We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canal Cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beans in the Belfry

Beans in the Belfry
122 West Potomac St., Brunswick, MD 21716
301-834-8378
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Brunswick
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Canal Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

From walking in the doors and seeing alll the stained glass, to finding a comfy seat in which to sit and relax, visiting Beans is well worth a stop. It fits in well with a C&O Canlal visit or a Harpers Ferry venture. Driving down 17 South with its quaint country views, is a great option, or meandering along Sandy Hook Road after a visit to Harpers Ferry also works. The personal size French press is a good midafternoon pick-me-up before getting back on the road to home. Just be sure to slow down and take time to explore what this local landmark has to offer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Check it out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was so excited to finally make it out here (from Frederick). The decor inside is so cozy and warm. The baristas were friendly, so that added to our awesome experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“LOVED this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is so unique, and the food was fantastic. I just loved it. The kids loved it, too. And the open mic night was the icing on the cake.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I'm always up for a sandwich and some relaxation at 'Beans'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing brunch or lunch in the Frederick/Brunswick area, you can't do better than Beans in the Belfry. We just love all their sandwiches (BLT is so simple it's awesome) and pastries. The coffee is bottomless while you are there (which my husband loves) and each sandwich comes with a nice mini-salad. A mish-mash of antique tables and chairs are scattered in the church, you're bound to find one just for your party of 2 or more! We like to try and go on Sundays to listen to the free jazz music. A great place for a family meal (about $8 per person for lunch) or couples. Last Saturday while we were there, a knitting club was meeting at the large farm table. Beans gives the "coffee house experience" a new meaning. We will continue to go back whenever we can.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“An old favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Beans in the Belfry has been a favorite for over 8 years now. There is no denying its charm and eccentricity. From the swinging doors in the vestibule to the stain glassed windows, to the random arrangements of mismatched furniture, this church turned coffee shop oozes character. It is a haven providing welcome relief from the sterile sameness of cut-and-paste chain coffee shops.

Who would like it? Beans is an ideal spot for those who like to read, relax, listen to the live music, and exchange smiles with the small children running about. It is not for those who seek a quiet atmosphere, strict solitude, and anonymity. Beans is noisy, (more or less, depending on whether the music is live and the number of kiddos visiting), and friendly. Someone is sure to interrupt you at some point. And it is lovely.

Food & Drink: As I am not a coffee drinker, I cannot speak to the quality of the coffee, but the other drinks I've consumed, (teas, chai, Italian sodas), have all been great, albeit a tad higher than what you'd find at a chain. The food has also always been edible and good.

Ambiance & Decor: One of my favorite aspects about Beans is the atmosphere. The purple ceiling & mint green walls provide a stark contrast to the formality of the stain glass windows. Old door dividers stand next to the old claw foot tub turned drink cooler. Ornate wooden lamps cast a glow on 19th century wedding photos. Wherever you turn, there is something interesting to see.

In summary, the ambiance is fantastic, the people friendly, and the music fun. Go, drink, and be merry!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beans in the Belfry also viewed

 
Lovettsville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Beans in the Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beans in the Belfry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.