We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to Stay When in Cambridge-Dorchester County” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cambridge to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2715 Ocean Gateway, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Stay When in Cambridge-Dorchester County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

We stay in the Cambridge HI Express whenever in the area, which is perhaps 30 nights total. The hotel is nicely located on Route 50, yet is quiet. The King & Dbl Queen rooms are very comfortable, well furnished and clean. The staff has always been pleasant. We look forward each morning to the included breakfast buffet, from which we choose OJ, Yoghurt, and either dry cereal or scrambled eggs and sausage. Parking is safe. The pool is perhaps an 8 on the 10 scale for cleanliness. Overall, we love the place. Friends who used to stay at the Hyatt resort nearby find the HI Express has much better cost performance.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
24
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, NH
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed here on a Sunday night in early May with my wife, while driving through the area on a vacation. Excellent check in - we received 'gift bags' (water & snacks) because we were Priority Club members. Very good sized room, with desk, king bed, lounge chair with lamp behind. Very quiet, very comfortable. In the morning, a very nice breakfast in lobby, USA Today newspapers - what more could you want?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Cambridge over a saturday night while photographing the landscapes around Dorchester County, MD. I was looking for a reasonbly priced place to stay that was clean, quiet, and convenient. It was all of those. I wanted to get an early start Sunday, and I was amazed to find that their breakfast starts at 6:00, even on Sundays, and even more amazed to see that when I got down at 6, everything was set up and ready togo. Cudos for that. You wont' confuse this hotel with the Hayatt across the street, and if you want anything more than a basic place to spend the night, this may not be for you. But as a good basic hotel, it was everything I wanted, and I didn't end up paying for a lot of stuff I didn't need.

Room Tip: The hotel gives a AAA discount, which brought the cost of my stay, with tax, to under $130.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington District of Columbia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Was decent but overpriced. I think I may try one of the local inns next time.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear JeanieTravel1200,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your stay at our Hotel.
We appreciated the time and effort you have taken to inform us of your experience.
Guests such as yourself enable us to maintain the high standard of service expected of us.
We thank you for having chosen our Hotel.
We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed 1 nt w\husband on NYE's to attend function at friends nearby home. Nice, clean comfortable lodging for 1 nt. Room has fridge and coffee maker. Right down the road from Walmart. Right on Rt. 50, so front rooms may get a little noise. We were in back facing parking lot, empty field and giant neon sign that changed every 5 secs or so. Thank God for blackout curtain. Would definitely recommend for short term stay while visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, VA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here while visiting Blackwater NWR nearby. The staff was friendly and courtious during check in and chack out. The room was clean and spacious. We were in a non smoking room. It was on the second floor and I noticed that the whole floor was non smoking. That is great. No cigarette smoke in the hall way coming from other rooms. The breakfast was good. They had a pancake making machine. This is the first time we have ever seen one and it actually worked pretty good. It did make large, hot pancakes. They also had little omlets, and bacon. Of course they had the usual cerial, pastries, toast, bagles and even some sticky buns. We will definately stay here on our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Cambridge for one night in October. My friend and I wanted to experience the eastern shore of Maryland before heading on to Washington DC and found the Holiday Inn Express met our needs. In fact, the hotel and the rooms were great - large, clean with friendly staff. It was just a shame that it was on the main highway - we would have preferred to be within walking distance of central Cambridge instead of next to the strip malls.

However, it was a short drive into Cambridge and there are beautiful roads to go exploring on nearby to see the beautiful eastern shore. I would not hesitate to stay here again if stopping in Cambridge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Address: 2715 Ocean Gateway, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel in MD , located just off the Chesapeake bay on the Del-Mar-Va Peninsula, is your #1 choice for charm and hospitality. At the end of your busy day relax and melt away your stress in our indoor, hot tub and pool. We are only minutes away from the area s best attractions which incluse Historic Easton, MD, the tourist destination town of St. Michaels, MD, Blackwater Refuge and across from the Hyatt Regency golf course. An exciting renaissance is underway in this historic waterfront city. Stately storefronts are now home to stylish boutiques and galleries featuring homegrown art. One-of-a-kind shops offer antiques, jewelry, home decor, gourmet foods, and more. Downtown streets have been redone with period lighting and fresh plantings. Classic old buildings are being returned to their former glory.Hotel features include complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads, eggs, bacon, sausage, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. There is something for everyone at the Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel in Maryland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.