We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already planning our next visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodgecliffe on the Choptank B&B

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodgecliffe on the Choptank B&B
Save
You added Lodgecliffe on the Choptank B&B to your Saves list
103 Choptank Terrace, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hershey, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Already planning our next visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

There is not enough room here to articulate the surreal, incredible time we had. To start, the Inn is completely charming, cozy, and incredibly comfortable. It was beautifully adorned with Holiday decorations and exuded comfort and serenity from the second we arrived. The Inn could not have been more inviting. Our room was clean, the room decor was soothing (we stayed in the Zen room), the bed was amazingly comfortable (as were the sheets), and we often debated whether we actually wanted to leave the room at all! The view from our room was phenomenal! We had a door that opened directly to the back porch, and provided incredible views of the large river.

The cuisine was terrific! As numerous other reviewers pointed out, the coffee was sensational, and the breakfasts were absolutely delectable! We enjoyed various homemade meals, ranging from their "Bucket of Love" (true to its name- a baked concoction of corn muffins, onions, garlic, and organic spinach from their garden...topped with a baked egg and smoked cheddar cheese (I may be missing an ingredient or two)...to the most delicious French toast I've ever enjoyed (Pumpkin bread topped with fresh whipped cream). All of the yogurt, whipped toppings, and other dairy were from local farms. While my boyfriend is an omnivore, I am a vegetarian. The Innkeepers accommodated us both...perfectly. This is a nice segue to what I have saved for last.

As I enjoy saving the best for last, now to address the Innkeepers. Autumn and Kathryn were absolutely perfect. We had never stayed in a B and B before, and therefore didn't know what to expect. Of course we had an idea of what to expect, but I can sincerely say that Autumn and Kathryn went above and beyond to ensure that we enjoyed our stay...and exceeded what we ever could have thought possible. They greeted us as though we are family and were friendly and delightful throughout our entire stay! As many other reviewers mentioned, they were extremely respectful of our privacy, while ensuring we had everything we needed and wanted. They often conversed with us and answered numerous questions about the Inn and the Town, and were very honest and knowledgeable.

I honestly can't imagine staying anywhere else for this experience. We are already planning to go back at least once...in 2014. I would like to briefly address the very few negative reviews the Lodgecliffe has gotten here and elsewhere. For the life of me, I cannot understand why or how anyone would nitpick in such a way. I would advise perfectionists seeking modern and "sleek line" hotel accommodations, to look elsewhere. Some people simply are not created to be able to enjoy true beauty and comfort. As for those who have complained about the building's shape...(I am attempting to refrain from being too sarcastic here), perhaps they could research where they are staying to begin with. This building is OLD. Isn't that the point of staying at a B and B? Why on Earth would you book a room at a charming, old Inn, and expect modern and new accommodations??

In conclusion, we could not recommend the Lodgecliffe more highly. We immediately fell in love with it, the Innkeepers, and our experience. Again...special thanks to the lovely Autumn and Kathryn. We can't wait to see you again soon!!

-Angela and Chris

Green Features: THE most green accommodations I have ever had! They use organic food from their garden and local farms, and encourage recycling. Clearly, "green" is a lifestyle for them!
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Love it here! Don't need to do anything else but sit here!! This is the most majestic setting! Autumn and Katharine are amazing hosts! Love their breakfasts!! Great weekend while the guys are riding the Seagull Century!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The location is fabulous and our room was extremely comfortable. Most memorable for us was the breakfast. Our hosts used fresh local produce, which they had grown themselves. The meal was delicious and creative and our hosts could not have been more charming

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Thanks again to the Trip TripAdvisor's past reviews, we found this very nice establishment on the Choptank River in Cambridge. Our room (Captains Cabin) was large and included a desk, 2 cushy chairs - much more comfortable than any hotel room. The room and the rest of the lodge was very clean and comfortable. After a long drive we especially liked being able to grab a complimentary wine (water and soda was also available) and sit in the Adirondack chairs and relax while overlooking the river - very peaceful. Breakfast was excellent - served in the sun room overlooking the river. Had great conversations with the other guests. Autumn and Kathryn were excellent hosts without being over bearing or intrusive. We will be back!

Room Tip: A/C unit noise in Captains Cabin was a little loud due to the close proximity to the bed.
See more room tips
Green Features: Most of the breakfast ingredients was from local sources and farms.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Lodgecliffe is a spacious old home in a very tranquil location on the river. The innkeepers are gracious hostesses. In addition to the view, one of the standout features at Lodgecliffe is the extraordinarily luxurious-feeling bedding made of microfiber. The building needs a little work, and perhaps that is going to happen, but there was a big hole in the corner of the dining room ceiling over where the tea/coffee service and afternoon snacks are set out. I don't think that kept anyone (including myself) from partaking, but still... it needs repair.

Room Tip: For friends traveling together, Sarah's Loft on the second floor was perfect in terms of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lodgecliffe for a 3 day romantic getaway and it was everything we hoped it to be!

We stayed in "Sarah's Loft" for $150 a night - being the least expensive of the rooms we were a little wary, but it was so private and huge for the price! The bathroom was also large and very clean. The view from our room was truly gorgeous.

The hosts Autumn and Kathryn were very welcoming and flexible. We could only do a late check in - 9 p.m. and they left a key for us outside along with a note. We welcomed ourselves to a glass of wine from the cooler on the porch and enjoyed it while sitting in the adirondacks overlooking the river.

The next morning we enjoyed the hearty breakfast - complete with the "soul reviving" coffee which my husband could not get enough of. We then parked ourselves in the Adirondacks to read and enjoy the view. We had lunch in town and then it started to pour so we set ourselves up in the sun room and enjoyed a relaxing game of monopoly over a bottle of wine we brought in. Dinner in town that night was amazing at High Point.

Overall we couldn't have asked for more. The other rooms were occupied but we hardly saw the other guests - not even on the decks or lawn. It was so peaceful and we look forward to going back sometime in the near future.

p.s. a highlight was the super comfy sheets! it was like sleeping on a cloud!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I just recently visited Lodgecliffe. I primarily chose this B&B because of it's location on the river and the hosts commitment to incorporating farm to table practices. The views are gorgeous and one evening we sat outside and enjoyed the outstanding sunset. Each morning, we were treated to superb breakfasts on the porch, enjoying watching the boats go by as we lingered. The interior is a bit dated, but our room was comfortable. Autumn and Kathryn were great hosts, retreating to their private areas so as to not intrude when we were in communal areas.

Green Features: I think more establishments should incorporate environmentally friendly practices. I also like that they get their food from local farms as well as their own organic veggies.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodgecliffe on the Choptank B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgecliffe on the Choptank B&B

Address: 103 Choptank Terrace, Cambridge, MD 21613
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodgecliffe on the Choptank B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.