We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The Residence Inn Bethesda is in a great location close to downtown and a short walk from the Bethesda Metro station. The hotel is very clean and updated and seems a step above a typical Residence Inn. Service was very friendly and efficient. The rooms are spacious and modern with a lot of space at a desk to conduct business. I was in a one bedroom suite. There was a separate bedroom with two queen beds. Also a living room - dining room -desk combo and a separate small but very functional kitchen. I was here solo on a business trip but this room would also be great for a small family. Free WiFi throughout the hotel though the speed could have been faster.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    98
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
104
33
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Pluses:
- 4 minutes/1 traffic light Bethesda row restaurants and shops
- 3 minutes from metro stop
- large size rooms, well lit, ok furniture. The hotel is new which is always a plus.
- room price and valet parking were ok but do request your car by phone 2 minutes before coming down. Friendly valet staff.

Minuses:
- rooms lack medium term perks (large closets or drawers, clothes drying line etc)
- very small sofa bed (full-size instead of the standard queen sofa bed in other places)
- room cleaningness can be improved (kitchen cabinets, bathroom etc)
- breakfast could be improved (not much choice except for the freedom to make your own waffle). Breakfast hours could be maybe extended in the summer? Staff did not have any flexibility after 9:30.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is located in downtown Bethesda, Maryland. The location is wonderful because it is around the corner from the metro which takes you straight into the hustle and bustle of Washington DC and brings you right back to the quiet tree-lined streets of Bethesda.

Again, the location is key because you are walking distance to shops, a large Barnes and Noble, and lots of restaurants. The hotel is also nestled in a residential zone which leads to the NIH military hospital if you keep walking.

Now for the hotel itself. If you are familiar with most Residence Inns then you will know this is not a full service hotel. With that being said you do have the comforts of a larger room with a separate bedroom a small kitchen, and a small living / eating area. Whenever I take longer trips I prefer this to being crammed in a small room. They do have grocery delivery service or you can take a short walk to the grocery store as well. I mostly ate out. Next door to the Residence Inn is a full service Hilton which has a restaurant and bar if you needed to have those amenities. The rooms were clean and neat. The hotel staff was friendly and housekeeping did a great job. The daily receptions had mediocre food, at best, but they did have a nice selection of wine and cheese which may the evening go by nicely after a hard day of work.

There wasn't a whole lot to say as far as the lobby which was very small and the common areas which seemed adequate. I believe the best part of the hotel was the large room, reception and definitely the location. By the end of the day it's nice to stay in Bethesda to wind down. The metro ride into Washington DC was not more than 15 to 20 minutes and along the way they were shopping malls, one was even accessible through the metro.

I would stay again, just because of these small features. Now I've stayed at better Residence Inn, however for this area this would be my location of choice. Especially if I'm staying for more than a week.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our room was lovely and well appointed, the hotel is quiet, the staff is friendly and efficient, and the subway is a block away across the street. The breakfast was great and the pool delighted my kids after a long drive. We chose this hotel in part because it was close to the Metro Red Line but there was weekend track work requiring us to transfer to free shuttle buses. Luckily we had allowed extra time to get into DC to meet a guided tour we had booked. We definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 6 weeks recently. The staff like Jamie and Wasel were always extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were fairly large for suites and the cleaning staff always kept things in order. The breakfast was good as well as the dinners, which is only on Tues - Thurs. I think staying so long made me find it like home. I think I became a fixture. Great location from restaurants and the metro.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This property is very well maintained. First glance at the outdated entrance to the lobby made me kind of on edge. Before I even got the bags out of the car, I had my wife check out the room. The room had the updated Residence Inn 1 bedroom we like with the granite counters and stainless steel appliances. Had a great week long stay. Took advantage of the evening meal 2 or 3 nights. Decent food for meat eaters. I had a salad. Our son enjoyed the chicken wings and the burgers. Ate breakfast every day. Hit or miss. One day oat meal good next day not worth a darn. Parking is $20 per day unlimited valet. All the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Tip: public rail transportation just up the street. Easy to get in and out DC.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello PutJer1,

We are happy to hear that you had a great week long stay and you were able to join us for breakfast and our evening social event. I will certainly share your review with our breakfast staff to ensure our oatmeal is consistently good each day. Great tip regarding the metro which is just a block away. It really is the easiest way to visit DC and all the sights. Thank you for staying with us while visiting DC.

Kind Regards,

Shelly Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Decent location in Bethesda, good breakfast, just didn't have the friendliest experience with the staff. (for now reason.. just not that accommodating or willing to help out) Rooms are large, somewhat dated. Kitchen seemed equipped, but didn't use it. It is a fair hike to the nearest grocey, btw. Overall pricy for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hello Veffekt,

Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay at the Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our downtown location, as well as our complimentary full hot breakfast. Please accept my apologies for the experience that you had with our staff. Our goal is to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations. Unfortunately with your stay we did not meet that goal. We would certainly appreciate the opportunity to find to out specifics about your stay so we can identify the room that needs repair and as well as determine what we can do to restore your faith in our hotel. You may contact me at ri.wasbr.gm@marriott.com or call the hotel directly at 301-718-0200. I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Address: 7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.