We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mill Street Inn
114 Mill Street, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Bethesda,MD
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We enjoyed the atmosphere of this B&B a lot. The innkeepers Jenny and Skip are friendly, engaging, and informative. They joined us for breakfast, and the night before, offered us a glass of wine in their covered porch while they told us a bit about their town. I liked that Jenny pays attention to the small details in our room--a small bunch of fresh flowers in the bathroom, single serve red and white bottles, maps and current list of activities in and around town, cookies in the foyer, and even notecards with a pencil drawing of the inn's facade on it. The place was immaculate and though they have cats, they were never allowed in the public areas. The house is well furnished and tastefully decorated. Unfortunately, the day we were there, most of the shops downtown were closed because of the July 4th holiday, and there was not much to see. But their fireworks display was superb for a small town like Cambridge, thanks to an endowment from the DuPont family, as noted to us by Skip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I made a reservation for our 5th Wedding Anniversary on July 5. Jennie asked about food allergies and I informed her I was lactose and gluten intolerant. She went out of her way to make breakfast very special, tailoring the menu to my needs. We thoroughly enjoyed spending time with Skip and Jennie, and meeting their son and his wife. Lovely experience. We stayed in the yellow room, so charming!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This has to be the best place to stay in Cambridge. The rooms are immaculate, the food is great, and the hosts treat you like family. The attention to detail is impacable. They even drove me to an auto repair shop when my car got a flat tire.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here the evening of June 17 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The Inn fully deserves its #1 Trip Advisor ranking. Everything about it is first rate. The room was beautiful and full of thoughtful amenities. The gift of chocolates for our anniversary was both unexpected and much appreciated. The entire rest of the house is superb, beautifully restored and furnished. And the breakfast was excellent. Best, of course, were the wonderful hosts, Skip and Jennie. Attentive, engaging, helpful, and just plain fun. In short, we loved everything about our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Inn has been lovingly restored to her former glory. Furnishings are sumptuous. Absolutely fabulous kitchen with a view of their lovely private back yard. Food is 'to die for!' The innkeepers are a total delight. You couldn't wish for a more hospitable pair.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at this bed and breakfast to cheer on my daughter doing her Iron Man Triathlon. Our hosts Jennie and Skip could not have been more gracious and accommodating. My husband has trouble walking long distances and Skip volunteered to chauffeur us back and forth to the race! He knew we would be unable to park within a mile and didn't want my husband's day to be ruined by the pain and discomfort of a long walk. They are such a kind and hospitable couple and we hated to have our visit come to an end. We stayed in the yellow room, which was roomy and cozy and the whole inn was well furnished and maintained. There were always cookies to snack on and the breakfast was amazing. I would truly give this inn 10 stars if I could! Thank you Jennie and Skip for a fabulous weekend.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be pampered go someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennie R, Owner at Mill Street Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We think you should get ten stars for making a LONG trip to support your triathete daughter. The pleasure was ours in hosting such a nice couple. Thanks for staying with us.
Jennie and Skip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We've stayed at MSI twice--first for our anniversary and then when we were closing on our house in Cambridge. The hosts of Mill Street Inn should get an award from the Chamber of Commerce--they are such good salespeople for Cambridge! We have now moved here, thanks to the wonderful introduction to Cambridge from the hosts.. They continue to give us connections. Not only is MSI a terrific inn, the hosts are amazing ambassadors for the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennie R, Owner at Mill Street Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thanks! A win/win. We got great new around the corner neighbors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Address: 114 Mill Street, Cambridge, MD 21613
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mill Street Inn to your Saves list