We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, but not truly resort-like” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but not truly resort-like”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I took my 4 year old son for a weekend getaway in mid-May. We had a great time, but I wasn't particularly impressed by the hotel, and didn't think it felt like a true resort. We got there on Friday afternoon, a beautiful day. We dumped our bags in the room (a nice king room but, again, not super-fancy or resort-like) and headed for the outdoor pool at 5 PM - the sun was blazing and it was lovely outside - and rain was predicted, and delivered, for the rest of the weekend. My son and I were literally just getting in the pool - mayber were up to our shins in the water when a lifeguard came by to tell us and 2 other people in the water that the pool was closed. I was incredulous and asked, "Is it me, or is that weird?" The lifeguard was nice and apologetic, but explained that typically the pools close at 4 PM (!) in the spring, and they had already extended it by 1 hour. (Apparently the outdoor pools close at 7 PM - ! - in summer). So we had to get out and go to the indoor pool.

Now, the indoor pool is really nice - and saved the trip. There is also a great indoor/outdoor jacuzzi. But being shut out of the outdoor pools at a crazy early time on the only nice day of the weekend definitely left a bad taste in my mouth.

So as not to go on and on, I'll summarize other pros/cons of the visit.

Pros:
*Awesome indoor pool
*Nice staff, but not Ritz-bend-over-backwards-nice
*Pretty good food at the restaurants, and pretty good wine by the glass
*Lovely setting - good for golfing or boating
*Game room with ping pong, shuffleboard, a few random games and air hockey - my son loved this and since it rained this helped us have fun

Cons:
*Very limited, even wacky outdoor pool hours
*Disconnect between features promoted on website and reality (example: availability of toys to check out - the website promotes this heavily but in reality the hotel is phasing out the program and they had very little available)
*The town of Cambridge itself - based on hotel and town websites I had expected cute and charming, but found a depressed and very small downtown. This is no Cape May, that's for sure.
*Loud events with throbbing music in common areas outside - not great for kids trying to sleep (had to use white noise app on my phone, and use earplugs myself)
*Unwillingness to give us a late checkout by 1 hour (I requested 12 PM and they would not accommodate)
*Virtually nonexistent wi-fi in the rooms - if you travel with just an iPad as I did, beware - apparently this is a known issue b/c of the small antenna of the iPad and weak hotel signal. If you are banking on using Internet in the room, bring a laptop and/or be prepared to plug in to ethernet
*Terrible TV reception (why not HD?) and no kids movie choices

All in all, I might go back, but it's doubtful. Would probably only return if I got a super-awesome rate (less than the $360/night I paid, including $30 resort fee), and if it were full summer so we could use the outdoor pools more.

Room Tip: Suggest a high floor room to try to avoid noise from events in courtyard below
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We truly appreciate guest feedback, as it helps our team refine and improve the Hyatt Regency Chesapeake experience. Please know we have passed these comments on to our Director of Recreation for review, as well as our management. We’re happy to hear that our game room, indoor pool and food were well received. Please note that the resort offers specially priced travel deals throughout the year. We hope to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay again … when the sun is shining!

Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    368
    363
    133
    58
    28
See reviews for
350
264
15
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Hyatt has a beautiful setting and expansive grounds. It is very family friendly, with numerous pools, onsite (and no addt'l charge) minigolf, ping pool and pool tables, game room, etc... It also has lots of banquet space, settings for picturesque events, restaurant options, and fairly recent construction so it's in decent shape.

We were there for a one night stay so didn't use everything. The spa looks to be fairly high end (very much priced at city levels, nothing rural about the cost) but I didn't use any services. The grounds are very well-maintained, and the location is incredibly peaceful.

The concierge staff were extremely helpful and responsive.

Among the less positive aspects (or at least - things to know before you go), the majority of the rooms have "step out" balconies. This means a balcony that is only about a foot deep, built with metal bars (not solid bottom). So no lounging on the balcony watching the water unless you spring for a suite. We were in a very quiet section of the hotel, but it also may have been the section where they locate guests w/ pets. We saw a few dogs during out stay, but we certainly smelled pets in the hall approaching our room. You knew right away it was a pet friendly hotel, and not in a good way.

The front desk staff were not as the same level of polish and helpfulness as the concierge staff. They were straightforward and polite, but not especially guest service oriented or helpful.

If I were looking for a great, easy family vacation where the kids had options without the adults having to schedule every minute this would be a great choice. It's probably terrific for big family weddings or events of that nature also.

