We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families, not quite as polished as collateral would imply” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great for families, not quite as polished as collateral would imply”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Hyatt has a beautiful setting and expansive grounds. It is very family friendly, with numerous pools, onsite (and no addt'l charge) minigolf, ping pool and pool tables, game room, etc... It also has lots of banquet space, settings for picturesque events, restaurant options, and fairly recent construction so it's in decent shape.

We were there for a one night stay so didn't use everything. The spa looks to be fairly high end (very much priced at city levels, nothing rural about the cost) but I didn't use any services. The grounds are very well-maintained, and the location is incredibly peaceful.

The concierge staff were extremely helpful and responsive.

Among the less positive aspects (or at least - things to know before you go), the majority of the rooms have "step out" balconies. This means a balcony that is only about a foot deep, built with metal bars (not solid bottom). So no lounging on the balcony watching the water unless you spring for a suite. We were in a very quiet section of the hotel, but it also may have been the section where they locate guests w/ pets. We saw a few dogs during out stay, but we certainly smelled pets in the hall approaching our room. You knew right away it was a pet friendly hotel, and not in a good way.

The front desk staff were not as the same level of polish and helpfulness as the concierge staff. They were straightforward and polite, but not especially guest service oriented or helpful.

If I were looking for a great, easy family vacation where the kids had options without the adults having to schedule every minute this would be a great choice. It's probably terrific for big family weddings or events of that nature also.

If I were looking for a romantic waterside getaway I'd probably go somewhere else.

Nearby are wildlife preserves, great restaurants, farmers markets, etc...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We greatly appreciate guest feedback, and are pleased to hear the positive feedback about our grounds and amenities. While Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay is a pet-friendly resort, dogs are restricted to nine available pet-friendly rooms and additional outdoor kennels. All of these rooms receive a thorough cleaning after each check-out. We hope to welcome you back to our four-diamond resort very soon.

Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    400
    147
    60
    31
See reviews for
393
300
17
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Service was excellent and friendly. The rooms spacious and clean. A few annoyances such as nonfunctional electrical outlets and stiff towels. Food was tasty and overall very good even if a business banquet. Lovely layout and décor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Given the name of this "resort" and the location and price, I expected a much more luxurious and impressive property. The room felt dated and dull. There was considerable noise from my neighbors and hallway. The water pressure and temperature was inconsistent. And the bed was merely average and less impressive than the price was suggest.

I was there for a conference in the meeting rooms and ballrooms and the food was okay considering the size of the group, but not spectacular. The overall feel of the building was that it has seen better days.

I found it very odd that there was no WiFi service in the conference room area and the AT&T mobile network service was extremely poor. I was basically forced to walk up to my room to maintain a phone call and I could not use any data access other than in my room. This was very disappointing.

In general, not a bad place, but I wasn't impressed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Overall we had a great time at the Hyatt Chesapeake. The Sago Spa was for sure the highlight - amazing facility and staff. The vichy treatments were sensational. Rooms were nice, but certainly not fancy. Food good. We left the kids behind for this weekend, but it would also be a nice place for a family with plenty of activities - all free: indoor/outdoor pool, mini golf, game room, pool tables, games, etc. Very clean, nicely maintained. No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We decided to spend a weekend getaway at this resort since it only takes us less than 2 hours driving from Fairfax, VA.
We booked online for the weekend of May 4th, 2013. The online service is pretty good. We can check in / out online too.
We arrived the hotel around 1:00 P.M. but our room was ready to check in even the official check in time is 4:00 PM as stated on their website. (on the way there, we received email to confirm that our room is ready with room number too. *sweet*)
This hotel / resort locates in a not crowdy location. Across it, there is Walmart, a small movie theater, and some several small restaurants and shops. Not too far from it, (toward west of route 50) more stores, banks, gas stations and foods.
The resort is very nice and clean. Staffs are friendly and polite. Our room was at the corner, therefore it has "corner balcony" L shape around the room, which is awesome (i.e. more space for sitting area) Room is spacious (king size bed) clean, nice layout. Room has a small refrigerator, flat screen TV (not too many channels though), free wifi. Bathroom is spacious, double sinks, marble, nice clean tub with shampoo, hair condition, "massage soap bar" and spa lotion.
The resort has 2 outdoor pools and 1 small indoor pool mainly for kids. It was cold and windy when we were there, we cannot enjoy the pool much. Resort locates at the shore of the bay (not beach) they have a small "beach" section next to the pool with chairs.
Gym is nice, not too big but enough for doing some fitness workouts. There is also a small play room with arcades. Kid love this.
Restaurants: pricy but nice view. Food is OK. We booked them with AAA so we got free breakfast. (breakfast is nice) We had sea food dinner at the Ocean Odyssey Restaurant, not too far from the resort. (crab cake is very good)
Parking: they offer valet parking with extra $5 which we used. The service is very good and kind.
We had good time here.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the corner - more view, more quiet, more space for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Chesapeake Hyatt for a long weekend. It was super relaxing, and that was the goal. The hotel is large, so one doesn't feel crowded at all. The room were very nice, we were upgraded to the club level. The rooms were large and clean. The staff is always there to get anything for the guests. We enjoyed the concierge room, and had appetizers there every night and breakfast there every morning. We really enjoyed our chats with Miss Ada, in the concierge room. She had great suggestions for the weekend we really appreciated! We booked a couples massage, which my boyfriend's first. They put him right at ease and we thoroughly enjoyed the spa! The grounds were beautiful, we took many walks and saw something new each time. The outdoor fire place was really nice, although we couldn't get near it due to the amount of children cooking s'mores, which was cute. My only suggestion would be to have an adult fire place so the big kids can enjoy it too! One suggestion for future travelers, try Leaky Pete's in Cambridge. It look like nothing from the outside, but we found it to be the best oyster bar and seafood.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited this resort as a family weekend getaway. This resort is absolutely beautiful. The staff were very helpful and professional. We had rooms with waterviews. It was so relaxing. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. The resort had several pools, and whirlpools and a beach. They have activities for all ages. In addition, they have several restaurants and a nice store.

Room Tip: Get a hotel room with the water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include two outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. The property offers 400 luxurious guest rooms. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.