We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; helpful staff; huge, updated rooms. At a great rate for DC!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Bethesda
washington, dc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location; helpful staff; huge, updated rooms. At a great rate for DC!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed here for a week leading up to our wedding in Bethesda and used it as "home base" for all of the various out of town friends and family. I was a little worried people might turn up their noses at the hotel, because the elevator is slow, the common areas need updating, etc. But everybody (from the people with kids who loved the pool to the single friends who loved being able to walk home from the Bethesda bars) loved the hotel. The rooms were huge and very modern, clean, etc. The rooftop pool had plenty of room for lounging. And except for when the electricity went out for about 20 minutes, even the basement gym worked out fine. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we needed to move people's rooms around, get messages to each other, etc. As the detail-obsessed bride, I couldn't have been happier. It's not the swanky hotel you can find (and pay out the nose for) in Dupont or downtown DC and it's not the resort-y hotel you can find (and spend an hour driving to) in NoVa, but for being a step away from the redline, minutes from the beltway, and walkable to downtown Bethesda, it's great.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    78
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
83
27
12
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

First of all I have stayed in this hotel several times both before its renovations in 2007 and after. The location can't be beat restaurants are close and you can find just about any type of meal you want from fancy to fast food. If you can't find it in Bethesda it is a very short walk to the Metro and any stop in DC. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There were a few issues with the room 3 of the light switches had thier plates missing and the refrigerator in my room was very old and looked like it had never been replaced during the renovation. There was also a problem with a little bit of mold in the bathroom. Breakfast was mediocre at best but its hard to knock free too much. All in all I would reccomend this place to stay when in the DC area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Very very disappointed. Hotel drab. They had the nerve to turn off the air conditioner in the middle of the night. Thought it was broken - would have been less insulted if that had been the case. They turned it back on in a.m. Horrible nights sleep as result. Added eighteen dollars for valet parking we never used. Heard others complaining of same thing as we left. Check your bill carefully - they took it off when we complained but its obvious they hope that you won't notice. Hotel very in need of renovations. Don't be deceived by the positive reviews. We stayed in one of their top floor allergy free rooms and it still smelled. Breakfast buffet style and not very good - scrambled eggs from a mix. Go to the Embassy Suites in Chevy Chase - a five minute metro ride - Cheesecake Factory restaurant right in the building, free drinks at managers reception, much nicer hotel - cooked to order breakfast at the Embassy. Maybe slightly more money - $40? - depends on the night - but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We just returned from a trip to DC where we stayed at the Bethesda Residence Inn. We are a family with 2 teenagers. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly. The check in and out were smooth and efficient. The morning breakfast was very good and met the needs of our family. It was crowded each morning but the staff did a great job of cleaning tables for new guests.
The walk to the Metro is short, less than 5 minutes. We used the metro every day to get in and out of DC.
The choice of restaurants in the area is outstanding. We enjoyed spending each evening walking around downtown Bethesda.
I would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay if visiting DC. We have stayed in DC and other areas around the city and found this location to be as good if not better.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington,Nc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

The toothless man at the front desk was so rude and scary that my children were afraid to stay there. The hotel is not directly on Wisconsin Ave abd after three time trying to get correct direction, we finally after one hour, found the hotel. The front desk manager was one of the rudest people I have ever encountered. I would never stay there again. It was a very bad experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
I am so sorry you had an unpleasant stay here. As you can see from past reviews we have an exceptional track record when it comes to customer service. The person you have mentioned is no longer with us. We do hope you will give us another try to see the great service we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

What an excellent hotel. Free wi-fi, great breakfast/dining area, flatscreen tvs, useful kitchinettes, helpful staff, and comfortable beds. An adaptable suite with great bathrooms, it is a great stay for any person who needs to stay in DC, but it looking for a comfy room at a good rate just outside the actual city. It was a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

We recently stayed at this hotel as a group of six (three couples) for a short family trip to D.C. We checked in very-late Thursday night (around midnight) and left Sunday morning. Both check-in and check-out were relatively quick and problem-free. We completed most of the check-in process online and for check-out, the hotel provided us with a preview bill a day prior to checkout for verification of charges which we thought was rather convenient. In both instances, the staff was professional, courteous and very accomodating.

In regards to the actual hotel room, we were very pleased with the arrangement (perfect for traveling families that want to room together). We had a two-bedroom suite with living room and mini-kitchen. One room had a queen/king sized bed and it's own private bathroom and then the other room had two double beds and it's own separate bathroom. There was then an entirely separate living room area with dining table and a mini-kitchen equipped with oven, dishwasher, microwave and fridge. Very spacious, relatively clean, and definitely very homey. Also, there were three large flat-screen tvs, granite countertops, and towels were plentiful. Our only complaints: the shower curtains are set too high - therefore making them too short at ground level...despite the raised tile frame, water escapes the general shower area and puddles into the remaining bathroom floor. Tubmats become instantly soaked with water. Our advise: roll up a towel and block the space inbetween the frame and the shower curtain...prevents the water from coming out. Also, our shower was a little grimmy - mildew had formed in a couple of spots and the counter tops looked like they hadn't been wiped down. Not so much a flaw of the hotel itself; perhaps moreso an unattentive housekeeping staff.

Room aside, the hotel is rather simple and quaint. Average-sized lobby with seating, two computers for internet access, and then a small coffee stand. There is an outside patio seating area as well as a roof-top pool; although being February, our timing was off for access to either. Breakfast was ok - definitely a large selection: hot station with eggs, sausage, and french toast, then separate stations for oatmeal, cereal, pastries, bread, waffles, fruit, and yogurt. Definitely something for everyone, but perhaps not as refined on the quality side.

By far the best feature of this hotel is its location. We were in walking distance to the metro station (watch out for the steep escalator down!) and to the outdoor Bethesda shopping area. What a great area! Lots of stores and boutiques, coffee shoppes, restaurants and casual bars - lots to do, visit and see. And the area is bustling with people of all ages - families, young couples, kids, older folks - there is a comfortable sense of security, amidst a hometown community vibe. Great place to stroll after dinner. Look for the Barking Dog bar (great place for a drink), McCormick's restaurant, Fancy Cakes by Leslie (great cupcakes) and make sure to check out the clothing stores, the art galleries and the design-your-own-pottery shop!

Other comments: Parking is not free - I believe we paid $18/night during the week, but the hotel was nice enough to recommend a free parking garage across the street for the weekend nights. The valet folks are very timely during the week (but, if you park in the free garage on the weekends, you have to get your own car).

Also - some other reviewers mentioned construction. There is indeed a Hilton Garden Inn being built across the street to the hotel (alongside the backside). However, related noise was minimal - we barely heard anything, but it could have been a coincidence. If concerned, just ask for a room facing the main road.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel Bethesda
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel
Residence Inn Bethesda
Bethesda Residence Inn
Address: 7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.