We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View from Rooftop Pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Great View from Rooftop Pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Lovely, modern, clean, comfortable RI accomodations. Great view from rooftop pool.

Reliable good-quality breakfasts & suppers.

Valet parking only option  ($20).

Convenient walking location -- numerous eateries (outdoor seating) & shops. (Pleasurable after dinner stroll.)

Two computers & printer in seated business area.

Everything you expect from a quality RI -- doesn't disappoint.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. The roof does offer a great view, and during the summer season is a big hit with families utilizing our swimming pool and sundeck. We look forward to your retrun visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    93
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
99
31
17
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rockville Centre, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I wound up using Marriott points and was upgraded to a two bedroom suite. Room was really nice, and the lady at the desk (Candice), was a fill in, but she was very, very nice and helpful. The hotel is close to restaurants and bars. The valet people were nice too. In the morning, the normal staff did not say hello, nor goodbye when we left.

Room Tip: Be sure to put the do not disturb sign on, house keeping came a knocking at 830am
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Good Afternoon. Thank you for your great comments about Candice. She is an amazing associate and we were thrilled ot have her help out during a busy time. I am sorry oyu were disturbed early from housekeeping. Our staff starts cleaning at 8:30am and finishes around 4:00 pm. I have shared this with them to make sure they are starting with rooms that have already departed first. I am dissapointed that you did not recieve a friendly greeting form our staff upon leaving. I have hsared this with them during our daily huddle meeting and they are committed to not missing anyone. Thanks so much for your comments so we can constantly improve. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Juliet
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Excellent location, Metro about two blocks away. Walking distance to many good restaurants and close to excellent walking/running trail. Hotel was very nice, clean and modern room. Arrived early morning and was allowed to check-in and also directed to breakfast which was very nice. Breakfast each morning was good. They tried to mix it up each morning but there was always plenty of food. Breakfast area could get crowded depending on time but not a real inconvinence. Front desk very helpful. Great location for the D.C. area and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here. We were pleased ot hear that you found our breakfast enjoyable and a pleasing variety. We have been trying very hard to make quality improvements, and based on our guest feedback through conversation and hotel solicited comment cards we have begun adding items. We have changed the flavors of yogurt, added bacon, and included turkey substitutions for pork. These are just some examples to show that we listen to our guests and it is paying off. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had a very good experience at this hotel. We stayed there for a long weekend in late March with our toddler son in a one bedroom suite. It was a nice-sized room, clean, well-appointed with room to spread out. It was very helpful to have a nice kitchen, and everything worked well. Breakfast was good and very convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful - nothing spectacuar, but definitely adequate. The location is great - steps from the Metro to get downtown quickly, and lots of parking nearby. Don't use the valet as there is much cheaper public parking a block away. The neighborhood is nice, safe, and walkable. I would definitely stay there again on our next trip to DC - it works perfectly for a family.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The free breakfast offers a lot of choices and the food is usually very good. Conference rooms are larger than any others in Bethesda, I believe. There is a fully-stocked kitchenette (minus food, of course). It's not just a microwave and fridge. It's very comfortable for extended business stays.

TV is old school (not 1080-anything). I think they've had enough time to upgrade, but probably prefer lower ratings over purchasing new TVs. Their internet sucks just like most hotels. It's satellite based and probably uses bandwidth throttling. For our annual conferences, we need high-speed internet. But at this hotel, that's just not possible. Lucky for them, I don't choose where the conferences are held.

Their professional services people (the people who help out with conferences) are fairly helpful.

I've been there 8 or 9 times, and I've never noticed an actual business center. They do have a couple of internet kiosks in the lobby with attached printers. And you can get copies made, for something like 44 cents a page.

Room Tip: This hotel has very slow elevators. Try to get a room on the ground floor. It'll take 10 minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for writing a response to your stay during your meeting here at our hotel. Our elevators are all brand new and just finished a million dollar renovation and upgrade. Unfortunatly during your stay several guests were horsing around on one of the elevators after a long night out and jammed one of the doors open. While we were able to get it operation it was slower than normal and had to be calibrated. For safety reasons we had shut it down till someone could come out and fix it. This hampered spped of the other elevator during a busy time. For this we are truly sorry. Currently our high speed internet is being upgraded and when done will have 30 megs for the hotel which will be able to handle all ofour guests internet needs. This should be accomplished soon. Thank you again for letting us know. To many times guest check out and do not share their experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We wanted to be able to cook, so I booked a room with an oven. The first room had an oven but the bedroom window did not close. They moved us to the penthouse, which is nothing but the 13th floor, no oven. When I asked they told me that only 2 bedrooms had ovens. The 2nd room the bathroom door did not close. This is a nice hotel but too many things did not work. The next moring I found out that most 1 bedrooms have oven. This is funny because I have a time share at disney and never use the oven. The hotel is nice and the breakfast was good. If you go to this hotel, make sure everything works before you unpack

Room Tip: The penhouse is nothing special, it does have a roof top patio, but all 3 rooms have access to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey on your stay with us. Unfortunately not all of our suites have ovens. We understand though when the need for an oven on the trip you had planned with your daughter. We offered points and a complimentary upgrade to a Two Bedroom Suite so that you could have the oven that you requested with our reservations system. We understood that you were still dissapointed and decided to check out the next day which is why we did not charge you for your first day. We have shared your comments with our reservation staff to ensure that when someone books a room and specifically requests an oven that we explain that they are not guarateed but we will try to accomadate their request and keep them involved.

Again, thank you for your feedback and positive comments about our food. We do a great job on our Breakfat buffet, and it is a standout in the market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This hotel is a nice choice for staying in the D.C. area, for both the business and leisure traveler, on a long-term or short-term basis. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite, which was nicely equipped with a small kitchen (stove top, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator), a good-sized living room (with a work desk, dining room table, TV, and couch), and a large bedroom (with a second TV). The room is well-kept, though the bathroom shows it’s age. The shower is tricky to use, but OK. It unfortunately lacks an in-room safe. However, the room is very comfortable, and would be very adequate for a long-term stay.
The stay includes a generous daily breakfast, served in a pleasant dining room. There is also a coin laundry and a small fitness room. The staff is nice, and fairly responsive to problems and issues. Wireless Internet is free, and there are three computers with printers in the lobby. Parking is expensive, but is in line with other Bethesda hotels.
The location is quite good. The Bethesda Metro station is 2 blocks away, and Downtown Bethesda is a short walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I wanted to write to thank you for the great comments about our hotel. OUr staff has been here for over 15 years and are dedicated to make sure everyone has a great stay and enjoy the hotel. While we do not have in-room safes, we do provide complimentary safes next to the Front Desk in a secured area for our guests to use. They rnage in siz and can accomodate a laptop if necessary. I am not sure if the staff explained this to you, but we have shared your survey as well as others in our morning huddle meeting and talk about ways we can get this information to our guests, prior to them asking for it. Parking is a challange in Bethesda and appreciate your comments on how we compare in the market. We are actually one of the lowest. Saturdays and Sundays at the public garages one block away are free and may be option for those coming on the weekends.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Address: 7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.