We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodgecliffe on the Choptank B&B

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodgecliffe on the Choptank B&B
Save Saved
You added Lodgecliffe on the Choptank B&B to your Saves list
103 Choptank Terrace, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful & Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Love it here! Don't need to do anything else but sit here!! This is the most majestic setting! Autumn and Katharine are amazing hosts! Love their breakfasts!! Great weekend while the guys are riding the Seagull Century!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The location is fabulous and our room was extremely comfortable. Most memorable for us was the breakfast. Our hosts used fresh local produce, which they had grown themselves. The meal was delicious and creative and our hosts could not have been more charming

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Thanks again to the Trip TripAdvisor's past reviews, we found this very nice establishment on the Choptank River in Cambridge. Our room (Captains Cabin) was large and included a desk, 2 cushy chairs - much more comfortable than any hotel room. The room and the rest of the lodge was very clean and comfortable. After a long drive we especially liked being able to grab a complimentary wine (water and soda was also available) and sit in the Adirondack chairs and relax while overlooking the river - very peaceful. Breakfast was excellent - served in the sun room overlooking the river. Had great conversations with the other guests. Autumn and Kathryn were excellent hosts without being over bearing or intrusive. We will be back!

Room Tip: A/C unit noise in Captains Cabin was a little loud due to the close proximity to the bed.
See more room tips
Green Features: Most of the breakfast ingredients was from local sources and farms.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Lodgecliffe is a spacious old home in a very tranquil location on the river. The innkeepers are gracious hostesses. In addition to the view, one of the standout features at Lodgecliffe is the extraordinarily luxurious-feeling bedding made of microfiber. The building needs a little work, and perhaps that is going to happen, but there was a big hole in the corner of the dining room ceiling over where the tea/coffee service and afternoon snacks are set out. I don't think that kept anyone (including myself) from partaking, but still... it needs repair.

Room Tip: For friends traveling together, Sarah's Loft on the second floor was perfect in terms of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lodgecliffe for a 3 day romantic getaway and it was everything we hoped it to be!

We stayed in "Sarah's Loft" for $150 a night - being the least expensive of the rooms we were a little wary, but it was so private and huge for the price! The bathroom was also large and very clean. The view from our room was truly gorgeous.

The hosts Autumn and Kathryn were very welcoming and flexible. We could only do a late check in - 9 p.m. and they left a key for us outside along with a note. We welcomed ourselves to a glass of wine from the cooler on the porch and enjoyed it while sitting in the adirondacks overlooking the river.

The next morning we enjoyed the hearty breakfast - complete with the "soul reviving" coffee which my husband could not get enough of. We then parked ourselves in the Adirondacks to read and enjoy the view. We had lunch in town and then it started to pour so we set ourselves up in the sun room and enjoyed a relaxing game of monopoly over a bottle of wine we brought in. Dinner in town that night was amazing at High Point.

Overall we couldn't have asked for more. The other rooms were occupied but we hardly saw the other guests - not even on the decks or lawn. It was so peaceful and we look forward to going back sometime in the near future.

p.s. a highlight was the super comfy sheets! it was like sleeping on a cloud!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I just recently visited Lodgecliffe. I primarily chose this B&B because of it's location on the river and the hosts commitment to incorporating farm to table practices. The views are gorgeous and one evening we sat outside and enjoyed the outstanding sunset. Each morning, we were treated to superb breakfasts on the porch, enjoying watching the boats go by as we lingered. The interior is a bit dated, but our room was comfortable. Autumn and Kathryn were great hosts, retreating to their private areas so as to not intrude when we were in communal areas.

