We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda Marriott to your Saves list
Bethesda Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
“Very good stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed here at the Bethesda Marriott for a week (July 13-19) during the National Young Leaders Conference. I have to say that I was very impressed. The beds and cots were very comfortable. The room is clean. It was just annoying that the movies were blocked because we were part of the group. I stayed on the 4th floor of the hotel. The Agio restaurant tastes fantastic, and I was so happy when I learned that you served Starbucks Coffee! The conference rooms (especially Potomac) was very cold, and we had to sit through the cold air for a long time. The store had a great selection of necessities and snacks for the night. The wifi is expensive but it was unbelievably fast, I'm amazed. The front desk staff during the day were not friendly and sometimes even rude. The night staff was very welcoming.Other than that, I enjoyed my stay, and will consider coming back with my family in the future! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_mcneill, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Andre R,

It makes us happy to hear you had a very good stay recently at our hotel. We are glad to learn that you room accommodations were to your liking and that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities our hotel provides. We appreciate you pointing out issues good and bad with our front desk staff. We will take note of this as we are always working on ways we can improve to make a guest's stay more enjoyable from start to finish. We look forward to welcoming you and hopefully your family to our hotel, some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    114
    92
    37
    19
See reviews for
75
35
35
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

$15 to park, but was comped at check out.
The front desk clerk was very rude, had the personality of a turd, so that set me off from the start.
Rooms were adequate. $12.95 for wifi only free in public areas.
Found ants in our room, informed the front desk they may want to spray, cut $25 off my bill.
It was OK. Nothing to write home about

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_mcneill, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear TaraLynn74,

We appreciate the time you took to share your opinions of our hotel. While it is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way, Clearly we did not maintain Marriott's high standards of hospitality and for that we apologize. We appreciate the time you took to point out where you feel we were lacking as we view this as an incredible opportunity to make it right for the next guest. We are glad to know that some adjustments were made to help compensate for your inconveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is very easy to find just off 495. The entrance is well marked and the grounds are lovely. Upon entering the hotel for check-in, the bell man to the right stood there leaning on the stand and when I asked where check-in was he seemed annoyed. Check-in is to the left and back. Not very intuitive as you walk in and the restaurant is directly in front of you. At the desk, the gentleman checked me in without any enthusiasm. I had to ask about parking, where the elevators were, if I had lounge access (platinum), where the lounge was etc. The room was typical renovated king bed room. Clean and comfortable. The lounge was also standard but again there was no welcome by the staff. No smile. Just someone to clean up and clear the dish tray. Marriott standard by looks but not by action/words. I gave it a 3 due to the meeting the Marriott standard. Although I was not there during the day, there is some construction going on. They do notify you of that upon check-in and with signage throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_mcneill, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear blondechickma,

Clearly, we did not live up to your expectations regarding Marriott's high standards of hospitality at our hotel and for that we do apologize. We appreciate the time you took to point out where you feel we were lacking as we view this as an incredible opportunity to make it right for our next guest. Rest assured we will be reviewing each item with the relevant departments to ensure that we address these issue. We do hope to welcome you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My family and I stayed at the hotel this past weekend while attending a wedding. The group rate for the wedding was quite reasonable by DC standards. The rooms were decent, typical Marriott amenities. The every half-hour free shuttle to the NIH Medical Center Metro stop was very useful, and the driver kindly provided cold water bottles to those of us melting in the DC heat. The hotel staff was very helpful across the board, but the service in the restaurant for breakfast was a bit hit and miss. Some of the servers were quite good, but a couple others seemed overwhelmed by the volume of diners. I would suggest that management add a few additional servers when there are groups staying at the hotel. The elevators are a bit slow. Overall, it was a favorable experience.

