We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Resort for Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Great Resort for Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent 3 nights here during their "Spring Break Bonanza." - There was plenty for kids [ages 8 -13] to do. Kids loved spending time in the huge indoor pool watching evening movies while swimming was fun. There were TONS of families which worked for us, but if you were looking for a quiet, romantic weekend I do not think this was the week! That being said, I definitely would go back with just the husband any other time of year!!! The Spa was Wonderful and the golf course was great

We stayed on the top [6th] floor and were happy - the ceiling were vaulted and gave feeling of spacious room. Unlike other reviewers, we were not bothered by noise perhaps we got lucky? The two sisters who work at the Bay Country store in the lobby are sisters and sooo delightful while they serve Starbucks and decently priced wraps for lunch.

We spent the afternoons off the grounds - horseback riding at Windy Way Horses and kayaking near Blackwater refuge. Had dinner in Cambridge - Jimmie and Sooks and High Spot - I'd recommend both.

Room Tip: 6th floor/top floor seems best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    375
    140
    58
    30
See reviews for
373
275
16
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

My family of four and I visited this resort fro their spring break bonanza which has a plethora of events and activities specifically designed for families. We enjoyed the complementary: magic shows, mini golf, moon bounce, volley ball, arcade, video game room, pool side movies and speedy wifi. There is a hotel wide 9pm quiet rule, which made for very restful evenings. And the spa was clean, remote and relaxing. I would definitely go back...this was a great quick get away!

I worked with Kristy with the The Tropical Travelers booking agency to quickly and secure an affordable rate. Kristy was efficient, knowledgeable and accommodating. http://www.thetropicaltravelers.com/author/kristyhall/

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We were awakened at 2:30am by hotel personnel vacuuming hallway outside our room. Called front desk, got security who claimed that was not possible. Filed complaint with management, got no response. Toilet leaked. Our room service order was wrong-missing items. Would not go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We greatly appreciate feedback and apologize for the room disturbance and with room service. Please know these experiences will be reviewed with our management team so that appropriate steps are taken. We hope to welcome you back to our four-diamond resort in the future.
Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We live fairly close to the property, and my brother was married close by and we all stayed here for the weekend for a reception and to relax. It really is a pretty massive property, right on the banks of the Choptank River. The service was very good from all the staff. There are a lot of things to do, yet the food is rather expensive on property. I would venture out a bit to neighboring towns for meals and sights.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

One of my favorite places to stay, anywhere. Food is great, the seafood is as good as it gets. The golf and spa are great and the location is perfect. I would recommend this property to anyone, especially those within a four hour or so drive up and down the east coast. Family friendly or just come with friends or as a couple. The hotel is always packed but it's large enough to accommodate everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I chose the Hyatt for a romantic getaway overnight (4/19/14 - 4/20/14) to celebrate our two year anniversary, as we've heard wonderful things about the hotel. While the hotel is beautiful, with spectacular views of the Chesapeake Bay, and tons of amenities and activities for every person (kids and adults), we had an unfortunate stay.

Communication is key with customer service and had we been communicated to properly, I don't think we would have been so disappointed.

When my boyfriend made the reservation, he specifically requested a quiet room and section of the hotel and noted that this is a special stay for us (anniversary). His request was confirmed. When we came to check in, we saw tons of families and children everywhere (no big deal), so we confirmed with the front desk that we did in fact have our quiet room, away from families and children, as we were here to celebrate our anniversary. I guess my boyfriend's original request was not entirely confirmed, as a room was ready, but not a quiet room. They told us it would be about another hour or so as they had to clean a (quiet) room for us. We said not a big deal, as we were going to check out a winery close by so we had time to spare. (The Hyatt did give us a voucher for a free wine tasting and souvenir wine glasses at the winery - Laytons Chance - which was very nice.)

When we came back to check into our room it was very nice with a gorgeous water view (that we had requested). It was not entirely cleaned, as there was an empty water bottle on the nightstand, which made me wonder if anything else was left un-cleaned. But other than that it was a gorgeous room. We soon heard the screams of children next door and yelling parents - they might as well have been in the same room with us. The insulation between the rooms seems horrible. We could hear every word of their conversation. It certainly put a damper on our romantic stay and killed the mood. My boyfriend called down to the front desk as we were confirmed for a quiet room and they even delayed our check in to give us the quiet room. We were told that it was spring break and Easter weekend and the hotel was booked to capacity and unfortunately there are no quiet rooms - what?! There was nothing they could do except send up security if we wanted. We did know it was Easter weekend, but we would not have chosen that weekend if we knew there was no such thing as quiet rooms. We shouldn't have been confirmed for a quiet room if they could not accommodate a quiet room. This is something that should have been communicated to us. Regardless, the insulation seems to be horrible anyway as you could hear normal conversation right through the walls. I know that families deserve to have a great stay just as much as the next person and you can't help loud children, but that's why we asked for the quiet room/section of the hotel.

