We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasant Ridge, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The perfect solution for a family trip to DC. Located in a very safe neighborhood and only one block from the Metro station. Walking distance to many great restaurants for all tastes. The kids loved the small, but safe pool on the roof. The valet, front desk, pool, housekeeping and breakfast staffs were all very pleasant. Every one of them. We enjoyed five days touring DC which always began with breakfast which had a good variety from which to chose. The only negative was the $20 a night valet charge but the valet team was top notch. The parking structure around the block is free on weekends and holidays so that is an option.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    106
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
114
38
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The Residence Inn Bethesda is in a great location close to downtown and a short walk from the Bethesda Metro station. The hotel is very clean and updated and seems a step above a typical Residence Inn. Service was very friendly and efficient. The rooms are spacious and modern with a lot of space at a desk to conduct business. I was in a one bedroom suite. There was a separate bedroom with two queen beds. Also a living room - dining room -desk combo and a separate small but very functional kitchen. I was here solo on a business trip but this room would also be great for a small family. Free WiFi throughout the hotel though the speed could have been faster.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Pluses:
- 4 minutes/1 traffic light Bethesda row restaurants and shops
- 3 minutes from metro stop
- large size rooms, well lit, ok furniture. The hotel is new which is always a plus.
- room price and valet parking were ok but do request your car by phone 2 minutes before coming down. Friendly valet staff.

Minuses:
- rooms lack medium term perks (large closets or drawers, clothes drying line etc)
- very small sofa bed (full-size instead of the standard queen sofa bed in other places)
- room cleaningness can be improved (kitchen cabinets, bathroom etc)
- breakfast could be improved (not much choice except for the freedom to make your own waffle). Breakfast hours could be maybe extended in the summer? Staff did not have any flexibility after 9:30.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is located in downtown Bethesda, Maryland. The location is wonderful because it is around the corner from the metro which takes you straight into the hustle and bustle of Washington DC and brings you right back to the quiet tree-lined streets of Bethesda.

Again, the location is key because you are walking distance to shops, a large Barnes and Noble, and lots of restaurants. The hotel is also nestled in a residential zone which leads to the NIH military hospital if you keep walking.

Now for the hotel itself. If you are familiar with most Residence Inns then you will know this is not a full service hotel. With that being said you do have the comforts of a larger room with a separate bedroom a small kitchen, and a small living / eating area. Whenever I take longer trips I prefer this to being crammed in a small room. They do have grocery delivery service or you can take a short walk to the grocery store as well. I mostly ate out. Next door to the Residence Inn is a full service Hilton which has a restaurant and bar if you needed to have those amenities. The rooms were clean and neat. The hotel staff was friendly and housekeeping did a great job. The daily receptions had mediocre food, at best, but they did have a nice selection of wine and cheese which may the evening go by nicely after a hard day of work.

There wasn't a whole lot to say as far as the lobby which was very small and the common areas which seemed adequate. I believe the best part of the hotel was the large room, reception and definitely the location. By the end of the day it's nice to stay in Bethesda to wind down. The metro ride into Washington DC was not more than 15 to 20 minutes and along the way they were shopping malls, one was even accessible through the metro.

I would stay again, just because of these small features. Now I've stayed at better Residence Inn, however for this area this would be my location of choice. Especially if I'm staying for more than a week.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our room was lovely and well appointed, the hotel is quiet, the staff is friendly and efficient, and the subway is a block away across the street. The breakfast was great and the pool delighted my kids after a long drive. We chose this hotel in part because it was close to the Metro Red Line but there was weekend track work requiring us to transfer to free shuttle buses. Luckily we had allowed extra time to get into DC to meet a guided tour we had booked. We definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 6 weeks recently. The staff like Jamie and Wasel were always extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were fairly large for suites and the cleaning staff always kept things in order. The breakfast was good as well as the dinners, which is only on Tues - Thurs. I think staying so long made me find it like home. I think I became a fixture. Great location from restaurants and the metro.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This property is very well maintained. First glance at the outdated entrance to the lobby made me kind of on edge. Before I even got the bags out of the car, I had my wife check out the room. The room had the updated Residence Inn 1 bedroom we like with the granite counters and stainless steel appliances. Had a great week long stay. Took advantage of the evening meal 2 or 3 nights. Decent food for meat eaters. I had a salad. Our son enjoyed the chicken wings and the burgers. Ate breakfast every day. Hit or miss. One day oat meal good next day not worth a darn. Parking is $20 per day unlimited valet. All the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Tip: public rail transportation just up the street. Easy to get in and out DC.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello PutJer1,

We are happy to hear that you had a great week long stay and you were able to join us for breakfast and our evening social event. I will certainly share your review with our breakfast staff to ensure our oatmeal is consistently good each day. Great tip regarding the metro which is just a block away. It really is the easiest way to visit DC and all the sights. Thank you for staying with us while visiting DC.

Kind Regards,

Shelly Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 929 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.6 mi away
American Inn of Bethesda
American Inn of Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Address: 7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.