We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice motel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn And Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn And Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn And Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2936 Ocean Gtwy, Cambridge, MD 21613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Cambridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Really nice motel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The staff was really nice, efficient and very helpful. The room was great, comfortable, clean and quiet. The indoor pool was good even with the really cold weather outside. The breakfast was fairly typical but very satisfying and convevient. The only downside was the poor tv reception which was obviously beyond the control of the motel, the tv itsrlf was a very nice flat screen. I would have given more stars but I don't want to give the impression it is resort hotel and raise expectations too high, but it is a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn And Suites, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. We will use all feedback to further enhance the service that we love to provide to our guest. We hope to see you again very soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    22
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
37
18
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bishopville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at this Comfort Inn last weekend for one night. We were in a huge hurry when we checked in and when we got to our room--Oh No! It was not cleaned...So I went down to the front desk and explained our situation. The mgr was there and apologized sincerely and offered a discounted rate which was appreciated. It was not a big deal, mistakes happen. I was given a new key within about 2 minutes and we were on our way. The new room was clean and spacious and the staff was friendly and courteous. We did not have breakfast but the room looked nice. We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn And Suites, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for the review that you have submitted. Again, i apologize for the mix up in the beginning and are glad that you were not upset with it. I am ecstatic that we provided you with the quality of service that we provide for the remainder of your stay. We look very forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here many times while working in the area. Troy & the entire staff are Friendly, helpful & Professional ! The review titled Horrible is a slanderous and in my opinion, totally Untrue assessment of this hotel. The rooms, and I've stayed in numerous ones, have always been exceptionally clean, the breakfast is superb, for a free option. Any request to the desk has always been immediately addressed. Don't let one, obviously bitter review, discourage you from trying this hotel. It's a real gem at a great price !!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn And Suites, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for you review of our establishment. It is very flattering that we have fans such as yourself that come back time after time. it is guests like yourself whom make this job as enjoyable as it is to myself and my staff. We look forward to your stays with us each and every time. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I've stayed here several times over the years, mainly due to its proximity to the Blackwater Wildlife Refuge and nice biking in the area. Our most recent stay was as good as the other stays, and I'm glad to see that the property is being maintained well. The hotel is just outside Cambridge proper, on the south end of town, in a fairly quiet area (except for the nearby highway). For the price, this is a very good hotel!

Thoughts:

1. For the first time, we took advantage of their indoor pool with our 9-year-old son. It was your average indoor pool, and fine for splashing about or doing laps if you are into that. Depth ranges from 3-5 feet. Towels were provided, there were ample chairs, and a wide wall of windows. Only issue was with the windows: it was really cold outside, and the windows did not seal very well, so the temp inside the pool area was a little colder than I would have liked (the pool itself was a nice warm temp). Management: turn the heat up in the pool area!

2. Breakfast was pretty good, with hot entrees including cheese omelets, link sausage, and potatoes. There were also pastries, the ubiquitous make your own waffles (only one waffle iron, though), cereal, etc. Overall a very good selection for the hotel's price point.

3. We had a two-king-bed room, which was very roomy and well appointed. Beds were really comfortable, and the pillows were of good quality (I hate cheesy flat hotel pillows). The room had a desk with chair, a sitting chair, a good-sized frig, and a microwave. Rooms with just one bed have a sofa, I believe.

4. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

5. Only complaint is that the noise from slamming room doors can be an issue at this hotel for some reason. I think they need to adjust (or install) their door closers to get a "softer" close for room doors.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn And Suites, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay at our property. We are thrilled that you enjoyed it as you did. We urge you to come and see us again when you are in our town. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for over a week and had a horrible experience. The staff is extremely unprofessional and the "manager" is the least professional of them all. My credit card was charged incorrectly and the manager would not return my calls and when he finally did was rude and hostile. The breakfast routinely runs out of food, coffee, and hot chocolate. The couch in my room had a broken leg, the sliding closet door was not working, and the telephone was not operational. All of these issues were reported and nothing was done about any of them. The walls are paper thin. The hotel staff allowed a loud domestic dispute to go on in the middle of the night in the hallway for hours (not a very settling feeling) plus the noise from kids yelling in the pool can be heard allover the hotel. When housekeeping did come in to clean they did a less than stellar job. The bathtub was not cleaned even once, the floors were not vacuumed, and my tissue box (which was missing upon check in) was never restocked. Horrible customer service plus the lack of service that should be standard in the hotel industry means I would never stay In this establishment again. You can find much nicer places at much better prices.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn And Suites, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We thank you for sharing your your experience with us. We deeply apologize for your experience with us at our property. You can contact me directly at the property and we can discuss this further. I will welcome the opportunity to make this up to you on a future stay as this is not indicative of the experience that we offer here. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostproof, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very enjoyable stay, everything clean & neat and employees very pleasant. Hot breakfast available everyday, which most places don't offer, but attendant should have access to keys to open on time. I would recommend a stay to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn And Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to review our property. We welcome all feedback and use it improve our quality for our guests. We hope that you will come and visit us again in the future. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

In the past, I've stayed at the Hyatt in Cambridge, when they had specials. On New Year's Eve, their prices were out of sight, so I looked for an alternative here on TripAdvisor and found this highly regarded property . My feelings after a one-night stay are mixed, but mainly positive.

Positive:

1. Very friendly and attentive staff at the front desk and breakfast room. (We did not see the housekeepers.)
2. Decent sized room and bathroom.
3. Very clean.
4. Good continental breakfast, including waffles, fruit, juices, pastries, and cold cereals, and a pleasant room in which to eat.
5. Comfortable beds, with good linens and pillows.
6. The room had a coffee machine, a fridge, ironing board, and a microwave.
7. Large flat screen (but not HD) TV with good choice of channels.

Negative:
1. Poor soundproofing. We were opposite the pool, and although the pool door and our room door were closed, we could hear the kids screaming. (Why do kids always scream in a pool?) We could also hear the adjacent ice machine and people running in the room above. Probably this would be difficult to rectify, given the construction of the building. Surprisingly, we barely heard the traffic on US50 outside.
2. Towels were ample in number but skimpy in size and quality. Could easily be improved by management.
3. The soap slivers were too small, especially considering that the room could hold four guests. Ditto.
4. Those infernal anti-theft hangers. Ditto.

Room Tip: Rooms 111, 113, 115 are opposite the pool and its attendant noise. If you plan to use the pool a lot...
See more room tips
Green Features: No separate waste baskets for recyclables. They do ask you to reuse towels, but (like most hotels) do not provide adequate racks for used towels to dry out.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn And Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We appreciate the review that you gave us and would like to thank you for your feedback. I have discussed this feedback with my staff and will use it to improve our operations and service for future visits. Thank you for your compliments as well. We hope to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn And Suites

Address: 2936 Ocean Gtwy, Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn And Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All spacious guest rooms include coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and a 32 inch flat screen television. Our double rooms have Queen Beds, All of our king rooms have a sofa sleeper and we also have rooms with double king beds that are perfect for families. This is a pet-friendly hotel; a nightly fee is required. A 24-hour guest laundry facility and same-day dry cleaning services are available for added convenience.Our commitment to your satisfaction ensures that each and every guest will receive our personal best. If you're not satisfied with your accommodations or service, please let us know without delay so we can make it right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Hotel Cambridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn And Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.