We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when visiting DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Bethesda
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when visiting DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn for 3 days with the family during spring break. Very convenient access to the Metro, which is just across the street. The free breakfasts were appreciated, although the fruit options are not nearly as good as one usually finds in a Marriot hotel. However, the restaurant has a nice atmosphere, and the staff at the hotel are very helpful. The room itself was very comfortable with a two burner stove, a microwave, a large refrigerator, etc. Bethesda is a great town with superb restaurants and stores which are all an easy walk from the hotel. The rooftop pool was not open due to the season. Overall I would definitely stay here again -- it makes DC affordable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    78
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
83
27
12
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rockville Centre, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Recently my son and I went to Washington to see the Nationals new stadium. We took advantage of a weekend special we found on the Residence Inn website. The hotel is two blocks away from Washington Metro [red line - gets you downtown in 20 minutes].
In addition, there is a municipal parking lot around the corner from the hotel with free weekend parking.
The rooms in the hotel are all suites, with a good sized living room [with a sofa-bed and 2nd TV] and fully stocked kitchen. We had relatives over one night and it was perfect.
If you wish to eat out rather than cook, the hotel is two blocks away form downtown Bethena's restaurants with over 40 to choose from.
Buffet breakfast was included. The breakfast was fine except [not to get too picky] for very little fresh fruit.
All in all, a great base for a family visit to the Nation's Capital.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Har Adar
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arranged a last minute stay at this hotel due to a snowstorm which prevented us from traveling to Virginia. Our rooms were spotless, all of the appliances worked, and the staff was extremely helpful. Even though we were there over a holiday, the staff kept the breakfast bar full, and there was quite a bit of variety. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel in downtown Bethesda. Great breakfast buffet. It is a suite. I feel though that the price is too high. Price seems to fluctuate year to year. One year it's around $160 a night then the next year they want $400 a night ... come on really? We're night staying at Disney World here! Does not have a restaurant. No pool. I would stay at the Marriott on Democracy Blvd. More to do there.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a nice property in a busy location. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was a queen double with sofabed. I was honestly surprised how roomy it was. The configuration is very easy to maneuver. Someone put a lot of thought into the comfort of those needing an extended stay facility.
The bedroom was nicely furnished and clean. Beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was huge -- so rare for hotels these days. Lots of fluffy towels and also quite clean.
The kitchen was nicely appointed. Easy to use and again, surprisingly roomy.
The living room's furnishings were quite worn and could use replacement, but the dining furniture was newer-looking with good seating for four (We ate breakfast in our room to avoid the hassle downstairs).
The breakfast was good. Food was hot and staff keep things stocked. They were always ready to fulfil any requests. The offerings are repetitive, but a fix-it bar allows guests to customize their morning meal. Unfortunately, this area does need adjustment. It's hard to get to the food because seating and serving share the same space.
Metro is a quick walk away. Easy access to the red line if you need to go into DC, but you don't need to for dining as many top restaurants are also within walking distance. There is also a Regal Cinema across the street.
Paking is $20 per day, but there is free parking in Montgomery County MD lots on Saturdays and Sundays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello Mrs K.,

Thank you for writing the nice review regarding your stay at our hotel. We hope you and your family enjoyed your time in the Bethesda / DC area. During the spring break we do host a lot of families that are visiting the area due to our proximity to the Metro Red line and as you mentioned, the short walking distance to shops, restaurant and movie theatre.

Thank you again,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed 4 nights, family - 2 adults, 2 teens in a one bedroom suite. Had 2 queen beds which is nice feature. Beds are very comfortable. Rooms were clean, nothing spectacular, but didn't spend alot time in the room, visiting DC on spring break. Breakfast offered lots of nice, hot choices, staff was very attentive, making sure food never ran out during very busy time with lots of family. Like the location - close to the Red Line Metro and only a few blocks from lots of neat shops and restaurants. Didn't have a car, so didn't use the valet other than to check bags for a few hours on the last day. They were very helpful and friendly as well. Have lots of outside tables that would be fun to have breakfast and/or cocktails at in the summertime. It was colder than normal during our visit in late March so we didn't get to take advantage of these.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite was plenty of space for our family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Leslie,

Thank you for staying with us during your spring break vacation. We are happy that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and our staff attentive. Like you, many of our guests find our location near to the Metro and Bethesda Row restaurants and shops to be very convenient. Yes, March weather did come in more like a lion than a lamb. We are certainly looking forward to the warmer weather so our guests can enjoy all of our outdoor space. Thank you taking the time to complete this reveiw.

Warm Regards,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This Residence Inn looks to be remodeled 5 years ago, has an older bathroom and small kitchen. The beds were very comfortable, yeah! The location is great, across the street from the red line of the Metro. It is also a block from some diverse restaurants and shopping. During our stay one of the elevators was out and this is always a hassle in a busy hotel. The Breakfast area was packed, but they opened up a rear space with extra seating. The staff struggled to keep up with the volume.
Parking is valet and they were pretty quick getting our car, $20 per day, not bad for DC Metro area. We were in the hotel and not able to use the rooftop pool.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello Utopia from New Jersey,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at our hotel. I'm glad you found our beds comfortable and hopefully you had a good night sleep. Please accept our apology for the elevator outage. One of the elevator required servce on a Friday afternoon and we were unable to get the repair company out to fixed the elevator until first thing Monday morning. We understand the inconvenience this caused for our guest, especially considering the busy weekend. I will certainly pass on your great comments to our valet team. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your weekend stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel Bethesda
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel
Residence Inn Bethesda
Bethesda Residence Inn
Address: 7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.