If I were looking for a romantic waterside getaway I'd probably go somewhere else.

Nearby are wildlife preserves, great restaurants, farmers markets, etc...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We greatly appreciate guest feedback, and are pleased to hear the positive feedback about our grounds and amenities. While Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay is a pet-friendly resort, dogs are restricted to nine available pet-friendly rooms and additional outdoor kennels. All of these rooms receive a thorough cleaning after each check-out. We hope to welcome you back to our four-diamond resort very soon.

Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Service was excellent and friendly. The rooms spacious and clean. A few annoyances such as nonfunctional electrical outlets and stiff towels. Food was tasty and overall very good even if a business banquet. Lovely layout and décor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Given the name of this "resort" and the location and price, I expected a much more luxurious and impressive property. The room felt dated and dull. There was considerable noise from my neighbors and hallway. The water pressure and temperature was inconsistent. And the bed was merely average and less impressive than the price was suggest.

I was there for a conference in the meeting rooms and ballrooms and the food was okay considering the size of the group, but not spectacular. The overall feel of the building was that it has seen better days.

I found it very odd that there was no WiFi service in the conference room area and the AT&T mobile network service was extremely poor. I was basically forced to walk up to my room to maintain a phone call and I could not use any data access other than in my room. This was very disappointing.

In general, not a bad place, but I wasn't impressed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Overall we had a great time at the Hyatt Chesapeake. The Sago Spa was for sure the highlight - amazing facility and staff. The vichy treatments were sensational. Rooms were nice, but certainly not fancy. Food good. We left the kids behind for this weekend, but it would also be a nice place for a family with plenty of activities - all free: indoor/outdoor pool, mini golf, game room, pool tables, games, etc. Very clean, nicely maintained. No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We decided to spend a weekend getaway at this resort since it only takes us less than 2 hours driving from Fairfax, VA.
We booked online for the weekend of May 4th, 2013. The online service is pretty good. We can check in / out online too.
We arrived the hotel around 1:00 P.M. but our room was ready to check in even the official check in time is 4:00 PM as stated on their website. (on the way there, we received email to confirm that our room is ready with room number too. *sweet*)
This hotel / resort locates in a not crowdy location. Across it, there is Walmart, a small movie theater, and some several small restaurants and shops. Not too far from it, (toward west of route 50) more stores, banks, gas stations and foods.
The resort is very nice and clean. Staffs are friendly and polite. Our room was at the corner, therefore it has "corner balcony" L shape around the room, which is awesome (i.e. more space for sitting area) Room is spacious (king size bed) clean, nice layout. Room has a small refrigerator, flat screen TV (not too many channels though), free wifi. Bathroom is spacious, double sinks, marble, nice clean tub with shampoo, hair condition, "massage soap bar" and spa lotion.
The resort has 2 outdoor pools and 1 small indoor pool mainly for kids. It was cold and windy when we were there, we cannot enjoy the pool much. Resort locates at the shore of the bay (not beach) they have a small "beach" section next to the pool with chairs.
Gym is nice, not too big but enough for doing some fitness workouts. There is also a small play room with arcades. Kid love this.
Restaurants: pricy but nice view. Food is OK. We booked them with AAA so we got free breakfast. (breakfast is nice) We had sea food dinner at the Ocean Odyssey Restaurant, not too far from the resort. (crab cake is very good)
Parking: they offer valet parking with extra $5 which we used. The service is very good and kind.
We had good time here.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the corner - more view, more quiet, more space for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Chesapeake Hyatt for a long weekend. It was super relaxing, and that was the goal. The hotel is large, so one doesn't feel crowded at all. The room were very nice, we were upgraded to the club level. The rooms were large and clean. The staff is always there to get anything for the guests. We enjoyed the concierge room, and had appetizers there every night and breakfast there every morning. We really enjoyed our chats with Miss Ada, in the concierge room. She had great suggestions for the weekend we really appreciated! We booked a couples massage, which my boyfriend's first. They put him right at ease and we thoroughly enjoyed the spa! The grounds were beautiful, we took many walks and saw something new each time. The outdoor fire place was really nice, although we couldn't get near it due to the amount of children cooking s'mores, which was cute. My only suggestion would be to have an adult fire place so the big kids can enjoy it too! One suggestion for future travelers, try Leaky Pete's in Cambridge. It look like nothing from the outside, but we found it to be the best oyster bar and seafood.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include three outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. In 2009, all 400 of our luxurious guest rooms, including 56 suites, were completely refurnished. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Travelocity and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.