We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY GOOD PLACE AND EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A VERY GOOD PLACE AND EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a very good hotel in 3 minutes of walk from Bethesda subway station. Friendly, helpful staff, clean spacious apartments with fully equipped kitchenette, a living room, a bedroom and tiled bathroom with a vanity - what else can a traveler need? They also serve a full English breakfast (not a" cup of coffee with a croissant " type). Perhaps some areas need a little bit of renovation but it doesn't spoil your impression of the hotel. I spent 4 nights there and I'll definitely return when I have another business trip to Washington DC.

Room Tip: No special recommendations, all apartments are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    106
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
114
38
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our two-bedroom suite was clean, quiet, and spacious; the kitchen was tight but the bathrooms were large. We found our Walter Reed commute to be easy and fast during our two-week stay. Nearby are many shops, restaurants, bars, and theaters (Trader Joes, Barnes and Noble, Jaleo, Bethesda Row Cinema). Parking is a little cheaper around the corner at the Hilton ($15 / 24 hr., no in-out privileges, pay at terminal kiosk to the right of entry).

The staff does an excellent job at this property: though we didn't use hotel parking, the valet/doormen are kind and courteous, and their infectious greetings extend to the front desk and breakfast staff. Their breakfasts were stellar, with an abundance of well-laid out, fresh offerings. One morning, the fitness room water dispenser wasn't working. After mentioning it in passing to the front desk, a tech was dispatched within 5 minutes.

We had a few meals at a neighborhood bar down the street, Markham's, and enjoyed delicious happy hour specials and friendly, quick service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo
Level Contributor
377 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The residence inn is located right downtown and is close to everything. The staff was courteous and the breakfast options were great. The biggest issue I had was that there was a leak in my toilet that would cause the water to start running every 15 minutes to fill up the toilet bowl and it was really loud. It woke me up several times throughout the night and that was very frustrating as I couldn't get the rest I needed. This was probably just an issue with my particular room and so it's not hotel wide, but it still caused me a lot of frustration.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi Mea,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review on your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the issue you had with the plumbing. As a light sleeper myself, I can completely understand how that drip would be annoying and keep you from getting a good nights sleep. Our goal is to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations. Unfortunately with your stay we did not meet that goal. We would certainly appreciate the opportunity to find to out specifics about your stay so we can identify the room that needs repair and as well as determine what we can do to restore your faith in our hotel. You may contact me at ri.wasbr.gm@marriott.com or call the hotel directly at 301-718-0200. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
184 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed for the first time at this Residence Inn and it was wonderful. A crib awaited our arrival, the room was large and comfortable, the staff couldn't have been kinder, and the price was reasonable. This will be our "go to" hotel in the DC area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi Sheila,

We are so glad that you chose to try our Residence Inn while in Bethesda with your family. Thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff. We are always happy to hear that our team made a great impression with our guests. We look forward to your future visit while in the DC area.

Regards,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here on the last night on our trip across the States and was by far our best stay. Check-in was fast and efficient, the room was spacious, quiet and clean. The free breakfast was an actual buffet instead of the usual poor quality bagels and oatmeal. The restaurants a block away are some of the best in the DC area, not to be missed! I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello roxita,

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that we were able to make the final stop in your cross country trip the best one. Thank you so much for the recommendation.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and two kids for a long weekend. It is a very convenient option for families. We were able to put both kids in the living room, use the kitchen for preparing milk and snacks, and free breakfast downstairs was a big hit. The room was decorated nicely and while it is an older building, the beds and shower were updated. On a weekend, we could here a little street noise, so I would request a high floor. There is plenty within walking distance in Bethesda and the metro is just outside. I would definitely stay here again. One note - definitely go for a room package with valet parking, as you will need it if you come with a car.

Room Tip: request a high floor facing waverly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for the nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your weekend getaway with the family and our hotel amenities. Our location in Bethesda and the suites are perfect for families visiting family and friends in the immediate area or hopping on the metro to DC. We hope to see you again when you visit Bethesda.

Warm Regards,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have stayed here on many occasions and it is well suited for suits and families given the various choices in town. It has competition but the staff makes it feel just right ...they are courteous and well trained. The rooms are traditional family suite arrangements and the property is getting a bit worn like the bathrooms, but the beds/linens are all good and the maintenance staff stays on top of everything. The free breakfast is also a nice perk. My only complaint is they need to stir the oatmeal occasionally to avoid clumping. Hopefully mgmt is reading this :-).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 872 reviews
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy C...
#10 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Address: 7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.