We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel close to NIH” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda Marriott to your Saves list
Bethesda Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A nice hotel close to NIH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

A very nice hotel. Beds and pillows are spectacular as usual for this chain. Nice toiletries.
Reception staff friendly and prompt.
Restaurant has excellent food although menu is a bit limited. Service good>
Shuttle schedule is not always predictable and slowed down by check points entering NIH. Pick up not timely at times.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    108
    83
    32
    18
See reviews for
65
33
34
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

So this hotel is not in the city but you still have to pay for parking!?! The location is convenient if your visiting the NIH. However, I'd rather stay in Bethesda itself. I have stayed at this hotel a few times, booked by bidding on priceline. Therefore for the price I bid, it was a good deal. However, they charge you for parking so park on the street, just move your car by 7am. The rooms are not like a high end marriott, but I think thats universal. It was a nice hotel and the staff kinda knows me, treats me well even though I'm only silver and have loyalty to starwoods! Just use the hotel to stay the night and the gym. Don't eat at the restaraunt as its a rip-off and bethesda has over a 100 restaraunts to choose from!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

The positives: quiet, comfortable beds, clean, fitness center had good selection of equipment, decent value - our room rate was $89 per night plus taxes.
The negatives: location not within walking distance of any restaurants or stores - car dependent. Bathroom water pressure low, poor ventilation, room temperature too hot and could not be adjusted to be below 65 - thermostat probably not accurate. Same issue with fitness center too hot. Parking and internet were extra costs, no refrigerator in room. Maintenance issues - for example no clean earphones in fitness center on multiple days. Rooms small with low ceilings. Restaurant food was mediocre.

Bedside nightable drawer had copy of Bible and Book of Mormon (but no Koran or other religious texts).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

I was leaving my meeting and went outside for a cab. There was no valet or bellhop outside and a gentleman I had never seen approached me, pointed to his unmarked car and said 'I can take you, where you going?' As a very frequent traveler, I do not get into unmarked cars alone. I went back into the hotel reception to ask for a cab to be called for me. The gentleman followed me inside and insisted to the receptionist that he was indeed hired by the hotel.
In the end I waited for a cab that didn't come, and the next day a very similar story, and the next. I ended up walking, along Rockville Pike in my work clothes to the metro. The hotel staff should take better care of their guests transportation needs.
Also, there's no wifi in the meeting rooms.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

The hotel was lovely...the staff could not have been more accommodating. I was beginning a trial at NIH and really needed a relaxing place to stay after a long day of tests, etc. On our first morning, my mother and I discovered we had nothing but cold water in our bathroom. We informed the desk, and were assured it would be fixed. At the end of the day, we found we still had nothing but cold showers. The person at the desk was very apologetic, telling us that there was a note saying it had been fixed. But, since it had not been fixed, we were moved to a concierge floor, given free internet, and many coupons for free coffee. Not only did we now have hot showers, we were exceedingly impressed with the desire of the staff to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The hotel has a shuttle to the NIH, and if you're travelling at off times, just schedule a pick-up at the desk and they will take care of you. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. I will be returning to the NIH weekly for the next two months, and have already booked the Marriott for every trip. Thank you to the staff at Pooks Hill Rd!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington MA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

My husband and I have used this hotel numerous times for weekend stays when the rates were especially attractive--I usually check other alternatives before booking. We request and have always gotten a high floor, extra towels, and a small refrigerator (no charge for this). Our king rooms have been large, well-lit, and clean; the beds at this and other Marriotts are extremely comfortable. Service is good; the staff are pleasant and very responsive to any complaint.

We have often taken advantage of the indoor/outdoor pool and the exercise facilities. Both are well maintained. The indoor part of the pool has warm water and is very suitable for kids. The fitness center provides clean headphones and fresh fruit.

The hotel's location is convenient only for someone with a car. We have never used the shuttle, but I've heard other guests complaining about the schedule. A reliable shuttle would definitely be a plus, since the hotel is quite handy to downtown Bethesda and the Metro. We avoid the parking fee by parking on the street--very easy on the weekend, a bit more challenging but still feasible during the week.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

Good hotel. Concierge level is nothing special. Service good.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott

Address: 5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the transformation of the Bethesda Marriott, a premier Maryland hotel where reinvented guest rooms, luxury amenities and attentive service set the pace for an exceptional stay. Conveniently situated in the thriving Capital Region northwest of Washington, D.C., The list of things to do is endless as guests find themselves surrounded by hundreds of restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping. Located only two miles from downtown Bethesda, our hotel's fine services include complimentary shuttle service to the downtown district and other local destinations including the National Institute of Health, Montgomery Mall and the Metro's Red Line which provides continuous service to downtown Washington, D.C. Guests also enjoy direct access to I-270 and I-495 from our sophisticated Bethesda, MD hotel. Boasting 18,500 square feet of flexible, state-of-the-art event space, our hotel is ideal for corporate meetings, professional gatherings and elegant wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Bethesda Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.