We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with or without kids!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great place with or without kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was impressed driving up to the resort in Cambridge, MD... looked like we were going to a Disney resort since it was massive. Of course, this is a good and bad thing... great that there were so many amenities, but sometimes it's nice to go to a smaller, more intimate hotel. Parking was really far from the actual hotel, but we were able to drive up to the front to get our stuff up and use a rolling garment rack.

We got the AAA rate with breakfast for two in Feb for less than $150... not too bad. But once the hotel fees and taxes were included, the rate went up to almost $200.

The hotel had a mix of kids and adults... but since we were on a girls' weekend, I would have preferred more adults and less kids! There was an indoor pool, a bunch of conference rooms, a game room, a gym, a spa and a few restaurants along with a gorgeous view. My friends got smores in the evening, and we sat near the bar in the lobby. The only problem was we wanted to play mah jongg in the lobby, and there was really no place to play. I would think a hotel this large has more public areas.

In the morning, I went to the gym which was surprisingly crowded for 7am on a Sunday morning (again, one of the drawbacks of a hotel this large). The hotel didn't have that many pieces of equipment... someone was waiting when I got off the treadmill... and there was one TV in the corner... hard to see when you're on a treadmill. However, there were cold facecloths, which was a nice touch.

We attempted to go to breakfast at 9:30, but there was a 45 minute wait despite the dining room only being half full. Yikes! We were able to get the breakfast buffet to go. My only other complaint were the double beds which were REALLY small when you're sleeping with a friend.

All in all, a good trip, and despite the drawbacks, I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We truly appreciate the feedback and are so glad to hear about the positive experiences at the resort. We pride ourselves on being a family friendly resort, but recognize that it can be more chaotic and sometimes popular areas can crowd on peak days. Our team has recently implemented services and special hours for ‘adult-only’ time and space. And, we are continuing to strategically offer a variety of dining options to prevent wait times. We hope to welcome you back soon to our four-diamond resort.
Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    353
    130
    55
    28
See reviews for
338
260
15
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A family birthday celebration took us to the Hyatt for a March weekend. We were five adults and five children ages 5-12. Everyone had a wonderful time. This is a beautiful place on the Chesapeake Bay near Cambridge, Maryland, two short hours from the Washington, DC area, ideal for a winter family vacation with the most beautiful indoor pool imaginable, a spacious game room, miniature golf, a fireplace to make s'mores in the evening. For adults, a gorgeous spa. In season, there are many pools, golf courses and tennis courts. The food is excellent and the staff lovely. We are eager to return in the summer.

Room Tip: Request a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My family really enjoys going here. Great place to take kids. Beautiful location and amazing indoor pool. On some weekends, kids get to watch a movie while they are in the swimming pool. Lots of fun things to do and food at the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent two days at this hotel last weekend. We've stayed here several times over the past 10 years, once even in the marina. Great facility, well kept, large rooms. Excellent winter getaway because of the Winter Garden: large indoor pool, indoor/outdoor jaccuzzi, game room with ping pong, air hockey, etc. Also has a great golf course & tennins courts if the weather cooperates. Claim to be "pet friendly" but charge $50/night. Even at $50/stay, that's hight, but per night a ripoff. Food is overpriced haute cuisine.

Room Tip: Better in the summer when the outdoor pools are open
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We truly appreciate the feedback and value the loyalty and continued support for Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay over the years. Please know the pet friendly fee covers the deep-cleaning process each room receives after each pet-visit. We hope to provide a four-diamond experience in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Can be wonderful if you are a family with kids. Not so great for a weekend away from kids. Everything was overtaken by kids. The hotel, pool everything. Kids age 5-15. Food at Blue Point not all that good. $30 and up. Fish wasn't fresh at all. The summer is better as a marina patron.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We greatly appreciate guest feedback, and we regret any dissatisfaction that occurred during a stay at our resort. Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay prides itself on being a family friendly resort, but we recognize that it can be more chaotic during holidays and peak weekends. Our team has recently implemented services and special hours for ‘adult-only’ time and space and we’d welcome the opportunity to showcase our resort from this perspective in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Wonderful layout fun golf course breathtaking views of the bay and bridge. Joggin path along the bay tennis courts and boating. Sand vollyball court was great for a big family we all had somthing we could enjoy

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent Memorial Day 2012 at the Hyatt Cambridge with the entire family (9 of us).

First I must say that this place is gorgeous. Really the grounds are breathtaking and impeccably maintained. The lobby is spotless and cavernous with a priceless view of the bay. The check-in was staffed with 5 attendants to make check in on a holiday weekend as easy as could be expected.

We got a parlor suite $$$$ but well worth it for our big family. It gave us plenty of room to relax and play in the evenings while the kids slept soundly in the adjoining bedrooms.

The pools were beautiful and the indoor year round pool was very warm.

Beach activities were abundant. We rented kayaks and paddles into the secluded wildlife refuges surrounding the property to bird watch and enjoy nature.

Meals were ok. The truth is that we had two dinners in the city of Cambridge which were so much better and less expensive than the hotel that there is no reason to eat in the hotel. Breakfast was a bit better than good but not excellent.

The only problem we had was that we were overcharged for our stay which took about 2 weeks to figure out with Hyatt support. Even so we have already booked the same rooms for Memorial Day 2013 and expect to return to this property for years to come.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesaBayManagement, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We truly appreciate the feedback and are so glad to hear about the positive experiences at our resort! We apologize for the difficulty with our billing department and are glad that everything was resolved. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on Memorial Day Weekend!

Warm Regards,
Cari Ruppert
Associate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 100 Heron Boulevard at Route 50, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the pampering luxury and picturesque landscape of Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina. Located on the beautiful Choptank River, Hyatt Chesapeake is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort that encompasses more than 342 acres. Our resort offers a wide range of fun recreational activities, including an 18-hole championship golf course, which received a 4 1/2 star rating (out of 5) from Golf Digest. Our acclaimed Sago Spa & Salon boasts 14 treatment rooms providing a complete range of signature Eastern Shore spa treatments. The River Marsh Marina has 150 full service slips that dock upto 150 ft yachts. Other amenities include three outdoor pools, a glass-enclosed Wintergarden pool, a state-of-the-art fitness center, private beach with boat/ kayak/Jet Ski rentals, wildlife preserve, four lighted tennis courts, and more.Regional seafood specialties and waterfront views are just two of the attractions at Hyatt Chesapeake's six restaurants and lounges. In 2009, all 400 of our luxurious guest rooms, including 56 suites, were completely refurnished. In addition to step-out balconies with magnificent views, each room has 37" flat screen TVs and inviting leather armchairs with ottomans. Come enjoy this luxury waterfront destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TIG Global, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa And Marina
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Cambridge
Hyatt Regency Cambridge
Hyatt Cambridge
Hyatt Chesapeake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.