We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, Staff made up for a major inconvenience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, Staff made up for a major inconvenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

No hotel room can function flawlessly 100% of the time, but a hotel staff can. This stay, the room failed, but the staff did excelled.

This was a 2-night weekend getaway stay for my wife, toddler, and me over Presidents' Day (Sat-Mon). Our initial room had a direct bay front balcony and was end-of-hall. We had to switch rooms in the late-evening on day 2 since our heat system kept failing. (It was only blowing cool air the first night...Maintenance came next day to fix it, but when we returned from dinner it had tripped the breaker. Maintenance returned quickly but couldn't immediately resolve the issue.

Well past our toddlers bedtime, we were upgraded to a spectacular corner room, though we ended up having to repack our things and move our own belongings to the other end of the sprawling hotel. (Oh our son enjoyed that process, since he got to stay up late and "ride" across the hotel and through the lobby in the rolling hotel crib. We resettled and awake to a gorgeous view. For all of the trouble, we were given a $100 off our stay.

Wife loved the spa (though many services were not available since she didn't book a few days ahead). Food was great. Inside pool was great ascetically, but was crowded and chilly.

Though bitterly cold and windy, we couldn't help enjoy the outdoor grounds for long walks.

We'd have much-preferred to not need to repack, move, and disrupt our only full day, but things happen, and the management made valiant efforts to remedy the situation. They even sent me a followup email the next business day.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay greatly appreciates guest feedback. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and the spa. We regret to hear that the rooms had to be switched part way through the stay. Thank you for your understanding as we worked to remedy the situation. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for a four diamond experience on a future occasion.
Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    375
    139
    58
    30
See reviews for
373
274
16
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have stayed with many Hyatt, Marriott, Westin... hotels. We just stayed at the Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Resort last weekend. The staff offered the very best service to make our trip pleasant. Jessica at front desk and Monica B. at housekeeping are great!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is my third visit to this hotel. I gave them the benefit by returning expecting better service especially when the hotel was only 1/4 occupied. We found this out by speaking to a worker who asked us how our stay was. We told her we just arrived and were on our way to check in. We did online check in and had gotten the upgrade to the Regency level for an additional $64. We felt that it was a good deal since we have used this before and got our money out of it. Not so this time and maybe because of the low occupancy rate. After getting our key we went to the 6th floor to our room. We get to our room to find that it was adjoining room. Back down we go to change rooms. I hate adjoining rooms as you can hear everything that is going on in the other room. They gave as another room and back up we go. The room was fine. We unpacked and headed to the Regency club to get a drink and check it out. Guess what the key does not work, back down to the front desk. Did I mention how far it is. If you have been there you know it's a long walk. They saw us coming and asked us what was wrong. They took the key and gave us access to the club and comped our upgrade which was nice for all the inconvenience, but only if that would be the last time. We checked out the club and returned to our room, only to find out, you guessed it our key did not work. We checked our old room out and they reprogrammed it back to that one, so back down we go. They fixed it this time and we went back up to our room it worked. We headed to the gym to work out. We get to the gym and again our key did not work. We found someone to let us in and enjoyed the large workout area and equipment. After checking out the game room, and pool, we headed back to the front desk to get our s'mores coupon and get our key fixed. They did not have any coupons but told us to go the the shop and they would call and let them know. They would also tell the people who light the fire that they had a request for the fire as they would only light if someone asked. We went to the shop and picked up our kit and sat in the rocking chairs to wait for the fire to be lit. We had a front row seat of the fire pit but you guessed it no one lit the fire. After waiting for 45 mins it was back to the front desk to tell them no one came. They called again and within 15 mins someone finally came. We finally went out and enjoyed our s'mores. Others came out while we were there to enjoy their s'mores. We did go to the Regency Club for the evening layout only to find some vegetables and dip. Nothing like the last time we were there. Dessert was only a small piece of chocolate coffee cake, again nothing like our previous visit. We did get to enjoy the pool and hot tub. Three 12-14 year old girls got in the hot tub and we decided to leave as they must not be able to read the signs that they have for the hot tub that you have to be 16 to use it. There was a life guard that monitors the hot tub and she made them get out as we saw them come in after she went out to check outside. So it was nice to see this was enforced.

After this experience I will not be going back anytime in the near future. This Hyatt has a lot of training to their employees on good customer service, something that was truly lacking during this stay. I advised the girl at checkout after she asked if we enjoyed our stay but she really did not want to hear my complaints. On the positive side I got a lot of exercise walking to the front desk.

Room Tip: Do not get an adjoin groom as you can hear everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Please know how much we appreciate guest loyalty and feedback. Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay prides itself on being a four diamond resort destination. We regret to hear of the service experience during your stay. Please contact me so we may discuss your stay further.
Warm Regards,
Suzanne Via
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Woefully understaffed. Poor or nonexistent service at the bar. Inexplicable wait time to be seated in a half-empty restaurant. No answer when we called room service. No one to clean the room until 5:30 in the evening.
Needs more staff, better oversight by management and a fresh coat of paint on the walls. .
Not the romantic getaway we had hoped for.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We regret to hear of your recent experience at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Resort. Please know your comments will be passed on to the management team for review, so appropriate steps are taken. We take pride in being a four diamond destination and hope to have the opportunity to provide such an experience in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Was becoming an annual trip for my family, then they closed the hot tub to kids, and we will never be back. Kids loved this feature. What a shame....kids were so disappointed. Told three different stories on why. Beds are way to small for two people in double rooms for famlies

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Please know how much we appreciate guest loyalty. For safety reasons, use of the hot tub had to be restricted to adults only. We understand your disappointment. The resort hopes to welcome your family back for a future stay with us. Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay prides itself on being a destination for families, with numerous activities available for kids of all ages.
Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

average experience. no slippers provided for the whole group, despite it being called a "spa" hotel. the room was average-sized. dusty in some places. smell a bit 'old'/ musky too. food - the best bit i enjoyed was the hash. the only saving grace of my whole stay was the bartender who kept the drinks flowing!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My mom, daughter and I stayed at the resort for the weekend with the McLean's Women Conference (3/7/14). The staff was fantastic, especially the bartender who was there Sat. afternoon. He was very patient with us all. We'd ask questions, joke with him and my mother was able to sit at the bar and enjoy watching Tiger playing golf without any issues. Great place!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include two outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. The property offers 400 luxurious guest rooms. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.