We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belmar, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wonderfull 2-night stay in late August. Played golf on the gorgeous and challenging course..........17th hole over water and 18th hole along bay, leading up to hotel, provide a great finish that will make you want to play again!. Several restaurants; each very good. Room was excellent, with high ceiling and beautiful views overlooking Choptank River (more like a wide bay). Watersport activities available, though prices seemed a tad high. Did not dive into pools, however indoor pool looked like the place to be in cooler temps, though many were using even in August. Outdoor pool looked refreshing. Overall, the resort is outstanding value.

Room Tip: Try to get water view.............just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    351
    129
    55
    28
See reviews for
335
260
15
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just got home from a two night getaway and feel completely rejuvenated. I wanted to spend some quality time with my sister and nephews (ages 13 and 16) before the boys went back to school. We all had a great time and the weather was fantastic. The 16 year old loves to fish and fished both days. The rest of us enjoyed the pool. We played putt putt, shot a few games of pool, roasted marshmallows, and enjoyed dining at some of the local restaurants. Our stay was both relaxing and fun.

This is the third time I've been to the Chesapeake Hyatt. I booked this stay under a special rate I got through Travelzoo and what a fantastic rate it was. The hotel and surrounding grounds are beautiful. The service we received was great. The hotel and the room was very clean. We had a great view from our room. I do wish the beds were queen size instead of doubles. I'm also not a big fan of the squashy pillows.

The one negative I do have is it is VERY expensive to eat at the hotel. I just can't pay $9.50 for a hot dog. I think the Hyatt would be better off if they lowered their food prices. I have no doubt, more people would eat at their restaurants and eateries if they did (instead of going off the property to eat).

I can't wait for my two night getaway with my three college aged nieces next June. The boys have already asked if they can come. Sorry boys, it's the girls turn next

I rated the "Value" a 4 out of 5 because even with the Resort Fee, I still got a fantastic deal (would have given a 5 out of 5 if the food wasn't so expensive). If I had to pay the normal nightly rate and the resort fee, I would only give them a 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Overall, a very good experience. The best features include the large landscaped property that the facility sits on, the spa, cleanliness, and morning breakfast buffet. The negatives include the expensive cost of the rooms and food, but even that isn't far out of the norm for similar hotels. Although not necessarily a negative, it should be noted that this is a true family resort, and little children are everywhere, including the exercise room and adult pool.

It was a good experience, and I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Rooms are nice, slightly wider than usual hotel rooms so don't feel cramped. Beds seemed particularly small. Nice bathrooms and decor. Lots do if you have little kids, indoor pool where they play movies in the evening, outdoor activity pool where most little kids hang out (lots of inflatables which I personally found strange life size gators, whales, jet skis etc.), a big "quiet" pool and "adults only" designated seating area, put put (very small course), game room with ping pong tables, air hockey and some arcade games that require coins. There are a couple of pool tables in the lower level of lobby which attracted people of all ages (as young as 6 year olds to adults).

If you have tweens/teens or traveling with a single teen they may feel a little more bored unless they have friends with them. The resort and the grounds are beautiful. great workout room. small market which has starbucks and small ice cream selection. Food is expensive ($14 burger).

Staff generally friendly-the grounds, maintenance, cleaning people, everyone that we passed in the hallways made it a point to say hello and ask about our stay but they were most lacking in service department of this hotel.

We ate several times in the Michener's Library which was not busy and the service was very slow. The folks working that area were not very attentive, did not make you feel welcome, I even wonder if they spoke much English but I couldn't tell because they were not engaging AT ALL.

Not much to do in the small town but has several nice restaurants.

Because the hotel is upscale, rooms were nice, everything clean I would have given this hotel a 5. But as far as value and service I would rate it a 3.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a beautiful resort hotel in a beautiful location! Staff is so professional and accommodating. We recently stayed for a one-night get-away. I used the spa and had a facial. OMG- what a splurge, it's not cheap but so worth it! I love that the hotel caters to families with kids but does a great job at seperating from adults with no kids. They have lots of kid programs to keep them entertained. They even have a place near the pool for adults only...very relaxing. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the higher floors for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This entire property is breath taking. The service from the valet to the bartender to the onsite restaurants was topnotch! Whenever you passed staff in the hallways, they all greeted you. The food in the meeting rooms was very fresh. The only complaint was the temperature of the meeting room. It was too cold.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We generally stay on the boat at the marina here, so I have no comment on the rooms. But the marina is nice and well maintained. The pools are great--there is a kids pool and a "quiet pool".
The best part of the place is the spa. Really one of the best I have ever been to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include three outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. In 2009, all 400 of our luxurious guest rooms, including 56 suites, were completely refurnished. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TIG Global, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.