We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort near Washington D.C. area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice resort near Washington D.C. area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We decided to spend a weekend getaway at this resort since it only takes us less than 2 hours driving from Fairfax, VA.
We booked online for the weekend of May 4th, 2013. The online service is pretty good. We can check in / out online too.
We arrived the hotel around 1:00 P.M. but our room was ready to check in even the official check in time is 4:00 PM as stated on their website. (on the way there, we received email to confirm that our room is ready with room number too. *sweet*)
This hotel / resort locates in a not crowdy location. Across it, there is Walmart, a small movie theater, and some several small restaurants and shops. Not too far from it, (toward west of route 50) more stores, banks, gas stations and foods.
The resort is very nice and clean. Staffs are friendly and polite. Our room was at the corner, therefore it has "corner balcony" L shape around the room, which is awesome (i.e. more space for sitting area) Room is spacious (king size bed) clean, nice layout. Room has a small refrigerator, flat screen TV (not too many channels though), free wifi. Bathroom is spacious, double sinks, marble, nice clean tub with shampoo, hair condition, "massage soap bar" and spa lotion.
The resort has 2 outdoor pools and 1 small indoor pool mainly for kids. It was cold and windy when we were there, we cannot enjoy the pool much. Resort locates at the shore of the bay (not beach) they have a small "beach" section next to the pool with chairs.
Gym is nice, not too big but enough for doing some fitness workouts. There is also a small play room with arcades. Kid love this.
Restaurants: pricy but nice view. Food is OK. We booked them with AAA so we got free breakfast. (breakfast is nice) We had sea food dinner at the Ocean Odyssey Restaurant, not too far from the resort. (crab cake is very good)
Parking: they offer valet parking with extra $5 which we used. The service is very good and kind.
We had good time here.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the corner - more view, more quiet, more space for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    351
    129
    55
    28
See reviews for
336
260
15
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Chesapeake Hyatt for a long weekend. It was super relaxing, and that was the goal. The hotel is large, so one doesn't feel crowded at all. The room were very nice, we were upgraded to the club level. The rooms were large and clean. The staff is always there to get anything for the guests. We enjoyed the concierge room, and had appetizers there every night and breakfast there every morning. We really enjoyed our chats with Miss Ada, in the concierge room. She had great suggestions for the weekend we really appreciated! We booked a couples massage, which my boyfriend's first. They put him right at ease and we thoroughly enjoyed the spa! The grounds were beautiful, we took many walks and saw something new each time. The outdoor fire place was really nice, although we couldn't get near it due to the amount of children cooking s'mores, which was cute. My only suggestion would be to have an adult fire place so the big kids can enjoy it too! One suggestion for future travelers, try Leaky Pete's in Cambridge. It look like nothing from the outside, but we found it to be the best oyster bar and seafood.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited this resort as a family weekend getaway. This resort is absolutely beautiful. The staff were very helpful and professional. We had rooms with waterviews. It was so relaxing. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. The resort had several pools, and whirlpools and a beach. They have activities for all ages. In addition, they have several restaurants and a nice store.

Room Tip: Get a hotel room with the water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriottsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Spent two nights here for a business meeting. All I can say is that the Hyatt staff knows how to take care of its customers! Very attentive from the moment you drive in, check in, eat and conduct your meetings.

The facility is massive with its golf course, water front docks and beach areas, and the swimming pools that complete the resort. The meeting rooms are comfortable with a strong working wifi signal. No technology issues here. The event planners were always available and ready to help you out.

The room is large with high ceiling height. The bed was comfortable and plush. The bathroom was adequately sized, but could use a re-grout in the tub/shower. No issues with noise or any disturbances. My room was two doors away from Michener's and slept quietly through the night.

If you want a successful business meeting Hyatt Cambridge is the place to go!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Freedom, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

For those who have never visited Dorchester County's star hotel nor its history-rich surroundings, please try it! The hotel had a most accommodating staff from the front door to the wait staff to the housekeepers and on.... We (our ladies group) spent 4 days, 3 nights there in April and could not have enjoyed ourselves more. The food in all venues was delicious and presented so-o professionally, we were supremely impressed. The spa, the grounds, the pool, were all used by one or another of us! Must add we had an awesome trip with the Blackwater Paddle & Pedal Company to top off everything. Learned about so many aspects of Dorchester and it environs that we found enthralling. Susan Meredith narrated out tour and she is one of the most enterprising, entertaining entrepreneurs I have ever met/heard. Try this for something new and different on your travel agenda. You will NOT be disappointed. See separate review of "Jimmie & Sooks" Restaurant!

Room Tip: Water View Rooms altho' more $'s (not too much) are worth it. But "Resort" View a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I took my husband to this resort for his birthday, April 28 - we stayed 2 nights and had an incredible time, from the moment we were greeted to getting our room, everything was perfect - we were upgraded to the Club Floor and I have to say it is worth every penny - the amenities are wonderful and the staff compliments the Hyatt brand perfectly! The hotel has signs on the elevators and on every floor that promote quiet after 9:00 pm which is just wonderful especially since this was a resort and even though this was only the end of April, there were kids celebrating birthdays and other events and all over the hotel grounds so a reminder after 9:00 pm was wonderful to see.

