We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good conference hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda Marriott to your Saves list
Bethesda Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good conference hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I attended a conference hosted at the hotel. I had never stayed at this hotel and I never had been in this area (DC) before. I would judge it to be a good quality hotel for this purpose. The rooms were fine, maybe a little small but overall fine. I was thankful our room had a coffee maker. The bathroom was fine and clean. My only complaint about the room was the TV service was very limited in channel selection. I was hoping to watch some sports (NBA finals and NHL finals), but had to go down to the bar area instead. Also, I reject the notion that hotels must charge extra for wifi. Just include the fee in the room rate, don't ask guests to "subscribe" to wifi. I opted to use my Verizon broadband access which worked fine from this hotel.

The service was acceptable. Be careful about the free shuttle service to downtown Bethesda, going is fine, but trying to get a return ride will require you to wait up to an hour. My wife got stranded for nearly an hour in a t-storm, but staff eventually fetched her. We also found the attitude of the food service people in the DC area to be quite stand-off-ish, not really rude, but not very pleasant either. The hotel food service people were the same, so I attribute this to the area not the hotel.

The conference facilities were very good. The hotel charges a daily rate for parking, $12. Not sure why this is necessary because the hotel is away from the main area of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    118
    92
    37
    18
See reviews for
75
37
35
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights visiting the NIH campus. This hotel was perfect place to stay and they have a free shuttle that runs you to the closest metro station and NIH (which is one and the same). In terms of amenities and quality, it is consistent with Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Only stayed for one night while I helped my daughter move. Didn't use any facilities other than sleep and morning breakfast. But this is a very nice hotel. Wished I'd had more time. Also wish Marriott would change their pillows. The one comfy pillow is just too small and the bigger ones are just way too big. My neck was sore. You cannot go wrong with Marriott though...aces every time! Fees kinda high $14 to park. Didn't use internet. Breakfast was on time and delish.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Was here for a wedding event over Memorial Day weekend. The hotel was packed due to several events going on simultaneously with a Chinese School group and Teen Soccer Team taking up most of the air in the lobby upon arrival. Luckily the staff was in fine form and

The restaurant has been recently updated along with the lobby and they are the nicest parts of the hotel. Unfortunately they stopped with those spot when they should have done the rest of the property. Its old and needs a major update - reek of late 1980's-Early 90's decor. Stayed in suite with living room and balcony (the balcony was bolted shut to prevent access) overlooking the tiny outdoor pool. The ballroom and meeting spaces were fine but nothing spectacular once again but they hosted the fun reception that night.

Once again, we had a great rate for the wedding but the hotel is fair value for the quality and the location is suburban remote - though right off the Capital Beltway with access to most of the attractions in the DC region (by car) and the Grovesner Metro is nearby (less than 1 mile). If visiting Bethesda be warned you are not downtown

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Clean, spacious rooms. Effivient shuttle drivers & always on time. Very professional front desk especially Mr. Ronnie. I asked for a mini fridge for my medications, it took more than an hour when the other gentleman ordered it but when I ask for Ronnie's help, it is there in few minutes! Mr. omar, from maintenance, made me feel great when he solved a minor issue regarding the heating system, Ms. Joyce were also bery helpful & kind. The GM is a quite a gentleman & a team leader. I will always be back & I thank them all. The breakfast staff on weekends need to know that they are not doing guests favours & the african lady who handles the egg station shouldn't roll her eyes & show her bad mood when people wait or ask for their favorite egg style!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in 2005 for 2 nights (business trip), now back (again on business) for 2 nights, and it feels as nothing has changed in this hotel ('time stands still'). Rooms are spacious and clean, but have not been updated, except for the flat screen LCD, which stopped working on day 2, no fridge in room, no bottle of water offered. Vending machine on floor is not working, does not accept bills, would add bill changer or a modern device accepting credit cards.
Hotel location is good for conferences, but too far from attractions in D.C. Room service is quick and above average. Other plus is the exceptional staff, who makes up for many shortcomings.
Overall, a moderate price to value ratio.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Requested upper floor and ended up on 3.
Room air conditioner not working. Called desk before leaving for dinner. Came back and they were in the room but it was not fixed.
TV is fuzzy on most stations.
If you're on a budget in Bethesda/DC, it's average. For anything else, forget about it.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
1.9 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#3 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott

Address: 5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the transformation of the Bethesda Marriott, a premier Maryland hotel where reinvented guest rooms, luxury amenities and attentive service set the pace for an exceptional stay. Conveniently situated in the thriving Capital Region northwest of Washington, D.C., the list of things to do is endless as guests find themselves surrounded by hundreds of restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping. Located only two miles from downtown Bethesda, our hotel's fine services include complimentary shuttle service to the downtown district and other local destinations including the National Institute of Health, Montgomery Mall and the Metro's Red Line which provides continuous service to downtown Washington, D.C. Guests also enjoy direct access to I-270 and I-495 from our sophisticated Bethesda, MD hotel. Boasting 18,500 square feet of flexible, state-of-the-art event space, our hotel is ideal for corporate meetings, professional gatherings and elegant wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bethesda Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.