We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay,...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Save Saved
You added Bethesda Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bethesda Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast + Free WiFi
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Okay,...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on vacation. Pros: Nice class, rooms/bathrooms were clean, free shuttle to the medical center (metro station). Cons: No microwave or fridge, hotel employees weren't very helpful, room was too hot and the temperature could not be adjusted, lobby was crowded, internet wasn't free (i found out later it was free in the lobby, which the hotel front desk lady didn't mention,...) Overall, not at all a good Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    89
    69
    25
    13
See reviews for
54
31
30
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend as a chaperone of a huge 8th grade field trip to DC. Hotel was very nice, very clean and seemed to accommodate the crowds very well without affecting other visitors. Food we ate there was very good as well. Rooms were extremely clean and bathrooms as well. Location was also very good. I was nervous thinking staying this far outside of DC would make a commute into the city take a long time but it never seemed bad. The beds were really comfortable. Slept great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel is dated, but I came back for the location close to relatives. The front desk must all trained by the same bitter sassy person. Horrible experience at checking in, was lied to about the room, and the staff was not apologetic. When I requested to change the room, he even used a sassy teenager tone to ask if there's anything else. Not a good place for business meetings either. The concierge lunge only opens at certain hours not through out the day. Do not come to this place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I visited this hotel with a group of colleagues on a business trip. When I went to shower in the morning there was no hot water and sadly this was the case for the duration of my 4-day stay in February. While the water was cold, the room was hot and although I turned the thermostat to its lowest setting, warm air continued to come through the vents. There is a Goldylocks pillow situation. They are either very large decorative pillows that will have you sleeping upright or 3 tiny sleeping pillows that, when combined, equal one normal sized pillow. The hotel has a strong perfume smell if you like that sort of thing. This is one of the few hotels in the area without a metro station nearby so transportation is a bit lacking. With all of that being said, the shuttle service has been very accommodating, food was great, the staff has been very pleasant and helpful and the rooms are clean so at least this is working for them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I chose this location because of its proximity to WRNMMC. My family's Platinum Elite status did get us a lovely room upgrade, but that is where the goodness ended. The hotel has a very heavy "air freshener" fragrance that is fed through the ventilation system. Sadly, I am sensitive to perfumes and this made my stay very uncomfortable. There were upholstered chairs in the room that looked so worn and dirty we chose not to use them. Eggs Benedict were served with raw whites, no one bothered to come back to the table, so I just returned to the podium after ten minutes for my check. The management needs to walk the floors and see/smell what the guests do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is great, the rooms were nice and the bed was so comfortable. The staff was good despite the hotel was crowded and sold out. The restaurant is pricey but worth it...great food. I would definetly stay there again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had been receiving treatments a the NHI and this hotel is the only one that provides transportation at any time to and from the hospital. The rooms are clean, they serve Startbucks all day, the restaurant is expensive but they have a great bar. This hotel is for us the perfect hotel when we are in Bethesta. A great place to rest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bethesda Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott

Address: 5151 Pooks Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott, a premier Maryland hotel where spacious guest rooms, luxury amenities and attentive service set the pace for an exceptional stay. Conveniently situated in the thriving Capital Region northwest of Washington, D.C., The list of things to do is endless as guests find themselves surrounded by hundreds of restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping. Located only two miles from downtown Bethesda, our hotel's fine services include complimentary shuttle service to the downtown district and other local destinations including the National Institute of Health, White Flint Mall and the Metro's Red Line which provides continuous service to downtown Washington, D.C. Guests also enjoy direct access to I-270 and I-495 from our sophisticated Bethesda, MD hotel. Boasting 18,500 square feet of flexible, state-of-the-art event space, our hotel is ideal for corporate meetings, professional gatherings and elegant wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Bethesda Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.