We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood addition” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Tomato

Wild Tomato
7945 Macarthur Blvd, Cabin John, MD 20818-1634
301-229-0680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Cabin John
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood addition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

WE always have a great meal here if we can get in! The service is friendly and the food is fresh. I wish they took reservations but I guess they don't need to.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    23
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A neighborhood gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Finally ate at the Wild Tomato which is so near me we could walk there. Had a great meal with very courteous and friendly service. The pasta special -- orcchiette with clams and a light salmon cream sauce -- was delicious and perfectly prepared. The house special Manhattan also was perfect. Followed this with the ice cream sandwiches (homemade chocolate chip cookies) -- two of them, enough to share, and a cupcake (yellow cake with vanilla frosting) -- okay it was a cupcake. It was a lovely evening so we ate outside. We were pleasantly surprised at how welcoming the staff was since we didn't arrive until about 9:30 pm. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Hamburgers, fish tacos, and pizza are the specialties of the house and all are delicious, but ask for the specials, such as the scallops. Absolutely terrific! Servings are generous; you may even consider sharing the fish tacos or a hamburger. Wine and beer selections are good, service is friendly, but the kitchen is slow. It is not fast food, but your patience will be rewarded.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Average food in Unenticing environment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Tried this restaurant for the first time. I was told it was a sister restaurant to Persimmon which we enjoy. The front staff were kind. The menu lacked excitement. It was mostly "bistro" type food and pizza. The waiter staff appear inexperienced, lack knowledge of the menu. I ordered the crab cake which was below average. I could not find any lumps of crabmeat though the waiter told me it was lump with no filler. It was an embarrassing crab cake to represent the home of the crab cake-maryland. My wife got a tun sailad which was sesame encrusted and enjoyed the dish. I did not personally get a pizza but people seemed to enjoy it that ordered it. To me, it might be a restaurant to stop at for a quick bite to get an average meal but it is nothing memorable or would lure me back anytime soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

For a local restaurant and the price of the entres this is a terrific bargain. I have co-owned a couple of restaurants in Old Town Alexandria and I simply love this small local restaurant. The service is great and the seafood linguini dish with mussels, shrimp and fish is consistently great.

This restaurant has a loyal following and is a true winner!

Rick

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Tomato also viewed

 

Been to Wild Tomato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Tomato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.