We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Huge rooms, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had 15 family members staying here for a Bar Mitzvah. The rooms were all clean, very large, newly renovated, well stocked. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a wide selection. We chose this hotel after looking at 4 others in the area. The location is central and an easy walk to the metro and restaurants. Our guests mostly used the county lot around the corner, which is free on the weekends, to avoid the valet cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    88
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
95
30
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed there for one night on business and came home with classic bed bug bites on my wrists and hands. Outside inspection by pest control company didn't find anything but it was pretty classic and pretty clear. Hotel manager was very nice in handling the situation but didn't follow-up with unless I made contact. Also disappointed that when I arrived, the bed was a bit messy, as if unclear whether it had been made or not (I asked them to change sheets, which they presumably/hopefully did). On top of that, one of my towels were stained and the heating didn't work very well. Not much good to say.........

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us, and I apologize for your unpleasant experience. At the Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, and throughout Marriott, the safety, security, and overall wellbeing of our guests is our number one priority. Unfortunately, bed bugs are a very real issue when traveling today, and we take all claims of pests, including bed bugs very seriously. Our in-house staff is trained to look for signs of pests, and bed bugs during the daily cleaning of rooms and public spaces, and we have a third party complete pest inspection and prevention services routinely at our property. In the event a bed bug claim is brought to our attention, our third party pest control completes a thorough inspection of the room, and specific procedures are followed based on the finding. I will certainly share your comments in reference to the follow up and cleanliness of the suite with my team to ensure we are exceeding our guests expectation. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel was very nice with wonderful rooms; even though it has no free parking, the valet service was excellent. Breakfast area is a bit cramped but very good selection. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi Ram232,

We appreciate the nice review of our hotel regarding your stay. During holidays and weekends when the hotel is full and our guests are enjoying a leisurely morning, we do have a tendancy to have everyone visit our complimentary breakfast buffet later versus earlier. In anticipation of the this we try to all the choices well stocked. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to additional visits.

Sincerely,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

If business or pleasure takes you to Bethesda, this is a good choice of place to stay. The location is great, near the Metro red line (15 mins to dupont circle), plenty of parking options (incl $20 per night valet only at the hotel), and some nice touches (including free breakfast, decent gym room and, in summer, a rooftop pool). Free wifi throughout.

Our suite was large and well-appointed, though a little noisy (air conditioning, plumbing, lifts), but nothing too bad. Breakfast is basic and a bit of a free-for-all, but you can bring supplies back up to your suite.

Generic, reliable, recommended

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

What a friendly staff and a great location! Walking distance to many shops, eateries and the metro. We needed a pet friendly hotel and there is PetSmart, Orvus and Trader Joe's and a city park just a few blocks away. Locals and visitors were very friendly. The $200 non-refundable sanitation fee for pets is overpriced. We brought our well behaved puppy's travel crate and walk her 4 - 5 times daily. There were several dog owners - Marriott made $1000+ . . . All in all we are pleased, Marriott's corporate HQ is nearby in Rockville.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly S, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hello Lawone,

Thank you for spending your holiday with us and the nice review regarding our staff and location. Nothing makes our hotel feel more of a home away from home for our guest than bringing their pets along. We will certainly take onto consideration your comments regarding our pet fee. We look forward to your next stay with us when you visit Bethesda.

Regards,

Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our family of 5 stays here at least once a year and it is always perfect -- right in the heart of Bethesda, near the Metro and restaurants. Rooms are always clean, kitchen is useful and breakfast is ample. Highlight of this year's stay was that my husband left his iPad and someone from the hotel staff returned it.

Room Tip: We like the high floors and the two-bedroom suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

One night was all it took to give this place five stars. The two-bedroom suites are well equipped and comfortable. The staff is really accommodating, from the valet guys at the door to the housekeeping staff. You're two blocks from the Red Line on the Metro, and the breakfast room actually has a view worth viewing!

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Address: 7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.