We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Considering It's Age” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda Marriott to your Saves list
Bethesda Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Greensboro, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Good Considering It's Age”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is an older high-rise hotel and the rooms, particularly the bathroom, are small. They have made the rooms as comfortable as possible considering the size. Out AAA weekend rate was only $84 and included free Internet service. Parking, normally $15 per day, was free on weekends. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_mcneill, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear statboy2711,

We greatly appreciate the time that you took to provide your review of our property. While it is not possible for us to change the physical layout of our property or the size of the bathrooms, we do try to make up for what some may perceive as shortcomings through clean, comfortable, welcoming accommodations; great value; and excellent service. Thank you for taking notice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    97
    75
    29
    13
See reviews for
59
32
31
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, MD
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

From the outside it looks really old and outdated. Thankfully the lobby and restaurant areas are well done. Checking is was easy and the associate was very welcoming. The room was comfortable and clean but nothing special. About 15minutes after checking my husband received a call from the manager Tom that they were sending up Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in honor of my birthday that would arrive in 20 minutes. Unfortunately they never arrived. My husband informed Tom as we headed out for dinner. He apologized and to his credit they were in our room when we returned along with a card signed by several staff members. Because of this extra touch of high service I give them 4star rating. We also liked that they have free shuttle service to downtown Bethesda so we could leave our car parked!

A few small complaints - the HVAC system isright outside the windows of room 533 which made sleeping a little difficult. The blackout curtains are great but the top doesn't close completely so the sun hits you directly on the eye upon sunrise. Housekeeping started cleaning rooms around 8:30am which meant we heard vacuuming way too early because they have to leave the door open while cleaning. Since daylight savings time ended we were looking forward to an extra hour of sleep but these small things prevented that from happening.

Overall, it was a good stay and was a good value. Thanks to the front desk associates for providing excellent customer service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith_mcneill, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear DMS1908,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at our hotel and we hope you had a very happy birthday! We appreciate that you gave us a chance to make things right during your visit and that you rated us so highly. We are also glad that you reported your room number to us so that we can ensure that our engineering department looks into the HVAC system. We apologize that you were awoken by the housekeeper's vacuum. We do have some guests who request that their rooms are cleaned at very specific times so we do try to accommodate these requests whenever possible. Additionally, our housekeepers need to turn over a specific number of rooms during their shift and in order to be able to ensure that every guest's room is cleaned by the time they check-in or arrive back in the afternoon, a specific housekeeping schedule needs to be followed. Once again we apologize if this caused a disturbance for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

not a great marriott stay. first, the room keys didnt work, back to the undermanned front desk for help. then once in the room, not enough towels. nothing is complimentary, such as parking, in room internet, and the business center. the best was that im an early riser, and not wanting to wake my wife ill get a tea in the lobby. found out i had to buy it in the restaurant that doesnt open til 7. there werent even tea bags in the room. have stayed in many marriotts and this left much to be desired. when back in dc, which is often as our son lives there, ill make sure to stay at another marriott.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Spent a fall weekend there, it's almost convienent to American University. It's right off the beltway and so very convienent. Not quite as nice as the Bethesda North Marriott a couple of miles north on the same road but this time more reasonably priced with included parking on the weekend. I stayed there about 10 years ago and it was a little better then. The rooms have been updated as have been the lobby and the elevators but somehow it just looks a little tired. Front desk staff was only OK but it was late on a Friday night with lots' going on. When the school group came in Saturday night it was a little disorganized.
I could see that since I was using the free wifi in the lobby. I don't quite understand why Marriott refuses to give free wifi in the rooms as a standard. The lower hotels in their family do.
Housekeeping brought up extra towels quickly which was nice, when we stayed in the North Marriott last month it took them longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have stayed at this location before. It's average and nothing fancy. Parking is $15 per day, which is outrageous being this far out from DC. Internet is free in lobby only, otherwise $12.95 per day. Staff is friendly and responsive. Room and hallways were terribly cold until I called for maintenance to correct the problem, which they did. I stay here because of the location. Close to where I need to go.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for my 50th HS reunion. Our planning committee negotiated a great rate, so I can't bark too loud about the flaws, particularly being Inaccessible to metro, uncovered parking some distance away during a three-day rain, slow elevators because all staff trips are with the guests. Yes, there was a $12-day charge for Internet - - not unusual in big-city hotels (unlike highway motels) - - but it was free in the lobby, which also meant in the restaurant, and sometimes I could access it for free in my 15th floor room. The staff was friendly, the breakfast buffet fairly-priced and well-stocked, and the rooms were clean but without fridge or microwave. The hot water was shut off in part of the hotel for hours the day I left. The hotel offered to get you a room w/hot water: I was surprised that work ws not done overnight. So, as I said, something of a draw. Not Nirvana, not hell either. I would not choose this place again, but from past experience know that hotels closer to DC/downtown/tourist areas would be much more expensive than my reunion rate.

Room Tip: Do not stay close to the ground, where there are large groups coming and going. In our case, soccer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This Hotel has so many problems I cant list them all. First room was cold 62 complained sent a couple of guys to fix the problem which they did then when we came back a few hours later the room smelled of mold so bad there was no way we could sleep in it. They changed our room, offered no help and this was at midnight. Loud party near the lobby, kids skate boarding in front of the entrance with Bell Hops watching. Soda machine filled with soda that didn't match the machines buttons. Kids running wild on the 4th. floor. Hotel security was a joke. Room not ready at check in, in fact there were other people trying to check in same problem, pushed people into the bar with no comps. No hot water one night at 1:30AM THE NEXT DAY they were shutting off water at 10:00am till 2:00pm. Never again at this property

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott

Address: 5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the comforts of the distinctive Bethesda Marriott, a premier Maryland hotel where spacious guest rooms, luxury amenities and attentive service set the pace for an exceptional stay. Conveniently situated in the thriving Capital Region northwest of Washington, D.C., The list of things to do is endless as guests find themselves surrounded by hundreds of restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping. Located only two miles from downtown Bethesda, our hotel's fine services include complimentary shuttle service to the downtown district and other local destinations including the National Institute of Health, White Flint Mall and the Metro's Red Line which provides continuous service to downtown Washington, D.C. Guests also enjoy direct access to I-270 and I-495 from our sophisticated Bethesda, MD hotel. Boasting 18,500 square feet of flexible, state-of-the-art event space, our hotel is ideal for corporate meetings, professional gatherings and elegant wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bethesda Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.