We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Save Saved
You added Bethesda Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bethesda Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Bethesda
WV
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Will go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Only stayed for one night while I helped my daughter move. Didn't use any facilities other than sleep and morning breakfast. But this is a very nice hotel. Wished I'd had more time. Also wish Marriott would change their pillows. The one comfy pillow is just too small and the bigger ones are just way too big. My neck was sore. You cannot go wrong with Marriott though...aces every time! Fees kinda high $14 to park. Didn't use internet. Breakfast was on time and delish.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    77
    65
    20
    11
See reviews for
46
31
30
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Was here for a wedding event over Memorial Day weekend. The hotel was packed due to several events going on simultaneously with a Chinese School group and Teen Soccer Team taking up most of the air in the lobby upon arrival. Luckily the staff was in fine form and

The restaurant has been recently updated along with the lobby and they are the nicest parts of the hotel. Unfortunately they stopped with those spot when they should have done the rest of the property. Its old and needs a major update - reek of late 1980's-Early 90's decor. Stayed in suite with living room and balcony (the balcony was bolted shut to prevent access) overlooking the tiny outdoor pool. The ballroom and meeting spaces were fine but nothing spectacular once again but they hosted the fun reception that night.

Once again, we had a great rate for the wedding but the hotel is fair value for the quality and the location is suburban remote - though right off the Capital Beltway with access to most of the attractions in the DC region (by car) and the Grovesner Metro is nearby (less than 1 mile). If visiting Bethesda be warned you are not downtown

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Clean, spacious rooms. Effivient shuttle drivers & always on time. Very professional front desk especially Mr. Ronnie. I asked for a mini fridge for my medications, it took more than an hour when the other gentleman ordered it but when I ask for Ronnie's help, it is there in few minutes! Mr. omar, from maintenance, made me feel great when he solved a minor issue regarding the heating system, Ms. Joyce were also bery helpful & kind. The GM is a quite a gentleman & a team leader. I will always be back & I thank them all. The breakfast staff on weekends need to know that they are not doing guests favours & the african lady who handles the egg station shouldn't roll her eyes & show her bad mood when people wait or ask for their favorite egg style!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in 2005 for 2 nights (business trip), now back (again on business) for 2 nights, and it feels as nothing has changed in this hotel ('time stands still'). Rooms are spacious and clean, but have not been updated, except for the flat screen LCD, which stopped working on day 2, no fridge in room, no bottle of water offered. Vending machine on floor is not working, does not accept bills, would add bill changer or a modern device accepting credit cards.
Hotel location is good for conferences, but too far from attractions in D.C. Room service is quick and above average. Other plus is the exceptional staff, who makes up for many shortcomings.
Overall, a moderate price to value ratio.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Requested upper floor and ended up on 3.
Room air conditioner not working. Called desk before leaving for dinner. Came back and they were in the room but it was not fixed.
TV is fuzzy on most stations.
If you're on a budget in Bethesda/DC, it's average. For anything else, forget about it.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel was just average by all standards. It is older with low ceilings and just didn't have the feel of a higher end hotel. The public areas were adequate, the restaurant was acceptable but basic and the concierge suite was below average. The front desk wasn't up to normal standards for a Marriott. I had to ask for a manager to get an issue resolved. We had a problem with our room temperature and had to ask three times over 24 hours before it was rectified. The beds were also not the most comfortable.

Parking was convenient and the location was close to our destination. Housekeeping did a good job and the room was in decent shape.

This short review was hard to write as there are just so many ways I can describe average. I will try a different hotel in the area on our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Because my wife and I were only staying one night, we were satisfied to book a hotel room that was adequate and close to our relatives whom we were visiting. As such, we selected this Marriott and received a "senior" discount. When checking in at registration the Asst. Mgr. asked if this was our first time staying here and we responded yes. She responded that to entice us to return she was offering us complementary parking. Our room (736) was spacious and will laid out with a king size bed. Also, the bathroom was a nice size with a marvelous shower. Additionally, we ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel's Agio restaurant whose food was delicious and the service was attentive, especially at dinner time. We will definitely stay here the next time our travel plans bring us to the Bethesda area.

Room Tip: We noticed upon entering the elevator that the top floor was designated "Concierge." As a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bethesda Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott

Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Marriott Hotel
Marriott Bethesda
Address: 5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within minutes of downtown Bethesda, our newly renovated Bethesda Marriott Hotel is close to world-class shopping, and dining venues, the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the Washington DC area. Situated on 15 landscaped acres on Pooks Hill Road, this suburban hotel is a standout among Maryland hotels. Our newly renovated hotel rooms feature exclusive Marriott Revive bedding packages and sophisticated new furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bethesda Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.