We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mia's Pizza

Mia's Pizza
4926 Cordell Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
301 718 6427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Wonderful pizza and nice to see "Mia" herself working in there most nights! Great spot to take the kids as well. The cupcakes can be missed though...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ah Mia's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

By far this is the best pizza place in Bethesda. My wife and I probably go here twice a month to get one of these authentic Roman-style pizzas. We generally start out with the funghi crostini, which is basically bruschetta-style bread with a dollop of portobello mushrooms, roasted butternut squash, and goat cheese, drizzled with a balsalmic vinegar sauce. Each person should get their own pizza. My wife usually gets a multi-carne, which is their meat lover's pizza. I vary my choices because they are all good. If you get this far, you rarely have room for dessert, but every once in a while, save some room because they are great.

Occasional negatives include sometimes slow service, especially when it gets super busy (which it always is). But we completely don't care because the food is simply just that good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery County , Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quaint yet somehow Hip Bethesda Pizzeria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went in on a Sunday night with a group of 5.
This being most of our first time, a more experienced guest ordered for the table.
We started off with 2 orders of yummy meatballs in a hearty tomato sauce served with a piece of bread and not a large one at that . . . I'd recommend saving some of the gratis bread for sopping up sauce after.
We also had two salads an arugula & pear with gorgonzola cheese YUM, and a Caesar (This was served the authentic was with real anchovy filets on top if your not a fan id recommend telling your server in advance)
We ordered two Pizzas for the table as well, the Il Forno with spinach-ricotta & olives & the exquisite Alsace pancetta, gruyère, parmesan, caramelized onions & thyme. Both pies where wood fired and delicious.
All in all an adorable little spot will definitely come back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

There are some other items on the menu, but the wood fired oven baked pizza is the deal here. Share an anti pasta or appetizer and a couple of these pies. Perfect.

Hers' the best part which I never knew. They will let yo brimg in 2 bottles of wine for a corkage of only $10 a bottle. That would make this place a real deal. Or, half price wine on Wednesday.

Always lively and very friendly staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“good food, not so great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We tried Mia's pizza for the first time on a Saturday night after hearing good reviews from a couple of friends. The food is good- we ordered a pizza and the salmon special that night. The ingredients tasted fresh, the portions were reasonable, and we left feeling full. I'd recommend the place for the food, but not the service. We sat right next to the bar- literally right in front of it, actually. Still, we had to get our waiter's attention to order, to refill our water, to get a dessert menu, and even to get our check. The place was not packed, so I'm not too sure what the hold up was- and we are patient people.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mia's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Mia's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mia's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.