We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Note Lounge

Half Note Lounge
4881 Glenn Dale Road, Bowie, MD 20720
3018096683
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Half Note Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 103 Restaurants in Bowie
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: MD Rt. 450
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I hosted an event here for about 21 people this was my first time every going though I have heard nothing, but good things. I was not impressed with the layout of the place, however it is a nice place to go and the food and drinks are awesome. The old school music was hitting and the live band that played while we were there sound really good there is also a small dance floor or you can dance at your seat. Ladies I must warn you the men are on a prowl every time we walked past the bar...so if you are single handle your business. Overall it was really a nice place to go and kick it with friends where the staff was on point and very knowledgable of the business. I suggest you go and just have some fun. I will be going back soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Group Nite Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have never been to Half Note before, so we decided to check it out. When we called to make reservations for about 30 people, they wanted to charge us $1,200+ for the private room. So we opted to sit in the main dining room. Luckily for us, since we arrived early we were able to get the private dining room anyway. I ordered the shrimp and grits, which came with fried green tomatoes. The main dish was flavorful but the tomatoes had no flavor at all, just the taste of corn meal. Not sure the shrimp dish was worth the price either. Everyone else seemed to enjoy their food and dessert except for the bread pudding. Everyone said that it was missing something. The waitress was very nice and was on top of her game (almost- she forgot the mac & cheese that I ordered. But I don't think I needed it.). Everyone seemed to have a good time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“My Happy Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hubby and I recently celebrated our anniversary at Half Note and it was amazing as usual. The atmoshere is always fun and lively. The music is always on point, plenty of space for dancing and the food is great. The customer service was commendable, the decor was impressive and there is ALWAYS something going on at this place...party party party! Going back soon with the Ladies for Karaoke Night (every Tuesday)...can't wait! Drink specials are an added bonus....come early, it gets very busy very fast. Happy hour is from 4-7pm, after that there may be a cover charge depending on the entertainment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Half note is a jazz bar with a Sunday brunch that will knock your socks off. They brunch consist of waffles, crab legs, fried fish, baked fish, fried chicken, baked chicken, mac n cheese, grits, an omelette station and more. You would think your grandmother was in the kitchen cooking just for you.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I had a Great Time at the Half Note in 2009”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I took the young lady I was dating to the Half Note for her B-day in 2009. The live band was great and the place was packed. My food was pretty good. The waitress was very accommodating in bringing out the B-day cake as I had requested. I think they helped to make the night special for her.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Note Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Half Note Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Note Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.