We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable weekend trip outside DC meto area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Okatie, South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
423 helpful votes 423 helpful votes
“Enjoyable weekend trip outside DC meto area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2006

Stayed June 16 - 18th My husband and I met another couple at the Hyatt for a long weekend. The girls spa'd and the guys golf'd. We booked the golf package with 1 round of golf per day. Water view room around $300. The rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable, but I wouldn't recommend you spend the extra money for a water view room. The grounds are beautiful so the ground views are just as nice as a water view. The deck on the room is just a small walk-out, but you can't sit and relax. If you like sitting out at night - reserve a ground level room with patio - table and chairs provided.

Food is okay and is resort priced. No upscale resturants in the area, but nice mom and pop places and a few chain's. If you want to save a few bucks on food - leave the resort. If you forget to pack anything - Wal Mart directly across the street from the entrance to the resort. Recommend you buy water at Wal Mart. Each room has a refrigerator - comes in handy for cold water at the pool or at the golf course.

Golf - husband said the course was very nice, but tight. And the club seemed to overbook. Because this is a corporate resort - lots of slow play. They accommodate late golfers and it just slowed the course. 1 round took 6 hours on Friday and Saturday.

Exercise - gym is okay. Recommend you get up early to do the 2.6 mile walking trail through the resort. Good workout and enjoyable.

Spa - adequate, but nothing spectacular. Towels not soft and small (and I'm not big), but tall - bring your swimsuit for the sauna. Steam room wasn't working during my visit.

Hot Stone - very good if you can handle the heat, but if you don't think you would like hot stone - please do not spend the money on this massage. You will be disappointed. It is also not a very relaxful massage - recommend a swedish.

For DC metro drivers. Go early on Friday (before 12:00) and leave early on Sunday (before 11:00). You shouldn't hit traffic. Be sure to stop at the local area farmer's markets for fresh fruit and veggies on your way home.

Pool area - stay at the infinity edge pool if your an adult with no kids. If you have kids, please do not bring them to the infinity pool. There are three pools and two are for over active children. The resort tries to keep the infinity pool for adults. You will have a headache in 3-5 mins if you stay by the indoor pool. Loud doesn't even begin to describe the noise level of this pool.

Service - spotty. The lobby lounge - service was hit and miss. Mostly miss. Would take 15 mins to get service and then once you get service they never come back. We were getting our own drinks more often then our waitress. They seem to have lots of breaks as well. Every time we were in the lounge our waitress had to take a break. It was one of the most unusual things we've experienced - breaks during high peak hours (4:00 - 7:00).
Drinks expensive - more so than usual. Rasberry cosmopolitian was $10.50. We brought wine and beer and stored in soft sided coolers and the refrigerator in the room. If you don't like large bar tabs - use that as an option.

Bed - oddly enough the sheets never stayed tucked. You move once and the sheets come untucked and then your on the mattress within 2 hours of falling asleep. They need to find correct sheets that stay tucked. Other than that - bed was comfortable.

Housekeeping - Not good. We left the room at 9:00 and when I came back at 3:30 they had just gotten to our room. I waited outside for 15 mins. When they finished and I entered the room we had no wash cloths, no hand towels, two bath towels, and our tolietries were not replinished (and they were clearly close to being empty).

All in all - this isn't a bad place to go for a weekend. With golf x 2 days and spa x 1 day, all our meals at the resort, and bar tab for 2 evenings - cost was $1400 for 2 nights and 3 days. Now that sounds like a lot, but for a resort with a view close to DC, not bad at all. Remember our room was water view, so go cheaper on the room, eat off-site, bring your own alcohol, and this becomes a very good value.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    401
    147
    60
    32
See reviews for
394
301
17
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2006

I just spent 3 nights at the Hyatt in Cambridge with a large group for a business meeting. My experience is similar to that of other reviewers. This is a very lovely property, with expensive restaurants, daily valet fee and resort fees. If you don't want to spend too much money, you'll probably want to eat off campus and/or make the most of the in room fridge. Also, you'll probably want to self-park.

Parking -
Valet is a fee - $20. Self parkign lot is unfortunately a bit of a hike from the main lobby and my side of the hotel. (That would be my single true gripe - it just seems unpleasant to put "guest" parking as far away as possible.)

Staff -
The staff were all very charming and helpful (front desk, bellman, room service etc.)

Food -
My group had lunch catered, it was decent. I did not eat at the restaurant, but was sorry to see that the dinner prices were extremely expensive, altho you could get a sandwich or two in MIchener Lounge (off the main lobby). Room service was delivered to my room w/in 20 minutes (just a sandwich), but it was very prompt, which was great!

