We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service on par with a 5 star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cambridge to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2715 Ocean Gateway, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Excellent service on par with a 5 star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

When looking for an economy motel, I like Holiday Inn Express because they are usually newer properties with comfortable accommodations. Holiday Inn Express Cambridge is an older property. The rooms are comfortable with up to date furniture but there is no thermostat. There is a wall air conditioner/heater and you have to play with it to find a comfortable temperature. There is no in-room safe. However, there is a refrigerator, and good wireless.

There is no parking out front. The parking is on the side of the building. Due to the building lay-out, there are only a few spots close to the door.

The rooms and common area were clean. I did not eat the breakfast, but I was told that the pancakes were delicious.

The service was excellent. It was on par with a 5 star hotel! This really impressed me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    37
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
26
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auburn Center, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here in mid-January to attend a seminar in the area. The hotel is convenient, but the rooms need to be updated. They seemed clean, but you could tell they were in need of some TLC. The shower was dark. The front desk attendant was very nice. I'll probably stay up in Easton on my next trip at a newer hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Peter, thanks for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I am glad you were satisfied with the cleanliness and service you received. We are currently working to update all of our rooms and will check the lighting in that shower. I hope you will stay with us when you return to Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We chose this hotel while attending an event nearby. The front desk and housekeeping staff are very friendly and welcoming. Our room was very clean and we had the same housekeeper the entire stay. The front desk staff gave us great recommendations on area attractions and restaurants while our husbands were at meetings.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had previously stayed at the Hyatt which is just across the street, but since their rooms were all full, we settled with Holiday Inn Express instead. We had no complaints with Holiday Inn and had a wonderful stay.

Our room was clean, beds were comfortable and the bathroom was simple and did the job. One thing we did take advantage of was the juice machine and ice water that was always available on the first floor. It was nice to be able to return to the hotel and have something to quench our thirst from the summer heat.

We didn't spend much time in the hotel, so I can't comment on the breakfast, gym, etc. But the hotel certainly was able to fulfill our needs and we wouldn't mind returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed at this Holiday Inn for a conference in October. This hotel has been recently upgraded and looks great, but their staff is fantastic. The girls at the front desk are great. They made our dinner reservations (at three different restaurants) and went above and beyond during the entire stay. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A good reliable choice. Nothing fancy. Efficient, clean, comfortable, and quiet. Good breakfast selection. Convenient location if you are going to Blackwater Refuge. Convenient stores and restaurants nearby. Would stay here again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend. Great prices and location. The breakfast was very good too. Eggs, biscuits, fruit, coffee, tea, yogurt etc.
We did not use the spa or pool but they had one.
Lemon water and fruit was available all day.

Rooms were large and had a refridgerator and microwave which came in handy.

Felt safe. All doors from the outside required you room card.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Address: 2715 Ocean Gateway, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel in MD , located just off the Chesapeake bay on the Del-Mar-Va Peninsula, is your #1 choice for charm and hospitality. At the end of your busy day relax and melt away your stress in our indoor, hot tub and pool. We are only minutes away from the area s best attractions which incluse Historic Easton, MD, the tourist destination town of St. Michaels, MD, Blackwater Refuge and across from the Hyatt Regency golf course. An exciting renaissance is underway in this historic waterfront city. Stately storefronts are now home to stylish boutiques and galleries featuring homegrown art. One-of-a-kind shops offer antiques, jewelry, home decor, gourmet foods, and more. Downtown streets have been redone with period lighting and fresh plantings. Classic old buildings are being returned to their former glory.Hotel features include complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads, eggs, bacon, sausage, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. There is something for everyone at the Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel in Maryland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.