We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda Marriott to your Saves list
Bethesda Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Bluefield
2 reviews
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Room was clean, staff friendly, room service great. The restaurant inside the hotel was very tasty as well!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    99
    75
    30
    15
See reviews for
59
33
32
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

as others reviewed, the hotel is too far from attractions in D.C. With traffic jam, it takes about 40 minutes to 1.5 hrs to get to D.C. I don't have much complaints for the hotel itself. The service was as good as other Marriott and amentiy(indoor pool, fitness) is okay as well. The parking fee ($12/day) is pretty ridiculous since the hotel is very isolated suburban area. They basically drew a line in the lot and collected parking fee for doing nothing. No free breakfast and no free internet was disadvantages for me since I was travelling with my family.

This hotel would be okay if you travel for business nearby. If you travel for D.C tour, this is no-no unless you get a superb deal

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

This hotel made up for location through great service. I took an early flight and arrived at 9:00 AM. I was allowed to check in and was easily upgraded to a conceirge room. Desk staff was excellent; friendly and quite helpful. The hotel was clean and has a coffee shop and restaurant in the lobby area. There isn't really anything else close by without taking the metro shuttle to the metro or the other shuttle that runs once an hour to downtown Bethesda.

The one rather big draw back is the distance from DC. There were no hotels in the city so I stay here. It is about a 40 minute (easy) metro ride and then a 10 or 15 minute hotel shuttle from the metro stop to the hotel. The shuttle runs every 30 mins and was free. I took a cab one morning and paid $45 so stick to the metro for about $4.

I'd stay here again as long as I had the time to commute in to the city.

I was really concerned when I found I had the room immediately next to the ice and vending machines. It was absolutely silent and I actually enjoyed being so close to the elevator. The desk clerk provide a helpful map to local running on the "Trolley Trail" which provided some great running.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Fiancee was taking class at the NIH, so looked for hotels on Priceline, and got a good deal for this hotel. Overall, the hotel is rather nice. The hotel looks updated, and the rooms were nicely appointed.

It wasn't until I tried to get some food that I noticed this hotel is isolated from everything. With the hotel's proximity to DC, I assumed everything would be near by. That is not the case. First off, the hotel is in the middle of 2 metro stations, but they are both 1 mile away. They offer shuttles to the NIH/Metro, but they are only available every half-hour, so if you just miss the shuttle, be prepared to wait around. Second, the nearest restaurant is 1.8 miles away. There is a restaurant in the lobby, but the food is expensive, at $20+/plate.

The hotel does not have a free continental breakfast, unless you are staying in certain floors. Also, the internet is an additional fee ($12/day). Parking is $12/day, so despite getting a good deal on the room, the hidden fees add up quickly.

The service at the hotel was great. They seem genuinely concerned in making sure your trip meets your expectations.

If this hotel was closer to "stuff", it would be easy to recommend. But it isn't, so you should seek shelter closer in to DC.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