Room Tip: If you are on the lower floors you can take the steps instead of waiting for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_mcneill, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear JRDEagan_Minne...,

It means a lot to us that our friends from Minnesota had such a wonderful time at our hotel while attending a wedding. We are happy that you found the staff friendly and helpful, that your room accommodations were to your liking and that our convenient shuttle and driver made a difference in your stay with us. We appreciate your comments on the lack of server staff in the restaurant and have taken note so we can bring it to managements attention. We do hope next time you are in the area we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
208 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a very good Marriott, but beware that they are doing major construction on the exterior, and for the next several weeks it is likely to be VERY noisy from 8-4 pm weekdays. On the great side is Maria is the best hostess of a concierge lounge in they entire system. Don't miss her nightly feast. Her alter ego Hilda does a great job for breakfast as well.

Room Tip: But noise will improve in Sept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_mcneill, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear James W,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize our associates Maria and Hilda,from our Concierge Lounge, as part of your positive experience at our hotel. We will be sure to pass the accolades along to them. Yes, we are doing some enhancements to the hotel to maintain Marriott's exceptional standards. We apologize if this disturbed you in any way, as it is not our intention to impact the guest experience in any way. We appreciate your visit and hope to welcome you back again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here twice in the past month. It is a great location off the 495 Beltway with easy access to Washington
and the surrounding area. The last visit we had adjoining rooms with my son , wife and 18 month old and 4 yo granddaughters. We spent several thrilling hours in the indoor and outdoor pools. There is a free shuttlebus that will take you to the NIH Metro Stop and several locations in Bethesda.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_mcneill, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Jawdoc524,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your review with other TripAdvisor members. Many enjoy staying at our hotel because of the convenient location and shuttle service. It makes us happy to know it made a difference in your stay with us. We love hearing you had a "thrilling few hours" at our pool area and enjoyed time with family. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Not up to Marriott standards. I have stayed at many full service Marriotts both in the US and elsewhere, and I generally know what to expect. This place was disappointing in an important way.

We were there for a Bar Mitzvah, and many of the out of town guests stayed at this hotel at a group rate. So I can't comment on prices.

The room was standard Marriott, and was acceptable by that standard. The rest of the hotel was fair, with more trash around than I would expect.

The disappointing part was the party on Saturday evening. I have eaten many banquet meals, and this was the worst ever. The food was low end diner quality served cold; probably after being left out too long. Those who ordered steak complained of over-cooking. My salmon was mostly tasteless. Veggies were blah. This comment on the food is made allowing for the challenge of serving large numbers of people at the same time. But the worst was the service. At our table of eight, two guests did not get their dinner after multiple requests directed at wait staff, who seemed indifferent (Replies were a curt "Being cooked", with an unsympathetic manner). At no time did a supervisor appear to apologize or otherwise indicate concern. The host family had to personally get involved, and were clearly upset at the poor performance of the hotel. Dinner for the two diners came out after the rest of the group had finished. Again, no apology.

Outrageously bad performance by the hotel at an important event for the host family and their guests.

Good news: A well equipped fitness center.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_mcneill, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear MattS.24,

We appreciate the time that you took to post your review of our hotel and are very happy you found it a nice place to stay. While it is never our intention to disappoint our guests, we appreciate your honest feedback about our cuisine and servers at your family event and we will be sharing it with our food and beverage staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bethesda Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott

Address: 5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the transformation of the Bethesda Marriott, a premier Maryland hotel where reinvented guest rooms, luxury amenities and attentive service set the pace for an exceptional stay. Conveniently situated in the thriving Capital Region northwest of Washington, D.C., the list of things to do is endless as guests find themselves surrounded by hundreds of restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping. Located only two miles from downtown Bethesda, our hotel's fine services include complimentary shuttle service to the downtown district and other local destinations including the National Institute of Health, Montgomery Mall and the Metro's Red Line which provides continuous service to downtown Washington, D.C. Guests also enjoy direct access to I-270 and I-495 from our sophisticated Bethesda, MD hotel. Boasting 18,500 square feet of flexible, state-of-the-art event space, our hotel is ideal for corporate meetings, professional gatherings and elegant wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Bethesda Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.