We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLOSED” 1 of 5 stars
Review of KBQ Real Barbecue

KBQ Real Barbecue
Woodmore Towne Centre 9101 Woodmore Centre Drive, Suite 322, Lanham, MD, Bowie, MD 20706
3013221527
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 104 Restaurants in Bowie
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: real down-home BBQ in an unlikely setting (in a modern shopping area, next to a Safeway supermarket), but the best beef brisket I have ever ha din my life! Truly a Michelin-3 Star "worth the detour"
Restaurant details
Description: real down-home BBQ in an unlikely setting (in a modern shopping area, next to a Safeway supermarket), but the best beef brisket I have ever ha din my life! Truly a Michelin-3 Star "worth the detour"
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“CLOSED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Shame on KBQ for leaving their 12500 Fairwood Pkwy Bowie, MD 20720 address on their web site, while at the same time NOT BEING OPEN THERE ANY LONGER. Sign on the old door says: Moving to DC.

WARNING: KBQ is no longer in Maryland. I will not be finding and eating at KBQ for allowing customers to drive all the way to their old location with no notice what so ever that they have closed for good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowie,MD
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Award Winning BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

KBQ recently competed in a local BBQ contest, and finished in the top 10. The BBQ available at their restaurant reflects that fantastic BBQ taste. The inside of the restaurant is a little non-descript, but you go there for what's behind the counter, slow cooked beef brisket, pulled pork, or smoked chicken wings. And the sides shouldn't be missed either!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Real BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Great food, they take pride in the art of BBQ, clean set-up and the bread pudding.....Its like being down south!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I read about the place prior to visiting, and coincidentally, I was working across the street from the plaza where it is.

Once you get over that the restaurant appears nondescript, you realize that you're there for the food. I had the sausage sandwich with macaroni and cheese. The meat was juice and had the right amount of spice. The barbeque sauce I used to dip the sandwich in had a nice tang to it.

The meal was excellent and the price was extremely reasonable (under $8). It is a great alternative to the fast food chains in the area.

I would strongly recomm

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn Dale, MD
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Great Guilty Pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Whenever my wife is out of town for her long visits to Tucson, I eat at KBQ at least once a week, if not more. She is not into Barbecue and I can't get enough. The menu has all the good choices and the sides are exceptional. Deserts can be a little sparse but I rarely have room anyway.

The decor is a little bare but I like the well-placed posters. Service has always been courteous and quick so I am always happy to visit.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KBQ Real Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to KBQ Real Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KBQ Real Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.