We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Pricey but very nice and dog friendly if you are willing to pay a hefty service fee. The staff was attentive, room nice and the property just beautiful. As indicated in other's posts there were many children running around so in the future I would also attempt to avoid times when it is likely to be overpopulated with children.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    368
    134
    58
    30
See reviews for
359
267
16
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waldorf, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is not the first time we have been to the Hyatt Regency in Cambridge Md. This is a beautiful place that has all the amenities from fine dining, pool, spa, and is only minutes from old town Cambridge which is a small but eclectic town with some nice shops and a great french bistro. There is also a great list of interesting things to do there which the hotel staff will make sure you know about and help you to enjoy any and all of them. The staff at the Hyatt is second to none. They cater to their guests with the greatest of care and professionism but never forget that personal touch that makes you feel really comfortable there. I would recommend this facility to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, GA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

One word - disgusting! I have not given this bad of a review to a Hyatt property since I gave a review of the Rickey's Hyatt in Palo Alto in the 1990s - Hyatt faithful that stayed there before it was demolished might remember it as a place that didn't deserve the Hyatt name.

My room was not clean. The bathroom fixtures were not clean; the mirror had toothpaste splatter remaining from the last guest. The marble and faux marble had sticky outlines of a glass from the last guest, where they apparently spilled drinks on the marble. The laminate floors had a sticky substance across the floors and large spots that were thick, such that my slippers squeaked from sticking to the floor with every step. The towels and linens appeared fresh, so I believe the room was cleaned, but I had to clean the counters where I place my toiletries just to feel comfortable. My slippers were so filthy, I had to clean just to pack them. The napkins was black with goop.

The property appeared nice. $157 was an absolutely great price ... couldn't pass the opportunity up. I was actually planning to stay for a good workout, short couple mile run on the property, and then investigate the property as a possible vacation destination for the family. I am MUCH more discriminating when staying at a property with the family than just solo - I would have checked out immediately after seeing this room. However, I didn't enjoy the property; didn't see the facilities, so I apologize if my rating doesn't reflect your possibly great amenities. I have two major requirements for a hotel and in this order: 1) Safe and 2) Clean. The other perks - great workout facility, spa, friendly staff, great restaurants, etc. come after these two basic requirements are met. Rickey's Hyatt did neither; Hyatt Chesapeake Resort at least nailed #1; I felt very safe - kudos to Chesapeake for safety. However, either one missing, not a good night for me. I woke up at 3 AM, and packed my bags. Was out at 4:15AM after having arrived at ~10PM the night before. This 6-hour stay didn't even prompt a "How was your stay?" from the night desk manager. Chesapeake staff, you should be grateful that Hyatt once had a property in Palo Alto, CA. Wait, it's gone now... maybe you are the worst Hyatt property in the chain.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

A family member booked us all into this hotel for a get-together, and we were hoping for a little adult R&R. No way. This hotel markets itself as "family friendly," and I've never seen a place more overrun with kids. Most families had 3 or 4 kids, who ran screaming in the halls and turned the lovely swimming pool into scary chaos. The outdoor fireplace conversation pit was taken over by kids each evening for marshmallow roasts that lasted well into the evening. Walls seemed unusually thin for a Hyatt because we could hear families in the room above us and to our side. Not conducive to romance & relaxation. For parents, one good thing: if your kids are out of control, they won't stand out at all, so you can relax. Aside from all this kid stuff, we were dismayed when our luggage hadn't been brought up 45 minutes after check-in. We called the front desk to inquire and were told the bellman couldn't figure out which room luggage belonged in (our name was on the ticket), so they put luggage in storage. Doesn't show much initiative to be customer responsive, I'd say. OTOH, we dined at several catered meals in the restaurant/dining rooms and thought the wait staff and cooks were quite good.

Room Tip: Walls and ceilings are thin. Maybe top floor would work better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback on this recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the dining offerings! Please know the resort strives to offer activities for both couples and families, with a particular focus on holiday weekends, when the resort is at full capacity. We apologize for the issue with the luggage, and we hope to have the opportunity to provide a four-diamond experience in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent 3 nights here during their "Spring Break Bonanza." - There was plenty for kids [ages 8 -13] to do. Kids loved spending time in the huge indoor pool watching evening movies while swimming was fun. There were TONS of families which worked for us, but if you were looking for a quiet, romantic weekend I do not think this was the week! That being said, I definitely would go back with just the husband any other time of year!!! The Spa was Wonderful and the golf course was great

We stayed on the top [6th] floor and were happy - the ceiling were vaulted and gave feeling of spacious room. Unlike other reviewers, we were not bothered by noise perhaps we got lucky? The two sisters who work at the Bay Country store in the lobby are sisters and sooo delightful while they serve Starbucks and decently priced wraps for lunch.

We spent the afternoons off the grounds - horseback riding at Windy Way Horses and kayaking near Blackwater refuge. Had dinner in Cambridge - Jimmie and Sooks and High Spot - I'd recommend both.

Room Tip: 6th floor/top floor seems best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

My family of four and I visited this resort fro their spring break bonanza which has a plethora of events and activities specifically designed for families. We enjoyed the complementary: magic shows, mini golf, moon bounce, volley ball, arcade, video game room, pool side movies and speedy wifi. There is a hotel wide 9pm quiet rule, which made for very restful evenings. And the spa was clean, remote and relaxing. I would definitely go back...this was a great quick get away!

I worked with Kristy with the The Tropical Travelers booking agency to quickly and secure an affordable rate. Kristy was efficient, knowledgeable and accommodating. http://www.thetropicaltravelers.com/author/kristyhall/

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We were awakened at 2:30am by hotel personnel vacuuming hallway outside our room. Called front desk, got security who claimed that was not possible. Filed complaint with management, got no response. Toilet leaked. Our room service order was wrong-missing items. Would not go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We greatly appreciate feedback and apologize for the room disturbance and with room service. Please know these experiences will be reviewed with our management team so that appropriate steps are taken. We hope to welcome you back to our four-diamond resort in the future.
Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include three outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. In 2009, all 400 of our luxurious guest rooms, including 56 suites, were completely refurnished. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.