I stayed here only because it was part of a government sponsored meeting. It was previously at the Bethesda Hyatt which I thought was a low point, but this was worse. The whole hotel had a sense more of a Ho Jo's than a Marriott. Once you were past the lobby, eveything was musty and dingy. The furniture in my room had dinks and was well worn. Despite looking like a high rise from the picture, the majority of the rooms were in the low rise wings that furthered the sense of being in a Ho Jo's with my room looking out directly on a parking lot (where people getting out of their cars could also easily look in at me). The hotel was over run by kids on school trips and not well supervised, so the hallways were constantly noise, even at night. And, the worst part was that it was out in the middle of no where, a mile and a half from the NIH metro stop. I took a shuttle back to it and it was okay, but I arrived late at night so cabbed it for $40 from Union Station. T One of my colleagues arrived at 8:00 AM, but couldn't get a cab or shuttle and ended up walking it. he only restaurant choice without taking the cab or shuttle is there and I had the worst risotto of my life for dinner. The only good point was the friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Stayed here for two nights for a meeting taking place in the hotel. It is a good hotel and what you expect from a good Marriott. The decor is good throughout, the atmosphere is good, the lobby is welcoming, the staff are friendly, it has a good gift shop and a very good restaurant (for both breakfast, lunch and dinner), the room is great and very comfortable. I had a good stay here. The main problem, however, is its location. I wouldnt have chosen to stay here had the meeting I was attending not taking place here. Its in the middle of a residential area and as far as I can work out, no shop, restaurant, metro station, is within walking distance. One either has to drive, take a taxi or take the hotel shuttle bus. OK, it does offer a free shuttle bus at half hour interval to the nearest metro station, it is just not convenient. In terms of rates, I paid $135 for my second night - special rate for attending the meeting I was attending but around $240 for the first night, as they sold out of the special rate and this was the standard rate for the hotel. $240 doesnt include breakfast. For the location, this is expensive. And for this hotel class and rate, I expect to find a fridge and a safe in the room, but there arent any.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Stayed here because my regular hotel in this area, the Bethesda North Marriott, was full. Bottom line, for very comparable rates, the Bethesda North Marriott is a much better hotel. All of my comparisons here are to the Bethesda North Marriott, as it's only a couple of miles away and should be a viable alternative for most people.

This one is an older building (would guess 25-30 years old) that's been well refurbished and maintained, but still only has three elevators for 16 floors and one of those has to serve as the service elevator. Expect to spend some time waiting for the elevator. Apparently no HVAC in the hallways either, as they were consistently hot and muggy. Also, the rooms are somewhat smaller, but the bathrooms are tiny (don't expect to be able to close the 21" wide door without straddling the toilet). HVAC system though is actually materially quieter and works well.

Checked in late Monday to a room that had a TV that didn't work and a bathroom with a dirty bathtub. Manager on duty responded quickly and moved me down the hall and credited my Marriott Rewards account for an extra night stay. Anyone can have a problem; it's how you respond to those, and they passed this test with flying colors but my experience with the North property is similar when a problem arises.

So TV in new room still required me to turn it on, turn it off, and turn it back on again for it to work. From the response I got when I called about the first room's tv, apparently that's the normal procedure for the tv's in this hotel. What is it with tvs in Marriotts? The North property also consistently has issues at least with some channels as well.

Restaurant was good with a decent menu and quality. Room service quality was good, but prices on many things are higher (ice cream $6.75 vs $5.00 with a MUCH smaller portion). Which leads me to the most irritating thing I found here: No one answers the phone quickly. Good thing it's a speaker phone, as you'll be waiting a couple of minutes at least for someone to answer no matter what you call about. Thus, the two stars for service.

OK, a really nice feature was the Elite Check In kiosk on the way in which is staffed by a wonderful gentleman who is a gem. Wish the North property would have the same and hire him to run it. He asked my name, a couple of questions about parking and internet, gave me my keys, some directions and times for restaurant and room service, and I was on my way to my room in less than 60 seconds. Wonderful!

So, not a "bad" hotel, but, for a Marriott, not that great either. Again, the Bethesda North Marriott is a better physical plant and service and responsiveness are far superior. Wouldn't recommend this one to a friend primarily because there's such a better alternative just a couple of miles away.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott

Address: 5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the comforts of the distinctive Bethesda Marriott, a premier Maryland hotel where spacious guest rooms, luxury amenities and attentive service set the pace for an exceptional stay. Conveniently situated in the thriving Capital Region northwest of Washington, D.C., The list of things to do is endless as guests find themselves surrounded by hundreds of restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping. Located only two miles from downtown Bethesda, our hotel's fine services include complimentary shuttle service to the downtown district and other local destinations including the National Institute of Health, White Flint Mall and the Metro's Red Line which provides continuous service to downtown Washington, D.C. Guests also enjoy direct access to I-270 and I-495 from our sophisticated Bethesda, MD hotel. Boasting 18,500 square feet of flexible, state-of-the-art event space, our hotel is ideal for corporate meetings, professional gatherings and elegant wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bethesda Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.