We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice getaway.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice getaway.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My sister and I was here on a business retreat. This place was very nice and cozy. Rooms were nice, clean and bedding was great for sleeping. Good food and staff was very friendly. Will recommend for a nice getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    351
    128
    55
    28
See reviews for
335
259
15
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and had a wonderful holiday a year and half ago here and were eager for a return visit. Maybe our memory was overly positive or this property is having some issues. Unfortunately we had a suite before and only a standard waterfront room was available this time which definitely downgraded our experience.
Something happened to the flooring in the lobby area to the left. What had been a beautiful corridor now has mildewed floors. It's gross looking. Our room 5207 was ordinary which could be overlooked except the flooring was gouged and cut up. I thought a rock band had stayed there until I heard the refrigerator's death rattle. I bet a guest just wanted the fridge to stop banging and pulled out the bar cabinet to pull the plug in the middle of the night.
When we arrived we were treated nicely and we asked about local restaurants off-property. We were referred to Jimmie and Sooks in Cambridge (which was nasty.) The hotel was loaded with (loaded) wedding guests which made sense on a holiday weekend and was amusing until the bars closed at 2 am and the hallways slammed and yelled to life.
The pool was crowded with kids and unswimmable, chuckee cheeze by-the-sea, Several on property restaurants were closed and what was open appeared to have Tvs blaring with football games.
I understand resort properties fulfill many needs and in fact this resort has met mine in the past. This level of bad maintenance and guest behavior at this price point and I doubt my wife and I will be back. Best western at 1/3 the rate would be a better choice.
Oh, this is petty but I prepaid for breakfast. We ordered the buffet and 2 coffees. Somehow we overspent our "allowance" by $2.92. You need to understand how lame it is too have prearranged and prepaid a fun getaway with your wife only to be scolded at the front desk for $2.92. It was embarrassing. $2.92 is what makes or breaks Hyatt?

Room Tip: Don't stay if you can't get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We greatly appreciate guest feedback and regret to hear about your dissatisfaction during a recent stay at our resort. Please know we are taking this information and reviewing it with the management team to ensure that the appropriate steps are taken. Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay apologizes for any inconvenience you experienced and hopes to be able to provide a four-diamond resort experience for you and your wife in the future.

Warm Regards,

Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC, Beirut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt in August 2013. It was much nicer than we had expected. The hotel isDog Friendly and they gave us a room on the ground floor overlooking the Golf Course. The room was really large and being on the ground floor was ideal since we could just open the sliding door and go out to walk our dog.

The grounds are very nice overlooking the water with plenty of nice places to sit and take in the view. Our only complaint is the restaurant--its not a restaurant that is Vegetarian friendly or that has many healthy options. Also the water pressure in the shower could be better.

Overall I really enjoyed the property and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel was just wonderful for the whole family. Everybody enjoyed. They have a lot to do on the premises. Really nice rooms as well. staff was very friendly and pleasant. Grounds were spotless and very well maintained.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this resort for a little romantic escape. We got a discounted deal on a room and decided to try it out for the first time. Making the reservation was frustrating because the person I spoke with had no idea about the voucher that I bought for the discounted room and ended up charging us for the room, which meant that I paid twice. He charged me for the discounted rate but told me that he was only taking my credit card number to hold the room. Luckily this was all cleared up at the front desk at the resort and we were credited our money back. Again, not the expected experience of a high quality hotel chain but it happens. Another frustration of buying a discounted room is that they give you a room with a view of the parking lot in a noisy section of the hotel. That being said, the room was spacious and clean. It also had a balcony with chairs, which not very many rooms have. We were watching all of the people entering and exiting the hotel, but at least we got to drink our coffee outside. The property itself is beautiful. Basically you don't need to leave the resort during your stay, everything you need is there. We ate dinner at the resort and enjoyed a fantastic meal. We also enjoyed the game room and billiard tables. We were surprised that the outdoor pools were still open into the fall, but it has been unseasonably warm. Overall, I would definitely recommend this resort. However, if you want a view of the water you will probably have to pay full price.

Room Tip: Having a view of the water is much better, however this is not likely with a discount voucher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were just there this past weekend. We have frequented this resort many times. We had a beautiful corner room with a water view. This will probably be our last time. On Saturday, I noticed a small stain on the blanket from the closet. On Sunday when I was folding it, there was an even larger stain on the gold blanket. To make matters worse, I pulled up the top sheet covering the comforter and there was a stain on that as well. Two separate stains, one grossed out customer. When I reported this to the front desk manager, she offered to buy me breakfast for having to sleep in this. I declined.
When we went to breakfast, at the breakfast bar, there were dirty dishes. I could not believe that the prices that this resort charges in the off season that their attention to cleanliness was sub par. Basically, for a $1200 weekend, I would stay at the Ritz verses the Hyatt.
This resort needs to change menu's and make some changes. I can tell you, they have lost our business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay truly regrets to hear of these experiences. Please note that we are passing these comments on to our Director of Rooms and Director of Food and Beverage so that appropriate steps are taken. We apologize for providing a less than satisfactory experience for your family. Please know that our off-season Luxury on Sale package is now available until March 31, 2014 and offers rooms for up to 40 percent off. Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay hopes to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Four Diamond resort in the future.

Warm Regards, 

Cari Ruppert

Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Nice hotel/resort & I'm sure it would have been much better during on season. I've been wanting to stay here since they opened, but quite disappointed that the room rate was still so high off season! If they want repeat customers, they should offer much better deals as the usual water sports & other amenities were already closed down for the season (except on weekends, which we weren't there for). The food was just okay & yet still quite costly as well. Very large & comfy room, but as another reviewer wrote - we thought we were getting a balcony, but it wasn't even something a person could stand on.

Room Tip: Ask a lot of questions, as they do have a variety of room choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We truly apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay at our resort. This information has been passed on to our management team so that appropriate steps are taken. Please know that our off-season Luxury on Sale package is now available until March 31, 2014 with rooms up to 40 percent off. Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay hopes to welcome you back in the future. 
 


Warm Regards,

Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include three outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. In 2009, all 400 of our luxurious guest rooms, including 56 suites, were completely refurnished. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TIG Global, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.