We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza in northern suburbs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mia's Pizza

Mia's Pizza
4926 Cordell Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
301 718 6427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 301 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Best pizza in northern suburbs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is a true wood oven pizza, and it does taste good! A thin crust, very fresh ingredients, properly cooked. We thoroughly enjoyed it. We found the service to be quick, friendly and efficient. The one thing to be aware of: although the restaurant was pretty much full inside and outside, I think we were the only adult table, meaning that every other table in the restaurant seemed to have at least two kids below the age of five, which does make for a different atmosphere. This is kid country, it seems.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    23
    19
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Very good Neapolitan style pizza. Love the margherita pizza and the rapini appetizer. Nice atmosphere, very friendly service. Live music on certain nights adds charm to the place. Very friendly owner.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great pizza but limited menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Great food at this neighborhood Italian inspired restaurant. Would be nice to have more specials and more choices on the menu.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

They have the best wood fired pizza with all fresh ingredients. Never had a bad meal. The owner and chef is really nice and always talking to her customers. She also will have complimentary pizza slices for those waiting for a table as it gets really crowded on a Friday or Saturday night. But the hour wait is worth it. Nice out door seating area in the summer too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful. Go on 1/2 price wine nite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Mia's pizza is a little restaurant on Cordell Avenue. The outside seating is comfortable and inviting. It is not unusual for someone to have a dog with them outside. The inside is cozy (read: small) but it seems to work. It's lots of fun to sit at the bar by the kitchen if you can get a seat and watch the cooks make the food. The pizzas are excellent and the head chef/owner almost always comes around to all the tables and speaks to the patrons asking about the food, etc. The crust is thin and chewy, the toppings are plentiful and the combinations are ones I would never think of. Even the kids like these combos on the pizza. The portions are generous enough that even I can't eat an entire pizza in one sitting. (Maybe my sitting wasn't long enough.) The servers will always give you numerous wine samples if you can"t decide between 2 or 3 or 4 wines. The sangrias - especially the white - is also very good. Watch for specials here and if you sign up on the website they will send you coupons. I'm going this Friday and I'm going to claim my free birthday pizza. Yum! P.S. The desserts always look good. I always wish to have a peanut butter cupcake for dessert, but sadly they are always all gone by the time I am ready to order.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mia's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Mia's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mia's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.