Basically we had to just deal with the noise. Moving on...

We went downstairs to have breakfast (buffet) the morning of 4/20 - around 11:45-11:50 a.m. We were seated, got our omelets from omelet station and went down the buffet to get other breakfast items (potatoes, waffles, bacon, and sausage). Everything but the omelets were cold. Apparently, we were told, they stopped serving breakfast at 12 p.m. so they started closing everything up and turning off the burners and heaters. Again - something that was not communicated to us as we were seated. And if breakfast ended at 12 p.m., why was everything being turned off at 11:45-11:40 a.m.? The hotel was nice about it and did not charge us for our breakfast, which was nice - however we were still upset leaving as we were hungry.

When we went to check out of the Hyatt we did tell the manager of our unfortunate stay and we were told by her that normally the hotel does have quiet rooms and quiet areas, normally, but not during spring break and Easter week. Again, now we're being told something different. However, had we known in advance that we could not have been accommodated for a quiet room, we would have chosen another time to book at the Hyatt. We should not have been approved and confirmed for a quiet room if they could not really do that. It seems there is a lack of communication between the staff and customers and with the staff in general (as we kept being told something different - we can accommodate quiet rooms; we don't have quiet rooms; we have quiet rooms, but just not during spring break/Easter).

Overall the hotel is beautiful with a lot to offer, everyone was very nice, the concierge was super friendly and helpful, but we left very disappointed just because of lack of communication. They Hyatt was very understanding and credited us $50 for our stay. I think we would return, but just not during any holiday or busy weekend; however, with the poor insulation inbetween the rooms, I'm not sure. Beautiful grounds and beautiful views.

Room Tip: Speak with a live representative/hotel manager to ensure you are getting what you are requesting and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thanks so much for this feedback. We appreciate all feedback as we celebrate the positives and use the constructive feedback to continue internal training. Please know we will pass these thoughts on to the appropriate department heads so that the appropriate steps are taken. Holiday weekends and spring break are certainly the busiest days of the year at the resort. That being said, our goal is to always provide authentic hospitality and exceed each guest's expectations. We do hope you’ll use your credit and so that we may provide an excellent experience during a future stay.

Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed over spring break and had an okay time. The hotel is beautiful and rooms with water view are lovely. Our room had two doubles, which was all we could get during the busy week, but doubles are small. My husband is tall, so he had one to himself and teen daughter and I shared. Thankfully the beds are very comfortable, otherwise it would have been miserable. Another problem is lighting. VERY DIM rooms, even with all lights on (no overheads). Only one lamp between the beds (and one on a table, but not close enough to help with bedside reading) so I recommend you bring individual book lights if you like to read in bed and aren't on the side with the lamp. We brought the book lights to the indoor pool too since it was dim in there at night. Those thing are not a dealbreakers by any means, but we seemed to have our fair share of glitches with this stay. Each day our key stopped working, which was annoying since it required a trip back down to the lobby when we were either tired from a day out or cold and wet from being in the pool. While the breakfast at the Water's Edge grill was excellent (the crab cake Benedict is amazing!), service was very slow each day. But the most disappointing part was that we were booked for three days, which we confirmed at check in, but apparently they had us checking out after two. Housekeeping came to turn over the room, and then another family tried to get in to our room, which freaked my daughter out. That was totally unacceptable for a property on the level of a Hyatt Resort. Definitely KEEP YOUR PAPERWORK with confirmation number since you may need it during your stay. And bring lighting.

I honestly can't say if we'll be back, despite the voucher for "resort fees" we got at check out for our troubles. I wouldn't say "don't go" because our problems were probably isolated (except for the Water's Edge Grill where slow service was the norm), but just know it may not go entirely smoothly.

Room Tip: Water views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback on the lighting. We apologize for the reservation situation. Please know that we will be passing these experiences on to the appropriate department head for review. We do hope to provide a four-diamond experience for your family during a future stay at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay.

Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include two outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. The property offers 400 luxurious guest rooms. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.