We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

NIce hotel. Typical Residence Inn. Only complaint is the $20.00 daily parking fee with valet only access. After tips for the valet you could easily pay $30 a day just to park! This is not the RITZ or even a full Marriott.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    83
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
90
27
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Holland PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed one night and found the beds to be very comfortable, the room clean and the location convenient. For the price the room is very spacious with a full size fridge, table with four chairs, and a living room area. The bath was also very large and well laid out for two people to get ready. The breakfast was nice a variety of selections were available and the buffet was kept fresh and refilled. The parking was a bit expensive especially since we had two cars ;(. That said in all fairness the cost was well marked and I suppose if you wanted you could look for a different lot or street parking. All around a good property.

Room Tip: I was in 813 and found it to be comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed 4 nights - Great Hotel - very friendly and helpful staff! Everyone - front desk, housekeeping, valet, restaurant staff - went that extra step to make our stay very pleasant and relaxing! Hotel and rooms were all very clean and comfortable. We had a 1 bedroom suite w/King bed for 2 of us and a 1 bedroom suite w/ 2 Queen beds for 4 other family members. Free breakfast was very convenient, fresh and delicious with lots of choices. Great place for families to stay - Lots of restaurants nearby and many deliver. Short walk to Bethesda Metro station that can bring you close to any DC attraction. We took the Metro most days - very convenient. There is a $20 per day charge to park your car at the hotel but you may use your car as much as you want during the day, no charge to take it in and out. Car was brought around very quickly upon request, so it was very easy to get your car when needed. I have recommended this hotel to family and friends visiting the DC area and I would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My family stayed five nights while visiting DC. One nice perk was the breakfast. Several choices are available and the breakfast staff was very friendly. Housekeeping was also very friendly as we passed in the hall and did an excellent job of taking care of the room. Hotel is convenient to the Metro and several restaurants. During our stay, we had an issue with the AC not working properly in our room. Although I had reported on two separate days that I did not think it was working correctly (never really reached its setting), it did not get fixed by maintenance. An attempt to fix it was made on the last day of our stay (3rd notification) when the entire unit in our room was exchanged for another. This seemed to work for several hours before it stopped working in the middle of the night around 2am. My understanding is that the room units are somehow connected to a larger unit? I assume the main unit was the problem all along. The front desk arranged for another room which was much more comfortable. We just hated having to switch around 2am but the temperature in the room was nearing 80 and rising. The AC issue and it not being addressed timely or with any follow-up until the third instance was the reason for the 4 out of 5 rating. I recommend improvements to the Air Conditioning system and follow-up to maintenance issues once reported. The front desk and their manager tried to make it right and I really appreciated that.

Room Tip: Might try staying on a lower floor to avoid AC issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

stayed in July 4 nites, very nice and must be only 2~3 years old, pretty well new. Great to be down the next block to Bethesda Metro, made coming back to hotel from City sight seeing easy, even though Bethesda is a good 6~7 stops from the Smithsonian station, you get to rest your feet while riding metro back to Bethesda station. There's other stuff around hotel, but mostly we stayed here and did the metro which made it convenient to cover washington dc sights but without staying in heart of city and paying an arm and leg for hotel. Also free breakfast was great, lotsa of stuff to keep you full .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a perfect place for families or for anybody who wants to be in the DC area and is looking for good value for the money.
If you drive, be aware of a couple of things. First, the actual entrance to the hotel is on a side street, not on Wisconsin Ave which is the hotel’s address. Second, the only parking available is valet and it costs $20.00 per day.
Our one bedroom suite was large, with a full kitchen and a large bath. The toiletries provided were fine, but nothing special. The bed was comfortable, with a ton of pillows of different kinds – easy to find the perfect one for you.
Complimentary breakfast is provided every day, and on Tuesday-Thursday there is a “social evening”. Breakfast is buffet style and has a wide variety of offerings, including eggs and a couple of meat choices. The “social evening” is actually a small cafeteria meal, with a main dish and some side dishes. The complimentary breakfast and “social” mean that a family can be well fed and save some money.
The rooftop pool is small, only 4ft deep. Both times we went, in late afternoon, there were lots of children in it so swimming laps was impossible. There are lounge chairs available, but there were only about 10-15.
The laundry facilities are clean and easily accessible; the front desk gives change in the quarters needed to wash and dry your clothes.
Finally, a metro station is just up the street, so getting to downtown DC and its attractions is very convenient.
The staff were pleasant and accommodating.
Overall – not a five star hotel, but definitely a hotel that deserves five stars for what it offers. I would most definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pokadotj
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in June. Traveled with 4 adults and 5 children. We had 3 rooms. Two suite with a king size bed and One suite with two beds. All the rooms were very clean and spacious. We were in DC for the Girl Scouts rock the mall. They started breakfast earlier to accommodate the large amount of guests. The staff worked very hard to keep everything filled and clearing the tables. The breakfast area offered plenty of seating including an outdoor patio which the kids enjoyed. The pool is located on the roof. It is not very big but it had a life guard. Big plus. The area around the pool provided a nice view of Bethesda.
The location was very convenient, many restaurants and the Metro were within walking distance. The Metro red line is a block away. you need to change trains to get to the National Mall.
The front desk was friendly but appeared to be new as they weren't familiar with area businesses and restaurants. The manager was constantly around asking if you needed anything. Very nice.
The only inconvenience was the elevators are very slow and stairs are not an option as they are basically only for emergency.
We got a great rate and would stay there again. It is a typical Residence Inn and did not disappoint.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Address: 7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.