We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop when visiting Antietam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Grottoes Caverns

Crystal Grottoes Caverns
19821 Shepherdstown Pike, Boonsboro, MD 21713
301-432-6336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 attractions in Boonsboro
Type: Caverns/ Caves
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A forty-minute guided tour through brilliantly lighted chambers features the history, formations and geological aspects of the caverns.
Freehold, NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice stop when visiting Antietam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We passed by Crystal Grottoes Caverns on our way to visit the battlefield at Antietam. It wasn't in our plan to visit the caverns but our family enjoys going to other caverns (e.g. Luray Caverns) so we decided to stop by on our way back from Antietam.

The building you arrive at isn't all that impressive as compared to Luray Caverns and was a bit hesitant when we arrived especially when I was told the price ($15 for adults and $10 for children).

We had a tour with Sonny who was very nice and knowledgeable about the formations. Our family essentially had a private tour since no one else was with us. We got to ask plenty of questions which we hadn't had the opportunity to ask at other caverns. Our six-year-old daughter liked being able to ask questions and get answers.

The tour lasted about 35 minutes which was about perfect for us after spending the day at Antietam. After the tour, I thought the entry fee was worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nothing Spectacular, but Good Place to Cool off on Hot Day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Compared to other nearby caverns in neighboring Virginia such as Luray and Skyline, Crystal Grottoes is much smaller and the tours are shorter. The tour was something like 35 to 40 minutes long, but I would say that it was worth it because like other caverns, it is constantly 54 degrees in them year round, which makes them a great place to go to cool off in on a hot summer day. I have never visited a cavern in the winter although I would imagine it would also be a good experience because it would still be warmer in the caverns than outside of them. The formations in the caverns were very nice and the tour guide was very knowledgeable about both the history and science behind them.

As I said, the caverns are smaller than other nearby ones such as Luray and not only are the caverns smaller, but the office is as well, and there is no gift shop, but there is water available for purchase that comes in handy on hot days. There are picnic tables outside and there is plenty of shade available, so this is the kind of place where you'd have to bring your own meal. When people were gathering outside before a tour, one of the people working there let us all know when it was going to start and after the tour ended, he really appreciated the fact that we visited and enjoyed it. Overall, it was a nice little attraction to visit and I would recommend it to anyone who has an appreciation for nature.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Who cares about geology it's a beautiful cave.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

I have been to Crystal Grottoes several times with my kids, not one time did they ask about geology. They had a great time. The owner Mr. Downs is a the 3rd generation owner and is a little rough around the edges but it adds character to the place in a world that's to politically correct. The caretaker of this place has gone to great lengths to protect this national treasure. He also offers a reward to the person who finds the mystical drill bit that broke the opening. We will enjoy this place again it is a beautiful cave.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg,PA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Geology and "ahhh"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

First of all, this isn't a glitzy attraction; it's an interesting cave with beautiful formations and knowledgeable guides. Granted, the first impression isn't encouraging, but the tour was accurate geologically and informative. There are many formations; we could have spent a bit more time looking at them. I would say that the definition of helictite given doesn't match what I know from research and other caves.
The admission is reasonable, and the cave is fascinating -- definitely worth stopping.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pricey admission for what they offer.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

This isn't a bad place, just pricey for what you get. Rude employee at counter, presumably the 3rd generation owner, was scruffy and employees were more busy cooking breakfast than helping visitors. Place is small, the tour guide reeked of smoke and didn't seem very knowledgeable about geology...kept asking us if the place was "cool." The visit was a nice break from the heat, the cavern stays 54 degrees and if you've never seen a cavern it's a fun experience. The path along the stream is beautiful and there are picnic tables to bring a lunch. My recommendation would be to save up and head to Luray Caverns where they're far more visitor friendly and knowledgeable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Grottoes Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Grottoes Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Grottoes Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Crystal Grottoes Caverns to your Saves list