We generally don't use the room safe when we travel domestically, we usually have no need however this time we did, we had some gift/debit cards that we didn't want to carry with us so we put them into the safe - we opened and closed the safe multiple times during those two days but when we left the hotel safe was the furthest thing from our mind even when we came home however the next morning we realized we forgot to check the room safe - my husband called and the entire contents of the safe had been given to security and we expect to have a fedex package tomorrow - we had an amazing weekend and can't wait to go back -

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

So-we've stayed at this property on several other occasions-& thought we would try celebrating New Year's Eve at the property, along with our children. To begin with, there were issues with booking our room. While on the phone with Hyatt, booking the last room of the type that we had requested, some computer glitch supposedly allowed someone else to book the room as our rep was taking our card info. Because we booked using our Hyatt Gold Passport membership, we were told by Hyatt to request a complimentary upgrade to a waterfront room on the 6th floor, as well as club access We have stayed on the club level, & used the club on other occasions, & must say that we were less than impressed by what they had to offer-was definitely not worth paying the extra amount for club access. Their various hours for various foods & restriction on children may have good intentions, however, if I am paying for club access, it is ridiculous to be restricted from the club if my children are with me during certain hours. Are we to hire a babysitter so that we can enter the club room?
Upon check in, the girl at the front desk saw that there had been an issue with our reservation, yet initially refused to get help to rectify the situation. It was at my insistence that the front desk manager was called over to fix the issue. I was then told that they were at maximum capacity for club access, but that the next day was not-& to call down in the AM to make sure that we were given club access, & to make arrangements to have our room key adjusted. When we called down the next day, we were once again told that the club room was at maximum capacity. The level of incompetence at the front desk was beyond aggravating. We were given the excuse that it was a very busy week for any issue that came up. You're a supposed resort, your staff should be equipped to handle any issues that should present themselves during busy times. I contacted the general manager, who was on the property at the time, & he was able to rectify the issue, which was very much appreciated-& this should be noted.
We did not like the insistence of the staff to make dinner reservations for NYE. We said no at least FIFTEEN times to various people-including calls made to our room as well as our cell phones. We had arrived 1/2 hour early, & our room was not ready-so we were directed to the lounge. The lounge was filled with people, many with luggage, which would make it seem that many rooms were not ready. Service took forever.
During the day on Year's Eve, the pool area was so completely crowded, that even our children wanted no parts of it. The people who were attending to the poolside snack bar were beyond rude.
Many families were waiting for tables at which to eat their food, but class acts such as the mother in jogging gear with her feet (sneakers on) on the table, hat over her eyes, & looking as if she was sleeping, took up tables meant for about 6. While the behavior of children is not the management's issue, it's worth noting that while waiting in line to be served by the pictures of misery behind the snack stand, we, as well as our children, were knocked in to & pushed through several times by other children & adults-& not one had the manners to say excuse me or sorry.
Our plan was to quietly make our way to the hotel-planned New Year's Eve party after having a quick bite in the club room. While we had been in the room earlier, some rather pushy other guests were making it a point to tell the club room staff how important they thought they (the guests) & that they would be needing the largest table for themselves & some friends later that night before heading to the party. We thought that this was a signal to make sure that we got to the club room early (especially after the kind staff gave us a heads up about how crowded Christmas Eve had gotten).
When we arrived in the club room a few hours later, there were only 2 other families, who left for their dinner reservations not long after we had arrived. The staff is always wonderful, &, in addition, We had the club room to ourselves for almost 3 hours, before heading to the party.
The idea of the party was great. There was a room of large bounce houses next to the ball room, where there were a few bars set up, DJ, decorated tables (not enough seats for as many guests as who had paid to be there), several dessert tables & 1-2 ice cream stations. Oddly enough, initially-anyone with a drink was not permitted to enter the hallway that contained the entrances to the party areas-this was strictly enforced for about an hour-then that rule seemed to have disappeared. Just as a huge wave of people entered the party (most of whom were those that had just finished with dinner elsewhere on the property), the ice cream & desserts were quickly packed up & put away. That was kind of annoying because my kids wanted ice cream, & we told them to wait a few minutes-the next thing we knew-all of the desserts were on their way out. I saw another child ask for ice cream, one of the staffers replies "sorry-we're closing it up for the night". Nice. The rest of the night was a good time.
All of the talk about making reservations made us think that perhaps we should double check with the front desk to see if we needed reservations for breakfast. Sure enough, we were told "absolutely, yes". I was transferred to the restaurant, where I gave reservation information to the person who answered the transfer-was even asked about food allergies. When we arrived at breakfast, we were told that they did not accept reservations for breakfast. Uh... Huh...who had we given all of that info to-who had asked us about food allergies, & if we needed a booster seat? Upon checking again-the maitre d saw the info that someone had written down for our "reservation" then said "sorry-she didn't know that we don't take reservations". Indeed.
The breakfast buffet has become sad (fruit was mushy, items meant to be warm were cold) & even the lady at the omelette station was crabby, becoming agitated when someone would ask for more than the paltry amount of ingredients that she sprinkled in to the omelettes.
We were all sort of...happy to be leaving-though we had all thoroughly enjoyed the peace & quiet that we had before going to the party. The location of the hotel is lovely. The new spa is a much needed improvement. The coffee/gift shop really needs some new gift items, a better selection of tshirts & sweatshirts, as well as other tasteful souvenirs. Rooms appear to be clean.
For the most part (I said most, NOT all), this was a crazed, stressful, manic, sometimes miserable experience. I gather that it was because "it's a really busy week". I hope for their sake, the "resort" (using that term very lightly) listens to the suggestions of its guests, or those busy weeks will be fewer & farther between.
At this point, I much prefer to be a marina guest.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include three outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. In 2009, all 400 of our luxurious guest rooms, including 56 suites, were completely refurnished. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TIG Global, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.