We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
Mt. Juliet
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Excellent location, Metro about two blocks away. Walking distance to many good restaurants and close to excellent walking/running trail. Hotel was very nice, clean and modern room. Arrived early morning and was allowed to check-in and also directed to breakfast which was very nice. Breakfast each morning was good. They tried to mix it up each morning but there was always plenty of food. Breakfast area could get crowded depending on time but not a real inconvinence. Front desk very helpful. Great location for the D.C. area and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here. We were pleased ot hear that you found our breakfast enjoyable and a pleasing variety. We have been trying very hard to make quality improvements, and based on our guest feedback through conversation and hotel solicited comment cards we have begun adding items. We have changed the flavors of yogurt, added bacon, and included turkey substitutions for pork. These are just some examples to show that we listen to our guests and it is paying off. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    87
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
93
30
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had a very good experience at this hotel. We stayed there for a long weekend in late March with our toddler son in a one bedroom suite. It was a nice-sized room, clean, well-appointed with room to spread out. It was very helpful to have a nice kitchen, and everything worked well. Breakfast was good and very convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful - nothing spectacuar, but definitely adequate. The location is great - steps from the Metro to get downtown quickly, and lots of parking nearby. Don't use the valet as there is much cheaper public parking a block away. The neighborhood is nice, safe, and walkable. I would definitely stay there again on our next trip to DC - it works perfectly for a family.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The free breakfast offers a lot of choices and the food is usually very good. Conference rooms are larger than any others in Bethesda, I believe. There is a fully-stocked kitchenette (minus food, of course). It's not just a microwave and fridge. It's very comfortable for extended business stays.

TV is old school (not 1080-anything). I think they've had enough time to upgrade, but probably prefer lower ratings over purchasing new TVs. Their internet sucks just like most hotels. It's satellite based and probably uses bandwidth throttling. For our annual conferences, we need high-speed internet. But at this hotel, that's just not possible. Lucky for them, I don't choose where the conferences are held.

Their professional services people (the people who help out with conferences) are fairly helpful.

I've been there 8 or 9 times, and I've never noticed an actual business center. They do have a couple of internet kiosks in the lobby with attached printers. And you can get copies made, for something like 44 cents a page.

Room Tip: This hotel has very slow elevators. Try to get a room on the ground floor. It'll take 10 minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for writing a response to your stay during your meeting here at our hotel. Our elevators are all brand new and just finished a million dollar renovation and upgrade. Unfortunatly during your stay several guests were horsing around on one of the elevators after a long night out and jammed one of the doors open. While we were able to get it operation it was slower than normal and had to be calibrated. For safety reasons we had shut it down till someone could come out and fix it. This hampered spped of the other elevator during a busy time. For this we are truly sorry. Currently our high speed internet is being upgraded and when done will have 30 megs for the hotel which will be able to handle all ofour guests internet needs. This should be accomplished soon. Thank you again for letting us know. To many times guest check out and do not share their experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We wanted to be able to cook, so I booked a room with an oven. The first room had an oven but the bedroom window did not close. They moved us to the penthouse, which is nothing but the 13th floor, no oven. When I asked they told me that only 2 bedrooms had ovens. The 2nd room the bathroom door did not close. This is a nice hotel but too many things did not work. The next moring I found out that most 1 bedrooms have oven. This is funny because I have a time share at disney and never use the oven. The hotel is nice and the breakfast was good. If you go to this hotel, make sure everything works before you unpack

Room Tip: The penhouse is nothing special, it does have a roof top patio, but all 3 rooms have access to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey on your stay with us. Unfortunately not all of our suites have ovens. We understand though when the need for an oven on the trip you had planned with your daughter. We offered points and a complimentary upgrade to a Two Bedroom Suite so that you could have the oven that you requested with our reservations system. We understood that you were still dissapointed and decided to check out the next day which is why we did not charge you for your first day. We have shared your comments with our reservation staff to ensure that when someone books a room and specifically requests an oven that we explain that they are not guarateed but we will try to accomadate their request and keep them involved.

Again, thank you for your feedback and positive comments about our food. We do a great job on our Breakfat buffet, and it is a standout in the market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This hotel is a nice choice for staying in the D.C. area, for both the business and leisure traveler, on a long-term or short-term basis. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite, which was nicely equipped with a small kitchen (stove top, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator), a good-sized living room (with a work desk, dining room table, TV, and couch), and a large bedroom (with a second TV). The room is well-kept, though the bathroom shows it’s age. The shower is tricky to use, but OK. It unfortunately lacks an in-room safe. However, the room is very comfortable, and would be very adequate for a long-term stay.
The stay includes a generous daily breakfast, served in a pleasant dining room. There is also a coin laundry and a small fitness room. The staff is nice, and fairly responsive to problems and issues. Wireless Internet is free, and there are three computers with printers in the lobby. Parking is expensive, but is in line with other Bethesda hotels.
The location is quite good. The Bethesda Metro station is 2 blocks away, and Downtown Bethesda is a short walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResidenceInn, General Manager at Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I wanted to write to thank you for the great comments about our hotel. OUr staff has been here for over 15 years and are dedicated to make sure everyone has a great stay and enjoy the hotel. While we do not have in-room safes, we do provide complimentary safes next to the Front Desk in a secured area for our guests to use. They rnage in siz and can accomodate a laptop if necessary. I am not sure if the staff explained this to you, but we have shared your survey as well as others in our morning huddle meeting and talk about ways we can get this information to our guests, prior to them asking for it. Parking is a challange in Bethesda and appreciate your comments on how we compare in the market. We are actually one of the lowest. Saturdays and Sundays at the public garages one block away are free and may be option for those coming on the weekends.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Not the BEST RI I have ever stayed in but its good points outweigh its not so good. GREAT location for getting to all of the DC attractions. MANY good restaurants within walking distance. Don't pay for valet! around corner between Montgomery and East-West Hiway is a municipal parking garage with metered parking but is FREE on weekends. On Friday pay until 10PM and on Monday be sure to pay from 7AM. Rooms are very clean. Buffet breakfast is good if you are in a hurry or want to save money and spend on restaurants in the evening. VERY SAFE hotel; my daughter stayed here with my toddler grandson for a whole month and they were very satisfied.

Room Tip: Don't choose 1018. The bathroom counter is very little. 1017 is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We (family of 3) stayed at the Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown on a Friday and Saturday night. The suite was comfortable and clean. The only downside to the suite was that there was no shampoo in the room when we arrived. The hotel has a valet and bell service, which is unusual for a Residence Inn. On the downside, there is no onsite self-park. Valet parking is $20 a day. There is a municipal garage a block away, which is free on the weekends. We used that garage, and since it was not particularly crowded when we parked, it was convenient. The hotel is only about a block from the Metro, and right on Wisconsin Ave., so its location is convenient. The Metro ride to the Mall and museums is very convenient, and the rate was much less than Residence Inns in DC itself. There appear to be at least a couple of restaurants on every block on Wisconsin Ave around the hotel, although we did not wind eating nearby. The breakfast bar was good, as I expect with Residence Inns. The staff was friendly and efficient. The wi-fi signal was strong.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown

Address: 7335 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.