Green Features: I think more establishments should incorporate environmentally friendly practices. I also like that they get their food from local farms as well as their own organic veggies.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The views are truly gorgeous. You can see far into the horizon and widely so sunsets are beautiful. There are nice walks along the water closely as well. The hosts Autumn and Kathryn were incredibly nice and stuck to their private quarters so guests feel like they are free to enjoy the communal spaces. Breakfast is served at 8:30 promptly in the covered porch which also has a lovely view. That said, the place is in desperate need of remodeling and upgrading. We stayed in the Jim and johns room, and the bathroom was beyond dilapidated. Tiles were missing in the floor, moldy tiles in the shower that need recaulking. No robes, just towels that were very pilly so after drying myself off I had to pick off little bits of towel stuck to my face before I put on lotion. It just didn't feel clean, and the second day the bed was made but the bathroom wasn't cleaned - there was still soap residue on the sink and no vacuuming, etc. Also, the bed was hard as a rock. The breakfasts were okay, but I think calling them gourmet is a bit of a stretch. The tea time baked goods put out were also several days stale, it was like they sliced up their own leftovers for the guests. I think it is overpriced unless you're going to take advantage of the free wine (mini wine bottles), otherwise you really feel like costs are cut everywhere else. As I said, the hosts were incredibly nice, but I think the owners have cut costs too much. Also, they kindly told us as repeat guests we would save 15 percent if we came back for another stay. That would be more like the right price (about $150 instead of $180 for peak weekend night) given the experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgecliffe, Manager at Lodgecliffe on the Choptank B&B, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are certainly glad that you were able to come in and enjoy the scenery and the hospitality here at Lodgecliffe. We pride ourselves on having both an amazing location and having the warmth of genuine hospitality.
The feedback you gave was valuable, and we wanted to address some of your comments. -Although reviews are a great medium, they are one-dimensional by nature, based on individual preferences and perceptions. One of the most challenging aspects in the travel industry is managing expectations for the public, when personal tastes vary widely. We are a bed and breakfast in a house that was built in 1898. As such, we try to make the amenities both very inviting and environmentally responsible. We are a successful b&b, precisely because this house has a depth of character and natural beauty that are authentic. If we tried to appeal to those who want the sleek modern lines and dispassionate service of a posh hotel, they would be severely disappointed here. We constantly perform upkeep on the house. There are only two of us, so during busy season, you are absolutely correct, we have to wait until the quiet season to make more elaborate renovations. That said, we never sacrifice quality, or ‘cut corners.’
To address some of your points, the towels you mentioned, have been spoken of highly by our guests consistently, with requests of purchasing their own. They are new and come from an extremely reputable company. But, we will look into that matter.
Sadly, the food was clearly disappointing to you –which would have been helpful to know during your stay, rather than in retrospect with no possibility of remedy. We have been praised in hundreds of reviews online, in our guest book, and especially in person by guests who love the food here. We have been asked to publish a cookbook more times than we can count. We grow our own organic fruits and vegetables to serve guests, fresh from our garden. And we source local ingredients from local farmers with wholesome practices. We use real ingredients, and use real love in preparing them –without sacrificing flavor or integrity for those who have special dietary needs. We have no way of knowing what you were expecting by way of flavor or choices, but if you had read our other reviews, it seems you would have been more aligned with how important it is for us to serve fresh, mouth-watering, yes, gourmet breakfasts. The tea-time treats, we put out in afternoon for our guests to enjoy at their leisure. Last weekend, during your stay, they had to be refilled numerous times. So, although your comments erroneously suggest we would put out stale left-overs, this is not only inaccurate, it’s inappropriate considering they were enjoyed thoroughly by the other guests.
The last matter goes to address the cleanliness of your room. Each day, we make all of the beds in guest rooms, tidy up what is appropriate, and make sure all amenities are restocked every day. How guests leave their room during their stay, is entirely up to them. We do our best to make sure the rooms are clean and inviting, but we cannot tidy up materials that are not ours to manage. The lack of cleanliness that you found after you started staying here, was based on your style of inhabiting your room, rather than our shortcoming in making it hospitable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodgecliffe on the Choptank B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgecliffe on the Choptank B&B

Address: 103 Choptank Terrace, Cambridge, MD 21613
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodgecliffe on the Choptank B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.