We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Marriott appearance without the same level of service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda Marriott to your Saves list
Bethesda Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Standard Marriott appearance without the same level of service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is very easy to find just off 495. The entrance is well marked and the grounds are lovely. Upon entering the hotel for check-in, the bell man to the right stood there leaning on the stand and when I asked where check-in was he seemed annoyed. Check-in is to the left and back. Not very intuitive as you walk in and the restaurant is directly in front of you. At the desk, the gentleman checked me in without any enthusiasm. I had to ask about parking, where the elevators were, if I had lounge access (platinum), where the lounge was etc. The room was typical renovated king bed room. Clean and comfortable. The lounge was also standard but again there was no welcome by the staff. No smile. Just someone to clean up and clear the dish tray. Marriott standard by looks but not by action/words. I gave it a 3 due to the meeting the Marriott standard. Although I was not there during the day, there is some construction going on. They do notify you of that upon check-in and with signage throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_mcneill, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear blondechickma,

Clearly, we did not live up to your expectations regarding Marriott's high standards of hospitality at our hotel and for that we do apologize. We appreciate the time you took to point out where you feel we were lacking as we view this as an incredible opportunity to make it right for our next guest. Rest assured we will be reviewing each item with the relevant departments to ensure that we address these issue. We do hope to welcome you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    99
    75
    30
    15
See reviews for
59
33
32
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My family and I stayed at the hotel this past weekend while attending a wedding. The group rate for the wedding was quite reasonable by DC standards. The rooms were decent, typical Marriott amenities. The every half-hour free shuttle to the NIH Medical Center Metro stop was very useful, and the driver kindly provided cold water bottles to those of us melting in the DC heat. The hotel staff was very helpful across the board, but the service in the restaurant for breakfast was a bit hit and miss. Some of the servers were quite good, but a couple others seemed overwhelmed by the volume of diners. I would suggest that management add a few additional servers when there are groups staying at the hotel. The elevators are a bit slow. Overall, it was a favorable experience.

Room Tip: If you are on the lower floors you can take the steps instead of waiting for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_mcneill, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear JRDEagan_Minne...,

It means a lot to us that our friends from Minnesota had such a wonderful time at our hotel while attending a wedding. We are happy that you found the staff friendly and helpful, that your room accommodations were to your liking and that our convenient shuttle and driver made a difference in your stay with us. We appreciate your comments on the lack of server staff in the restaurant and have taken note so we can bring it to managements attention. We do hope next time you are in the area we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a very good Marriott, but beware that they are doing major construction on the exterior, and for the next several weeks it is likely to be VERY noisy from 8-4 pm weekdays. On the great side is Maria is the best hostess of a concierge lounge in they entire system. Don't miss her nightly feast. Her alter ego Hilda does a great job for breakfast as well.

Room Tip: But noise will improve in Sept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_mcneill, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear James W,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize our associates Maria and Hilda,from our Concierge Lounge, as part of your positive experience at our hotel. We will be sure to pass the accolades along to them. Yes, we are doing some enhancements to the hotel to maintain Marriott's exceptional standards. We apologize if this disturbed you in any way, as it is not our intention to impact the guest experience in any way. We appreciate your visit and hope to welcome you back again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We have stayed here twice in the past month. It is a great location off the 495 Beltway with easy access to Washington
and the surrounding area. The last visit we had adjoining rooms with my son , wife and 18 month old and 4 yo granddaughters. We spent several thrilling hours in the indoor and outdoor pools. There is a free shuttlebus that will take you to the NIH Metro Stop and several locations in Bethesda.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_mcneill, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Jawdoc524,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your review with other TripAdvisor members. Many enjoy staying at our hotel because of the convenient location and shuttle service. It makes us happy to know it made a difference in your stay with us. We love hearing you had a "thrilling few hours" at our pool area and enjoyed time with family. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Not up to Marriott standards. I have stayed at many full service Marriotts both in the US and elsewhere, and I generally know what to expect. This place was disappointing in an important way.

