We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a DC traveler” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4950 Mercedes Blvd, Camp Springs, MD 20746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Camp Springs
Yulee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a DC traveler”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

If you are not looking to tour the DC area I'm not sure this would be the place for you to stay.

Pros:
Hot breakfast
Comfortably sized "suites"
Pet "friendly" with a non refundable fee
Clean room
Nice to have a kitchen area to prepare/store food.
Utensils and dinnerware also provided in cabinetry.

Cons:
The breakfast food was just okay. Fruit salad included un-ripe fruit, potatoes were too heavily seasoned, yogurt was not individual servings.
The sounds of people running around and slamming doors reverberated through the walls.
The bed was terribly uncomfortable.
The pillows too soft.

The location of this hotel is great but I'm not so sure if the value is there. Realizing that DC is an expensive area this is still one of the best priced hotels in the area and it served its purpose for my family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iranak, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your honest review. We hope you return to the area and have a better experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    59
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
58
39
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. It was fine but the sheets were worn in places and the overall decor was a bit dated and faded. There are absolutely no restaurants in walking distance and the pizza place that delivers is truly mediocre. In the morning there was some drama with the front desk person calling a cab for me which was stressful. He redeemed himself by getting me fresh coffee even though it was before breakfast officially started.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, online customer support at Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. We also apologize that there are not any restaurants close to out hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed here for 4 days, 3 nights, for a family vacation. The location was ideal, walking distance to the last stop on the metro that takes you straight into Washington DC. But, there were a few issues. For one, the housekeeping never came for us. The people at the front desk said it was because they came around in the morning and we had a "Do Not Disturb" sign on, therefore they never came back. But, we left at 10am, taking the sign off of the door. Also, the beds are rather hard and I could clearly hear children running around all morning, waking me up, and my next door neighbors doing god knows what. Also, we called the shuttle to come and pick us up twice at the metro station. They told us to call when we were a stop before where they were to pick us up. We did as they said, and one of the times they forgot to come for us and the other time, they left us there because we "took too long" although we called them when they told us to!! Altogether, my family and I did not have a great experience, but the location is wonderful and it is pretty cheap.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor, that way you don't hear people upstairs from you. Learned t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, online customer support at Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very comfortable beds which were wonderful after full days of siteseeing. There is a shuttle to the metro, though driving into the city wasn't that far. The breakfast had some good variety with protein. Everything was clean and the price was right considering what some other hotels are asking!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iranak, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnation, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed here 3 nights last year and 3 nights just last weekend (March 2014), and it is profoundly OK. I'd give it 2 1/2 stars if that was an option. The property amenities on website says "Swim on in" but there is no pool. I was told that is "marketing". It used to be called lying. But on the plus side, it is a cheap stay not far from a very expensive city - Washington DC is about a 15 minute drive away. There's also a shuttle to a metro nearby. The management tries and they are nice. Ask for an upstairs room because it is a sketchy area and first floor doesn't feel safe. I could smell tobacco smoke every night though it is supposed to be nonsmoking. Breakfast is pretty good, with eggs & waffles & oatmeal & even a little fruit and sketchy bacon (I didn't eat that). Rooms are clean.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs away from elevator for better security & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iranak, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for pointing out the error on our brandwebsite. Unfortunately generic verbage is used to build Country Inn websites and the phrase implies we have a pool which is not correct, so we are glad you pointed that out. We have requested to remove that phrase from our site.

We actually do have 6 smoking rooms, which are limited to the first floor corner rooms to attempt to limit a smoke smell. We may move to a 100% nonsmoking in the near future but are not at this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We visited this hotel for a 3 night stay while exploring the downtown Washington, DC area. The hotel location was ideal for us, having easy access from I-95 via 495, and being SUPER close to the Branch Avenue green line metro stop. This metro stop meant a direct ride to the Archives metro stop, right in the heart of downtown and close to attractions. We were able to walk to the metro stop from the hotel in about 5-10 minutes, and they also offered a fee shuttle service.

The staff here was INCREDIBLE. I wished I'd had some Trip Advisor Excellence pins with me to give to two of them! Iamaran was especially helpful, friendly and just so impressive. Best service we've received anywhere in a long time. And I think the other one was Amy maybe. She was just SO sweet and helpful and made us feel very welcomed.

The hotel was very clean and nice. Out room was quite spacious. We loved that the rooms had queen beds, not just doubles and the bathroom had a BIG open counter space which was ideal for the travel goods of a family of 4. Everything was in good working order, and the shower had awesome water pressure. The A/C unit could have been a little bit quieter. We were on the top floor, so had no trouble with noise of anyone overhead. The refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot were great!

We noticed in earlier reviews that some visitors were disappointed in the breakfast service. The management must have really improved on this, because it was GREAT while we were there. We are not early birds by any means, so usually only got to the breakfast area about 30 minutes before breakfast was over. We found everything was still well stocked and hot food was still hot. The staff was very attentive keeping all tables and surfaces clean and wiped down. We enjoyed a variety of foods from waffles to eggs, sausage, bacon, oatmeal, french toast, potatoes, cereals and yogurt, as well as pastries and juices and milk. On a Gluten free diet myself, I was especially thankful for the egg and meat offerings each day. One thing they might consider in this area (and this goes for all hotels everywhere) is a Gluten Free cereal option, such as Chex and Koala Crisp, so we'd have a grain option.

I wish I could give this hotel a full 5 stars, because it really was nice. The only reason I cannot is that it does have some noise issues, a weak internet signal, and the beds were not very comfortable. The noise issue seems to partially stem from the doors being "weighted" to close tightly and guests not realizing this. So there lots of "slamming" doors, and there just wasn't enough noise insulation.

I would still definitely recommend this property. And it's a GREAT price compared to other hotel options we viewed around the DC area, too! One last helpful note: If you book very far in advance, like we did, check the price closer to your travel dates. We did and ended up saving $30 per night as the price dropped!

Room Tip: Because of minor noise issues, choose top floor and as far from elevator as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iranak, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
I really appreciate your comment. I've shared it with our entire staff and I'm sure they will be delighted. The last several weeks they have been working on areas we can improve on including breakfast and room conditions so it really is nice to see that our guests are happier for it.

Each comment where someone is specifically named also helps them with recognition within the hotel so thanks for the award suggestion.

We have noticed some occasional slow downs in internet as well and are having our HSIA tech look at it soon, thanks for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sayville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed at Country Inn and Suites February 16-20, 2014. Staff was helpful and very nice. Room/ bathroom was clean though needed some updating. Shuttle service from hotel to Metro was a great help. This was a great location for those who want to get into Washington DC quickly. The Branch Metro line takes you right into the city within 20 minutes or so. The price was decent too.The only negative was the breakfast: empty food bins, cold oatmeal, empty coffee containers.We didn't complain about this but have stayed in other Country Inn and Suites where the breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iranak, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. I'm sorry your experience with breakfast wasn't as good as it was at a previous Country Inn. We hope you give us a chance to exceed your expectations next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base

Address: 4950 Mercedes Blvd, Camp Springs, MD 20746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Camp Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Camp Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Andrews Air Force Base
Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base Hotel Camp Springs
Country Inn Camp Springs
Camp Springs Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Andrews Air Force Base, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.