitol Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capitol Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Capitol Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Capitol Heights
Country Inn & Suites Capitol Heights Hotel Capitol Heights
Country Inn Capitol Heights
Capitol Heights Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.