We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Spring Break Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed 3 nights over spring break 2013. Not crowded at all. It’s a big, large resort with multiple building and lots of swim area. The conference area is impressive. The resort is very kid friendly. There are several amenities that are free (parking, in-room Wi-Fi) and they have a very courteous and helpful staff.

It was cold but, they have a large heated pool with a slide and the outdoor hot tub was open. We were able to find chairs around the indoor pool all day. The outdoor infinity pool was closed.
Our 6th floor was very large and comfortable. We could not hear noise from the hall. The fold out bed can sleep 2 kids. A roll-out bed ran $15. Plenty of hot water. It was a great room!

Resort food was pricy but, good. Breakfast for 4 ran $80. The quality was better than most resorts we’ve stayed in. They seek out the best local food and beer (crab cakes and 16 Mile). If you want to eat cheap, just drive off of the resort. There are many fast food restaurants close by.

Overall, the entire family loved the stay and enjoyed having the place to ourselves. We’d like to return for a September weekend.

Room Tip: Water front rooms offer impressive views from the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    368
    134
    58
    30
See reviews for
359
268
16
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crofton, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for an Easter getaway. It's a beautiful resort on the water with updated, clean rooms. Micheners is a perfect spot for a drink. Lots of positives, but it is pricey and it was very crowded and felt it. Noise in the hallway, no remote in our room, no response from the front desk, no hot water due to some sort of water main issue. Makes me wonder if it was worth the price....

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay greatly appreciates the positive feedback regarding our amenities and room arrangements. We regret any dissatisfaction that occurred during your stay. Please know that we will share this feedback with our management team, so that the appropriate steps are taken. The resort offers a variety of seasonal packages year-round that offer great value. We encourage guests to ask about these special packages upon making reservations. We hope to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay on a future occasion.

Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed one night here on business. The room was quite comfortable, with a beautiful view of the water. New construction, with contemporary neutral decor. I didn't use any of the resort facilities, so can't comment on the pool, etc. Per other reviews, there were tons of kids around -- might have been spring break timing. My hallway had a clear "quiet zone" sign, and I didn't hear any noise at all during the night, so big thumbs up for sleep quality. I will stay here again for business. The fresh fruit plate from room service for breakfast was huge and varied -- kudos.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This is our third time at the Hyatt Chesapeake during spring break. We really like the place. There are so many activities for the kids...from swimming, to crafts, to cookie decorating, scavenger hunts, playing a round of mini golf, to the game room and s'mores by the Grand Fireplace and topping off the night with family friendly dive-in movies at the indoor pool, your kids will not be bored. The rooms are nice, housekeeping great. Staff overall is really friendly. Like others have said, the food on site is just OK, we usually dine offsite for dinner. I am sure we will return, again. My kids adore this place and it has become our "go-to" family vacation place. It's not cheap, but check out the packages in the Hyatt website...we got a deal whereby our 3rd night was free. I would not, however, recommend it during school holidays/breaks for a couple or an adult getaway....the place is definitely more family oriented during those times of the year. Thanks again, Hyatt, for the memories.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Incredibly clean, very well decorated, spacious, well manicured, not too crowded, incredibly nice and outgoing hotel staff. The heated pools, smores at teh outdoor fireplace, the game room, Michener's Library, the tennis and basketball courts, cookie decorating, the bounce room.... great and safe for families with children. Lots of great indoor places to lounge with friends... fireplaces, pool tables, reading nooks, rocking chairs...

Unfortunately we quickly outgrew the hotel restaurants' menu selection and excessive cost. The Water's Edge service was subpar and the food took forever to get. Our children finished their meals before we got our appetizers. Michener's staff was inattentive and overworked. The rule that children can't be seen at Michener's after 7 pm was disappointing for a hotel that markets itself as family friendly and is so heavily trampled by children. 8 pm would be nicer, since Michener's is the best place to eat with kids. The poolside restaurant was overpriced as expected.

Stock your room with basic groceries for breakfast and lunch from local grocery stores.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We truly appreciate the feedback. We’re very happy to hear that our resort’s amenities were enjoyable. We truly regret any dissatisfaction that occurred during your dining experience at our resort. Please know your feedback will be shared with our director of food & beverage, so that necessary improvements are made. We aim to provide a four-diamond experience to each guest and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay on a future occasion.

Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Hyatt Cambridge but our first time during the peak spring break season so definitely more children than we were used to but understandable as this resort really does have something for everyone. Great pool, great game room, nice spa, disappointing food. The game room is a huge draw for children, teens and adults...my only suggestion here would be offering hand sanitizer in this area, given the sheer volume of people in and out using the games.

We had lunch at the Eagle's Nest which is their detached restaurant near the golf shop. Unfortunately this was a very disappointing meal for all. My daughter and I shared a cheeseburger that was so incredibly salty we actually had to stop eating it. My other daughter had a pizza that was overly cheesy and looked a little undercooked. Our second meal was at the Michener's Library inside the resort. I was just surprised that a hotel of this nature would serve nachos with velveeta cheese....seems like something I would be served at the movies. Breakfast at the Water's Edge was delicious...no complaints on the food, however, our waiter on day 2 was inattentive and we did have to hunt him down for our check.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We greatly appreciate guest loyalty to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay and appreciate this feedback. We regret the dissatisfaction that occurred during your dining experiences. Please know your feedback will be shared with our director of food & beverage, so that the necessary steps are taken. Please know we hope to welcome you and your family back to our resort very soon.

Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

What a great gem hidden in the middle of nowhere. Splurge a little and come and relax. Kids have a great time while parents can chill and enjoy their well deserved time off. Yes there can be tons of kids running around. Come at an off time or during the week for less busy times. The spa is also great!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include three outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. In 2009, all 400 of our luxurious guest rooms, including 56 suites, were completely refurnished. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.