We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Spot

High Spot
305 High Street, Cambridge, MD 21613 (Formerly GiGi's Trattoria)
410-228-7420
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
High Spot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 53 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Poplar Street
Southern Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Had an excellent dinner in downtown Cambridge. Good food and beer selection. Staff was friendly and the atmosphere was great for groups and families.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    95
    27
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I went to the High Spot for dinner with some friends and everyone absolutely loved the food, atmosphere and service. The crab dip was great and the lamp chops were done perfectly. Appears to get crowded so a reservation might help. We sat near the president of the local bank, who said that it was his favorite location.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good place for apres-biking in Cambridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This misses an "excellent" rating by a hair. Service was a tad slow when we visited on a busy Sunday. Also, soft drinks were ridiculously expensive ($3 for a diet soda?). However, if you're looking for well-done high-calorie carbs-n-protein after a bike ride, this is the place. Plenty of room, inside and out, including a back dining room where you can get away from whatever game is playing on the bar's big screen TV. Burgers were a terrific value and the build-your-own-burger deal netted some great choices. The fries alone are probably worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Cold coffee in at the Hot Spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stopped there for breakfast this morning. We ate outside in the sun and the weather was warmer than the coffee. The food was slow in coming, but tasty. We has the Stuffed French Toast. It was 2 pieces of bread, not briosch as advertised. It was "stuffed" with 4 slices of peaches and the potatos were minced. We also had the Belgin waffles. I chose not to stuff them. The 3 waffles were luke warm and we had to share a small cup of syrup. The total cost was about $25. It was not worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our 'Go To' in Cambridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We took a group of friends here last weekend because we just love it. They did not disappoint! Word of advice is make a reservation even if you can't imagine needing one, do it to be safe.

We had to wait for our table for 6 which was ok this time because they had enough room at the bar otherwise I would have been a little frustrated since we had a late dinner reservation.

Beer and wine options are varied and excellent, we are thrilled to find a place that features a good beer selection not just Bud Coors Miller.

Menu is so strong here in my opinion-great options but not overwhelming and always well prepared and delicious on each of my visits. Amazing steak entree. I had the mahi special this night and loved it. I will probably be boo'd for this but...I did not like the fried pickles there. I know it's supposed to be a fav but none of us cared for them--sorry :-(

Our waitress was super friendly and very attentive without being pushy. She handled our group with efficiency and charm!

Regardless we go there every trip to Cambridge and it is a winner every time!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Spot also viewed

 

Been to High Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Spot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.