We were there for a Bar Mitzvah, and many of the out of town guests stayed at this hotel at a group rate. So I can't comment on prices.

The room was standard Marriott, and was acceptable by that standard. The rest of the hotel was fair, with more trash around than I would expect.

The disappointing part was the party on Saturday evening. I have eaten many banquet meals, and this was the worst ever. The food was low end diner quality served cold; probably after being left out too long. Those who ordered steak complained of over-cooking. My salmon was mostly tasteless. Veggies were blah. This comment on the food is made allowing for the challenge of serving large numbers of people at the same time. But the worst was the service. At our table of eight, two guests did not get their dinner after multiple requests directed at wait staff, who seemed indifferent (Replies were a curt "Being cooked", with an unsympathetic manner). At no time did a supervisor appear to apologize or otherwise indicate concern. The host family had to personally get involved, and were clearly upset at the poor performance of the hotel. Dinner for the two diners came out after the rest of the group had finished. Again, no apology.

Outrageously bad performance by the hotel at an important event for the host family and their guests.

Good news: A well equipped fitness center.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_mcneill, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear MattS.24,

We appreciate the time that you took to post your review of our hotel and are very happy you found it a nice place to stay. While it is never our intention to disappoint our guests, we appreciate your honest feedback about our cuisine and servers at your family event and we will be sharing it with our food and beverage staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed here on a recent business trip - just for one night. The hotel was what I'd expect from a Marriott - friendly service, nice room (comfortable bed, standard hotel-room decor and furniture, good toiletries). I'm an Elite member at Marriott, so I got upgraded to the top floor and got access to the concierge lounge which includes snacks in the evening and continental breakfast in the morning. Wifi was included as well, not sure if that's standard or if it was also an upgraded benefit. The hotel has an indoor/outdoor pool area - no hot tub, which would be a nice addition, but it was very pleasant to sit outside in the morning.

The restaurant was OK. Nothing special, food wasn't the best. But it was convenient and fine.

The hotel has flat-rate town car service to airports - $50 to DCA and $65 to IAD, which I took advantage of on my way back.

Overall, a nice hotel in a pretty area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_mcneill, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Sunny77777,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent overnight stay with us. It makes us happy to know that our hotel provided you with the Marriott service and amenities that you have become to expect as an Elite Member and we thank you for being a loyal Marriott guest. We look forward to welcoming you back again some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two weekends in June. Thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Pool area was nice and clean. It was nice to have both indoor and outdoor pools. Plenty of parking. We reserved the rooms on a discount website and got a great price. The food was a little pricey but the Sunday brunch was really good! Front desk was very helpful. Close to highway for travel into DC. Close to downtown Bethesda where there were a lot of nice little restaurants and shopping. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The first weekend we had a room on the first floor and it seemed bigger than the one we had on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_mcneill, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Lauren B,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your two weekends that you stayed at our hotel. It makes us happy that you found our staff helpful, enjoyed the pool areas and that you treated yourselves to the Sunday Brunch. Many choose our hotel because of our location and we are glad you found it so convenient. We hope you will stay with us again some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott

Address: 5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the comforts of the distinctive Bethesda Marriott, a premier Maryland hotel where spacious guest rooms, luxury amenities and attentive service set the pace for an exceptional stay. Conveniently situated in the thriving Capital Region northwest of Washington, D.C., The list of things to do is endless as guests find themselves surrounded by hundreds of restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping. Located only two miles from downtown Bethesda, our hotel's fine services include complimentary shuttle service to the downtown district and other local destinations including the National Institute of Health, White Flint Mall and the Metro's Red Line which provides continuous service to downtown Washington, D.C. Guests also enjoy direct access to I-270 and I-495 from our sophisticated Bethesda, MD hotel. Boasting 18,500 square feet of flexible, state-of-the-art event space, our hotel is ideal for corporate meetings, professional gatherings and elegant wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bethesda Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.