We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless nights” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sleepless nights”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

International traveler from UK. Stay was for 3 night (3-6th October). I assumed that restless sleep was due to time difference (UK-USA) or the intermittent clicking in and out (quite loud) of the air conditioning. However, on the third night it became apparent that the noise was from above the room and was intermittent and sounded like a large pump or fan kicking in or out. Noise lasted 5 minutes or so but was at varying intervals throughout the night.
Very unsympathetic response and questioned why I only complained on the last night? I tried to explain that I put the first nights lack of sleep to jet-lag/time difference.
I was then double charged for the room but not even an apology when they recognized it was their mistake!!
I will not be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 309 was awful but machinery noise might be an issue with other rooms on this floor. Best tip, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Good Day Bill,

Please accept my apology for restless sleep you experience while staying at our hotel. We do understand how important a good night sleep is and how difficult it can be when traveling internationally. I deeply regret that you had this experience. I was also extremely disappointed to hear about the staff response to your situation. I have spoken to the staff member and they ensured me that they did not intend for the comments to be perceived as such and ask to apologize for the misunderstanding.
Bill, our mission is to execute a level of service that exceeds your individual expectations. We regret that we did not meet this expectation during your stay. While you mentioned you would not be staying at this hotel again, we would like the opportunity to regain your trust in our services. Please contact myself if you will be traveling back to the Bethesda.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    106
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
114
38
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Everyone at this hotel is efficient and pleasant! The room was actually a bedroom, with very comfortable beds, a living room with a desk and a dining table and a kitchen. The tvs in both rooms were large and HD!
This is one of the best deals I ever found in the DC area, and it's close to the restaurants and shops in Bethesda.
You get a free breakfast, and it's a full, hot breakfast with alot of healthy choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We came for a few nights, during a family trip, to see Washington. Traveling with 3 kids, we wanted a large room, close to the metro, in a good price - and we found it all here.
Very nice staff, always willing to advice and help.
We received an e-mail a couple of days in advance, with driving directions and recommendations for dining and shopping around - nice touch.
The best breakfast complimentary breakfast we have seen in our US trip.
You also get free wifi, not a minor thing for big towns hotels.
The metro is right by, and the parking valet was useful, given limited parking options around. In fact, we did not need to use the car at all while staying.
Also a 2 minutes walk is Bethesda Row, which has a lot of dining options, and is a nice place to spend the evening.
The laundry room could use a better upkeep and maintenance, and bigger machines - as a lot of people uses it.
All in all, a very pleasant time, convenient, and would return if ever back in DC.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I admit it: Residence Inn may be my new favorite hotel brand. From the super-friendly valets for parking to the warm greeting at the Front Desk to my wonderful welcome gift to the amazing bathtub, my stay at the Bethesda Marriott was extraordinary. When I asked for directions from the valets, a map magically appeared. They were so clear in their directions, i didn't even have to take the map and I did get to my destination in no time at all. I love it, when properties have well-trained staffs. Then there were the equally well-trained and friendly front desk people, who seemed genuinely glad that I had chosen their property. My healthy goodies waiting for me were scarfed down in record time. How did they know I had skipped lunch? The bathtub was just deep enough to get a good soak and the bed made me wish I had gotten to it a lot earlier. All-in -all, this was an exemplary stay. I was so impressed with the staff that I made a special trip back to the property to meet their very effective General Manager, Shelly Sanders. I'm convinced that she is the reason why when you do a search on the Marriott.com site for Bethesda properties, this one rarely shows up; it's always booked. This property is definitely worth seeking out.

Room Tip: I always ask for a higher floor; this time, I had a beautiful L-shaped room on one of their higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed here for one night to visit a friend in the area. This was a great Residence Inn (far better than another Residence Inn we stayed in recently). The 1 bedroom suite was very large. There was room in the bedroom for the 2 queens plus our 2 portable cribs and we didn't feel cramped at all. Everything was nicely decorated and super clean. It seemed as though the hotel has been renovated recently. There is a rooftop pool - nice if you stay there in the summer. The location is great - near the Metro, restaurants, and easy to drive to. We had valet parking included in our room rate, which was approximately $150. Breakfast was included and was a big buffet of hot and cold options. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
196 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very roomy suites and great, comfortable beds. The evening reception person "Polina"(?) did an amazingly professional job dealing with a ranting, unstable guest who came to the desk in our presence at 9:30 pm and demanded that her "uncomfortable" mattress be replaced flaunting her supposed "Platinum" status and ranting about how miserable her life has been since August, blah, blah blah.... The woman at reception was evenly professional and rational in the face of a nutcase crazy lady. We were so impressed. I am actually Marriott Platinum elite, no civilized person would think of of behaving this way. Anyway, we avoided the free breakfast, which apparently gets crowded, as I recall from a visit here a few years ago.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

- the stay does include breakfast but too limited choices
- hardly anything for vegans
- Chipotle is near by
- staff is not that helpful
- location, connectivity is good
- close to subway station
- easy access to bus services
- no good mall near by only local shops
- bank of America is across the street

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy C...
#11 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Address: 7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.