We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not judge a book by it's cover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Save Saved
You added Bethesda Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bethesda Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Bethesda
Hollywood, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Do not judge a book by it's cover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Pulling up to the hotel I questioned whether we had made a good decision to stay here for an anniversary celebration. I arrived ahead of my husband, in that we were coming into town from work obligations. The interior of the hotel has been kept up to date and was pristine. The staff I encountered at the front desk was professional, courteous and attentive. We had a wonderful stay, although it was brief and we did not get to enjoy the restaurant, pool or other amenities in that we had plans out on the town and had to depart early for work the next morning. The rooms were on the smaller side, but were beautifully appointed. Bathroom was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable, We will definitely return next time we have a need to stay in Bethesda and would recommend it to others as well. My lasting impression was how attentive the staff was to their guests....greetings whenever coming and going in the hallways, lobby, etc. it made us slow down and enjoy the moment in an often rushed world.

Room Tip: Room was excellent, just a little on the small side, but we had plenty of room for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    77
    65
    20
    11
See reviews for
46
31
30
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott for a NIH meeting and being a fairly common business traveler in the past and liked Marriotts, I was surprised to find this hotel a little dated and past it's prime. Definitely acceptable, good breakfast reasonably priced. Off the beaten path so couldn't walk around town and the restaurants but instead, you would need a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illiois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have been travelling to the Bethesda area for the past 5 years for follow up visits at NIH. I was dissatisfied with nearby "moderately priced" hotels in Bethesda (one in particular is scarier than the Bates Motel), and grew tired of taking the Metro to Rockville to stay at a Best Western property.

The social worker at NIH suggested the Marriott at Pooks Hill, and I am glad she did! This property is competitively priced, clean, modern, and offers shuttle service to NIH and nearby restaurants (south in Bethesda, north to the White Flint mall).

The staff is friendly and courteous, and very accommodating. The room was clean and the king-sized bed was quite comfortable. I will definitely choose this property when I return fo NIH.

My only regret? Not finding out about the Marriott Pooks Hill sooner!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

First stay at the Pooks Hill property. Very nice staff, always smiling and helpful. We arrived late for a reserved room and they accommodated changes we needed to the room. The rates were reasonable, but I did not expect to be charged for internet service and parking. Really, at this day and age where all other hotels make this part of the stay, really? This was forcing too many of guests down in the lobby to take advantage of the free WIFI sitting in the lobby so the place looked like a Starbucks all the time. Noisy and the litter of teenagers made it a crowded place. Room was comfortable except for the bathroom which was just way too small for a normal sized person to occupy- even if travelling alone. The bed was uuber comfortable and a Jamison which I understand is common for the full service Marriott's where we like to stay-it was a welcomed relief from a long day and the quiet was very welcomed too. Furniture was a bit warn down and probably needs to be upgraded. Do have some concerns about the attitude of the shuttle bus driver that took us daily over to NIH. As this was our first visit, we needed some help with information about the area we were commuting to and he had headphones on and a smart phone operating and we felt like a bother to him when we asked simple questions that any Marriott guest would come to expect. This was unexpected with this property so close to the HQ of Marriott Corp. .

Room Tip: We booked the room on line and the room we got when we arrived was not the one we chose. Recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I attended a conference hosted at the hotel. I had never stayed at this hotel and I never had been in this area (DC) before. I would judge it to be a good quality hotel for this purpose. The rooms were fine, maybe a little small but overall fine. I was thankful our room had a coffee maker. The bathroom was fine and clean. My only complaint about the room was the TV service was very limited in channel selection. I was hoping to watch some sports (NBA finals and NHL finals), but had to go down to the bar area instead. Also, I reject the notion that hotels must charge extra for wifi. Just include the fee in the room rate, don't ask guests to "subscribe" to wifi. I opted to use my Verizon broadband access which worked fine from this hotel.

The service was acceptable. Be careful about the free shuttle service to downtown Bethesda, going is fine, but trying to get a return ride will require you to wait up to an hour. My wife got stranded for nearly an hour in a t-storm, but staff eventually fetched her. We also found the attitude of the food service people in the DC area to be quite stand-off-ish, not really rude, but not very pleasant either. The hotel food service people were the same, so I attribute this to the area not the hotel.

The conference facilities were very good. The hotel charges a daily rate for parking, $12. Not sure why this is necessary because the hotel is away from the main area of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights visiting the NIH campus. This hotel was perfect place to stay and they have a free shuttle that runs you to the closest metro station and NIH (which is one and the same). In terms of amenities and quality, it is consistent with Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Only stayed for one night while I helped my daughter move. Didn't use any facilities other than sleep and morning breakfast. But this is a very nice hotel. Wished I'd had more time. Also wish Marriott would change their pillows. The one comfy pillow is just too small and the bigger ones are just way too big. My neck was sore. You cannot go wrong with Marriott though...aces every time! Fees kinda high $14 to park. Didn't use internet. Breakfast was on time and delish.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bethesda Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott

Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Marriott Hotel
Marriott Bethesda
Address: 5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within minutes of downtown Bethesda, our newly renovated Bethesda Marriott Hotel is close to world-class shopping, and dining venues, the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the Washington DC area. Situated on 15 landscaped acres on Pooks Hill Road, this suburban hotel is a standout among Maryland hotels. Our newly renovated hotel rooms feature exclusive Marriott Revive bedding packages and sophisticated new furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bethesda Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.