Property -
The river side of the hotel includes beautiful pools facing the river etc., didn't enjoy the many pools (business meeting after all!), but it is lovely surroundings.
The property has a walkiin/jogging trail of 2.3 miles, and many folks in our group enjoyed using that. Tennis courts, golf course, mini golf etc.

Room rates -
The max rate on the back of my room was $550 (non-water view overlooking the valet parking lot) - which I would never consider paying. If you can stay here for a much much more reasonable rate, that would be worth it.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, md
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2006

We had a very romantic time at the Hyatt. They left a bottle of wine and a picnic basket in our room because it was our anniversary. I was not able to drink the wine because I was pregnant, but we were still able to have a picnic by the water which was beautiful. The spa was very relaxing as well. I was able to get the "baby on board" pregnancy massage. The golf course was in pretty good shape as well. We ate at the restaurants a couple of times. It was only OK. Room service serves food from the restaurant. One night we ate in our room, it took over an hour to get our food because they were so busy at the restaurant, I think they forgot us.

We came back to the resort for Mother's day with my Mother In-law. She and I spent the entire day at the spa and salon which was very relaxing. There facials were wonderful, I think even better than the massage. I did think the salon was overpriced. I thought $80 on a pedicure was a bit much. My husband had a good time at the golf course again but the green fees were more expensive this time...about twice as much as the last time he played.

I would recommend to go during August or September when it is not so crowded and expensive.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

We just returned from an overnight trip at the Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay. We stayed in a king water- view room that was an excellent value for our Travelzoo price. The room was spacious, clean, well furnished (including in-room safe), and had a nice view overlooking the pool areas & Choptank River. The small refrigerator was a plus if you brought your own snacks and/or a few drinks. From reading other reviews, we anticipated resort restaurant prices, so we chose to eat our main meals enroute & return (@ Crab Claw in St. Micheals and @ Snapper Restaurant on the water in downtown/ historic Cambridge). All staff (including pool/recreation attendant) at the Hyatt were VERY friendly and helpful. We used well equipped workout center, large indoor pool and relaxing hot tub--but other activities (i.e. mini-golf, tennis, outdoor pools, etc.) were also available. With the cool evening, the outdoor fireplace was a quite a hit for a few families enjoying the warmth from the fire and marshmallow toasting. A side trip to St. Micheals lighthouse & museum is HIGHLY recommended to get a true "taste" of the Chesapeake Bay area.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2006

My three sisters and I stayed here at the Hyatt for three nights for our yearly get together. This Hyatt has a beautiful location on the Choptank River. We didn't use the golf or marina, but did use the pools. All of the employees we encountered were courteous and friendly. Our rooms were nice and kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. Upon arrival, I called to ask for several more pillows and they were brought to me within 5 minutes. Yes, the restaurants are a bit pricey. We did eat at the Blue Point one evening for dinner, but for all of our other meals we opted to eat somewhere else. (There is a nice diner right next to the Hyatt where we ate our breakfast each day). We also brought our own drinks and snacks. We have learned to do this whenever we are away from home. We went into Cambridge and to St. Michaels and had a great time at both places. We also spent one day just relaxing at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2006

The best way to sum up this resort is "nice". The grounds are superb, set in a wonderful location right on the river, the resort facilities are good although as previous posts suggest food is on the expensive side. The swimming pools are good (although still closed in early May!!) and the Spa is OK but on the small side especially if your used to resort spas in Arizona or Las Vegas. The public areas of the resort are nicely decorated and spacious, the poorest area of the resort by far are the guest rooms. Even water facing rooms are not resort quality (I would'nt like to see inland facing!), they are in need of renovation and lack some comforts you'd expect. The beds are NOT the new Hyatt bed that is being advertised, in fact they are rather uncomfortable, with tired bedding to match. Furnishings are old, drab and in need of updating. The bathrooms are OK but no walk in shower. In addition to your room rate there is a daily resort fee of $12 for what exactly?....to park your own car and a daily newspaper!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2006

Wonderful hotel and very friendly staff. We stayed for a girls weekend and we were not
disappointed. From reviews on this site we knew to bring our own snacks and goodies
which helped keep the cost down. This is a luxury resort so you have to plan accordingly.
There were plenty of places to eat on the cheap in the area as well.
We also used the spa and the ladies in the salon were wonderful. We are going to go back
in the fall once we have saved up again because the rooms are very expensive but the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include two outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. The property offers 400 luxurious guest rooms. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.